We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Forgan's

Forgan's
Ranked #9 of 147 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$58
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The idea for our restaurant has been a wee while in the making but when it comes to age it's got nothing on the building we will soon be calling home.After conducting a little research turns out our building once housed a 'Cleek Factory' owned by Robert Forgan, a name known to many for making the best golf clubs money can buy/We are proud of our building's history and here's hoping a little bit of their success rubs off on us.So with Mitchell's deli next door, in homage to local butcher and proprietor Murray Mitchell we thought it only right...Forgan's opening spring 2013Opening Spring 2013Craft Beers & Ales, Restaurant, Public Bar, Private Bothy's, Ceilidh Club, Cookery classes, Wine Club, Live Music, Monthly Dining Society, Host Your Own Roast, Local Suppliers & Producers.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We went to Forgan's for lunch and we really impressed with the service (we hadn't booked and were seated very quickly), the decor and the food! Would def visit again and would recommend to others!

Helpful?
1 Thank SarahRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi SarahRosie,

Thank you for your 5* review and for choosing Forgan's for your lunch.

The team are so happy to read that you were impressed with our service, food and decor.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,261
    618
    183
    86
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's been better.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Food was ok, shame our starters were taken to the wrong table first. Main course sat waiting for waiting staff to bring it to our table for about 7 mins and 3 kitchen bell rings.

I've had a much better experience here before, hope this isn't a permanent downturn in service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi Stuart L,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.i am concerned to hear about your most recent visit to Forgan's. I can assure you that this is not our usual standard.

I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention so that we can work on improving our training.

We hope that it your last visit does not deter you from visiting us again.

We look forward to welcoming you again so that you can see the the difference our training has made.

Kind regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Work night out”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great atmosphere, lovely surroundings and attentive staff. There were 8 of us and timings for ordering and receiving food was just right. I don't normally have 3 courses, but after abstaining since morning, I'm glad I did. A few others seemed to think the starter and main courses were a bit on the small side too. But the food was excellent and once full on macaroon cheesecake I was stuffed, struggled to get the last morsel in - but couldn't leave any, it was so good!

Would definitely go back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bren1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi Bren1311,

Thank you for choosing Forgan's for your staff night out.

I am pleased to hear that your party enjoyed their meals. Our Macaroon cheesecake is a favourite and we are glad to hear that you managed to finish it.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincennes, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Go to this restaurant!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Loved this fantastic little restaurant/pub! Local food prepared - fresh produce and herbs line the entryway, and the menu had a variety of Scottish and traditional fare. Our group had a private alcove area with restoration hardware style decor - we ordered steaks, salmon, mac & cheese, and haggis - The food was amazing, the service superb, the wait staff charming. I would rank this as the best place in St. Andrews - casual dining - full bar - great atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hikermom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi Hikermom54,

Thank you for your 5* review!

It is great to hear that you were able to dine in one of our four bothies. The kitchen team will be happy to know that the food was amazing.

I will pass onto the team your kind comments.


We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Largo, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, superb food”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We have visited forgans on a couple of occasions and have never been disappointed.Food is top quality and service friendly and very professional. A particular thanks to Victoria for making us feel welcome and providing that little bit extra. We will be returning very shortly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi Steven P,

Thank you for your 5* review and continued support.

I am pleased to hear about your experiences at Forgan's. I will pass onto Victoria your thanks for making your visit even better.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forgan's also viewed

 

Been to Forgan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing