We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, once we managed to book a table!”
Review of Forgan's

Forgan's
Ranked #9 of 146 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$59
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The idea for our restaurant has been a wee while in the making but when it comes to age it's got nothing on the building we will soon be calling home.After conducting a little research turns out our building once housed a 'Cleek Factory' owned by Robert Forgan, a name known to many for making the best golf clubs money can buy/We are proud of our building's history and here's hoping a little bit of their success rubs off on us.So with Mitchell's deli next door, in homage to local butcher and proprietor Murray Mitchell we thought it only right...Forgan's opening spring 2013Opening Spring 2013Craft Beers & Ales, Restaurant, Public Bar, Private Bothy's, Ceilidh Club, Cookery classes, Wine Club, Live Music, Monthly Dining Society, Host Your Own Roast, Local Suppliers & Producers.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb, once we managed to book a table!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This is a really popular spot and it took us three goes before we were able to book a table, however when we did it proved worth the wait.

We got a ringside seat by the kitchen which was fascinating and educational, we were able to see some dishes before we ordered. I started with a half of Forgan's Ale, it was superb, the choice was that or on elf Deuchars IPA or Eden Brewery Clock Ale. The staff were brilliant, particularly Ross and Geneveve, I had a starter, crispy haggis balls with tatties, neeps and Scottish whiskey gravy, just brilliant.

Our mains were equally as good, the duck shepherds pie (presumably a duckherd herds ducks?) was excellent and will be eaten again if it's still on the menu. The crispy skin chicken with neeps, mash and thyme gravy was really simple and exquisitely prepared. Our only criticism was of the bean burger; it was very good though a little dry, it could do with maybe an onion relish or dressed salad to compliment it.

By this point we were pretty full so shared a local ice cream. It was all washed down by a bottle of very decent Sauvignon Blanc.

The bill was pretty reasonable too, we will be back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank comfycol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hi comfycol,

Thank you for your 5* review!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Ross and Geneveve will be thrilled to hear you felt they provided brilliant service. We are glad you enjoyed the haggis balls, duck shepherds pie and crispy chicken, these are some of our favorite dishes. I will feed this back to our kitchen team along with your comments regarding the been burger, which will be discussed at our weekly managers meeting.

Its nice to hear you manged to squeeze in dessert, our local ice cream is always a great choice. We are very proud to work with so many local suppliers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Forgans.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,243
    610
    180
    85
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirimido, Lombardia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Interior Decoration Outstanding!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We tried to have dinner at this restaurant, but for the days we were in St. Andrews it was not possible, fully booked! So we had lunch... food good, atmosphere great. Its a busy restaurant but you dont really wait long for your food. Staff very good and friendly. Decor was very trendy and lively. All in all excellent. Dont forget to book or you may be disappointed not to get in. There are little sections for large parties, I believe up to 8 or more.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IMLeonTerzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hi IMLeonTerzi,

Thank you for your 5 star review!

We are glad you enjoyed dining with us, we are very proud of our friendly staff, good food and alternative decor.

We look for to welcoming you back to Forgans soon.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Visited here on a recent trip to St Andrews as we fancied trying somewhere new and this was highly rated on trip advisor. First impressions were good as the place was busy, cool décor and generally had a good atmosphere. Staff were very friendly and welcoming but almost to the point it was annoying, introducing themselves like they were your best friend asking lots of questions about your trip etc....they were being nice but it came across as false and was clearly trying to appeal to the American contingent! We got the haggis balls to start, they were fine....just fine, had more flavoursome haggis before. The chicken main course was also fine, but similarly the dauphinois potato lacked flavour. What was most disappointing, however, was the steak, my partner asked for it medium rare but it was served totally rare and for rib eye it was particularly fatty. Had a lot better steaks before but maybe we are just fussy? The most baffling element of our evening though related to who I think was the general manager, he may have been stressed as it was a busy night but we overheard him on numerous occasions reprimanding staff. I just got the impression that the staff were all terrified, trying to do their best, but a climate of fear had been created! Our waiter had forgotten to give a steak knife and the extent of his apology in relation to this was very over the top. I just got the impression it wouldn't be a nice place to work. The place clearly has a lot of potential as it is a nice venue but the food is totally average.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank suze_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Suze_85,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the decor and atmosphere however am concerned about your perception of our staff and one of our Assistant Managers. Our service style is quite casual and the team have been motivated to go these extra miles with our guests. I do understand that to some people it may seem over the top, though I certainly do not doubt the sincerity of their friendliness.

I am keen to hear more about the situation with the manager on duty so that I may address it with the relevant person. I do take this feedback very seriously as this is certainly not the atmosphere I encourage for any of our team or guests to experience. Please contact me directly on: michelle.nabal@g1group.com.

In regards to the meat quality, I have raised this issue with our executive chef who will also liaise with our meat supplier regarding your feedback.

I look forward to speaking to you directly and hope that we do see you again soon. I'd like the opportunity to show you the 5* service that I do believe our team to be capable and passionate about.

Best Regards
Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

If you didn't know this was here you'd have to look quite hard. Our 2nd visit and not disappointed. Great quirky decor, waitress really helpful especially with our constant requests for info about whether certain dishes contained gluten for our coeliac son. Caters for all types of diner with something for everyone on the menu and big portions; wish we could have stayed for a ceilidh on Friday! Would recommend reserving to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 234heathera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Heather A,

Thank you for your 5 star review! Its lovely to hear that this is not the first time you have dined with us.

I am happy to hear that we were able to cater for your sons dietary requirements,our staff were helpful and you enjoyed our decor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Forgans and for a wee ceilidh too!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portaferry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Tasty food and good choice”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very interesting décor...chunky ranch style! Varied menu which is good value. You can have a little "section" all to yourself if there are about 8 or more people. Food was very good, as was the service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank irishone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi irishone1,

Thank you for your comments.

Its always nice to hear that people appreciate our alternative decor! Glad to hear you enjoyed our food and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Forgans soon.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forgan's also viewed

 

Been to Forgan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing