We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Forgan's

Forgan's
Ranked #11 of 149 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$60
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The idea for our restaurant has been a wee while in the making but when it comes to age it's got nothing on the building we will soon be calling home.After conducting a little research turns out our building once housed a 'Cleek Factory' owned by Robert Forgan, a name known to many for making the best golf clubs money can buy/We are proud of our building's history and here's hoping a little bit of their success rubs off on us.So with Mitchell's deli next door, in homage to local butcher and proprietor Murray Mitchell we thought it only right...Forgan's opening spring 2013Opening Spring 2013Craft Beers & Ales, Restaurant, Public Bar, Private Bothy's, Ceilidh Club, Cookery classes, Wine Club, Live Music, Monthly Dining Society, Host Your Own Roast, Local Suppliers & Producers.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Reviewed 24 August 2014

If you didn't know this was here you'd have to look quite hard. Our 2nd visit and not disappointed. Great quirky decor, waitress really helpful especially with our constant requests for info about whether certain dishes contained gluten for our coeliac son. Caters for all types of diner with something for everyone on the menu and big portions; wish we could have stayed for a ceilidh on Friday! Would recommend reserving to avoid disappointment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 234heathera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi Heather A,

Thank you for your 5 star review! Its lovely to hear that this is not the first time you have dined with us.

I am happy to hear that we were able to cater for your sons dietary requirements,our staff were helpful and you enjoyed our decor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Forgans and for a wee ceilidh too!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,718 - 1,722 of 2,361 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very interesting décor...chunky ranch style! Varied menu which is good value. You can have a little "section" all to yourself if there are about 8 or more people. Food was very good, as was the service.

1  Thank irishone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi irishone1,

Thank you for your comments.

Its always nice to hear that people appreciate our alternative decor! Glad to hear you enjoyed our food and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Forgans soon.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Walking down the street we happened to see Forgan's behind the beautiful produce down an alleyway. Very unique and beautiful restaurant. While waiting for a table we went to the bar. Asked the bartender for recommendations. He was very delightful and the drinks were excellent. The food is really good. We lived the way the rooms are each different. Everyone must check out the toilet! We went back again and loved it. Will go as often as possible. Don't miss it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi DonnaT,

Thanks for your 5 star review!

We are very proud of the fresh, local produce we use, of our restaurant decor and of course our food. We are glad you enjoyed all of these.

We look forward to seeing you regularly at Forgans.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Best Pate in Fife.Good menu with great choices.Gin flights ,who has gin flights?Frogans does and that's just the start of it.

Thank Dancingbear910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi Dancingbear910,

Thank you for your 5 star review!

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our pate and glad you enjoyed our gin flights.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The food here is bloody hansome,great service, atmosphere and decor. The toilets are brilliant
Cant wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hi jason s,

Thank you for your 5 star review!

We are delighted to hear you thought our food, service, atmosphere and decor are brilliant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Forgans and for a wee ceilidh too!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forgan's also viewed

 

Been to Forgan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing