We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great steak”
Review of Forgan's

Forgan's
Ranked #9 of 146 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$59
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The idea for our restaurant has been a wee while in the making but when it comes to age it's got nothing on the building we will soon be calling home.After conducting a little research turns out our building once housed a 'Cleek Factory' owned by Robert Forgan, a name known to many for making the best golf clubs money can buy/We are proud of our building's history and here's hoping a little bit of their success rubs off on us.So with Mitchell's deli next door, in homage to local butcher and proprietor Murray Mitchell we thought it only right...Forgan's opening spring 2013Opening Spring 2013Craft Beers & Ales, Restaurant, Public Bar, Private Bothy's, Ceilidh Club, Cookery classes, Wine Club, Live Music, Monthly Dining Society, Host Your Own Roast, Local Suppliers & Producers.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Watchung, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great staff, great steak”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

They were happy to accommodate a party of eight at 9:30pm on a Tuesday, had 4-5 super helpful staff attending to us. We had a little alcove that allowed us to enjoy ourselves without worrying about bothering any other diners. Food was delicious, best steak I have ever seen in Scotland. Haggis appetizer also a treat. Definitely make the trip down the alley, a really nice surprise.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi Ted H,

Thank you for your comments.

We are delighted to hear that we were able to accommodate your party and you enjoyed our haggis balls and especially your steak; these are 2 of our favorites.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Forgans.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,243
    610
    180
    85
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

If you are planning a visit to St. Andrews, do yourself a favour and make sure you book this restaurant before you leave home. If you can't get a reservation then stay home. I don't like fancy food or decor BUT Forgans offers a wonderful combination of friendly staff staff, relaxed atmosphere, unique decor and above all amazing food. To start with it uses local produce and the imaginative chefs combine the traditional with the modern twist. As a starter I had had crispy haggis balls with neeps and tatties and my husband had pate. Both were well presented and tasted delicious. For my main course I chose venison which I have only eaten twice before. I asked for a change in potatoes which was done without fuss or difficulty. It was accompanied by red cabbage which was a great combination. The venison was out of this world and I will definitely be back for more. My husband had crispy skinned chicken with dauphinois potatoes and green beans. Instead of a pudding I had a cheese board. This came with celery sticks, grapes, pear chutney, three types of cheese but slightly disappointingly only three little oatcake biscuits. A few more would be a positive change. The macaroon cheesecake for my hubby was unusual but delicious. We both had coffee and a soft drink. Out total bill of £66 was certainly more than we normally spend on dinner but it was essentially two four course meals plus a drink in a very unique restaurant so not over the top by any stretch of the imagination. We booked late so could only eat early at 6.15. Had we booked in advance we could have eaten later and taken advantage of the ceilidh. However we had been walking a lot during the day and will keep that experience until next time. There will definitely be a next time!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MUFC3499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi MUFC3499,

Thank you your 5 star review!

Here at Forgans we are very proud to source our food locally and to be part of a sustainable restaurant association.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed all of your courses, our haggis balls and crispy chicken are two of our most popular dishes and we are delighted you got to experience them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Forgans and to our ceilidh soon.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Nabal
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fresh and extremely tasty!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was a planned stop based on Trip Advisor ratings for 4 of us on a week golf trip to Scotland. The atmosphere when you walk in is great with fresh produce lining the entrance way in a very orderly and practical way. The aroma walking in was great and even better once inside. Strongly suggest trying the Gin flight at the bar before dinner. The bartenders were awesome - friendly, knowledgable, and offering good suggestions. The food was great and we ate like Vikings after a long day on the courses. We tried many different things so can't recommend one over another but they were all very tasty. The local mgmt stopped in numerous times to chat and ensure we were well taken care of. Excellent service, cuisine, and atmosphere. We ate here multiple time in our week stay and were always very pleased.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSD_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi JSD_West

Thank you for your 5 star review!

We are delighted to hear that you have dined with us on several occasions and we thank you for your continued support.

We are very proud of our venue, our food and our high standards of service and we are glad you experienced all of these during your visit.

Our Gin Flights are a very popular choice and we are glad you got to experience this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Forgans.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

First visit as recommended by staff member Ellis Regan, and wasnt disappointed, party of 12 family members visited on Tuesday 12th, sat in a booth next to kitchen area, at a large table so ideal for our party, other tables in the main area beside the bat, good menu that suited everyone also a childrens, burger with extra topping of haggis proved very popular with our canadian / usa family, also a set menu available, the salmon was tasty, a good place to visit, would recommend, thanks Ellis x

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dundeetravellermrshc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi ScotlandTigger999,

Thank you for your comments.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your party enjoyed the burger with extra haggis and the salmon.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Forgans soon.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good...Great?”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

There is so much to love about Forgan's. This place has so much thought into it. As a foody if I owned a restaurant I would want it to look and feel like Forgan's! There are so many great design and atmosphere ideas at play here. At the risk of sounding critical the food was very good but we had hoped it would match the surroundings. The service was only above average and once again given expectations it detracted from the experience. All that being said I will be back because when they get things worked out it will be killer!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi Paul H,

We are delighted to hear that if you owned a restaurant you would want it to be like Forgans, we are very proud of our venue.

We continue to train and look to improve our service standards with our staff. We appreciate you feedback and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forgan's also viewed

 

Been to Forgan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing