We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home from home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Our Story Cafe - CLOSED

Our Story Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“home from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This is a beautiful little tea and cake shop with a fab selection of tea's and very yummy cakes. I really like the format of choosing your own tea and taking it to the counter as well as getting to choose and serve the cake for yourself. I felt very at home here with lots to look at (with a very tasteful selection of magazines on the coffee table!) I really like the upstairs area and idea of having one big table but maybe make this known with a little sign or something as there seemed to be a few people who weren't so keen on the idea while i was in. I really loved the decor and style or the venue and look forward to see how you grow and develop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen131_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Story Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Love Our Story! Huge selection of unique loose teas (everything from chai to literal rosebuds), incredible cakes, and great sandwiches. Sandwiches especially are much less expensive than in other local cafes, but they are some of my favorites in town. The staff are friendly and happy to take special orders if you have dietary restrictions, and now that they have a little extra seating (cm2333 was right that space was very limited when they opened, but they've expanded since), it's a comfortable place to work, read, chat, etc. I live in St. Andrews, and I visit frequently.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bijou and beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Our Story is a great place to get homemade cake, freshly made sandwiches and pick your fav from a selection of teas. It's a small, but inspirational place to grab something to eat and find out what's happening. The staff are knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chili Hot Chocolate Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Cozy living room where you are surrounded by the most unusual things and most extravagant teas. The best carrot cake in town!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valeria U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eat well, do good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Our Story is far and away one of the best places in St Andrews to spend an hour or an evening. The food and drink on offer is ethically sourced and local where possible. It is also delicious. Fresh sandwiches, speciality tea blends and home made cake.

Contrary to a previous reviewer's opinion there is nothing pretentious about the concept or the owners. The cafe is a social enterprise which means that all the profits go back into the local community through various local charities and projects. There are a few local handicrafts on sale too as well as the possibility to 'pay it forward': buying an extra coffee or sandwich for those who can't afford it.

I love the cozy atmosphere and the recent opening of an upstairs tearooom means there is much more space.

The cafe holds and promotes regular arts events including poetry and story reading and 'living room' music events.

A wonderful experience. Wish I could spend every evening there relaxing after work but sadly I don't live locally!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Swanlake86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian G, Owner at Our Story Cafe, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you so much for your amazingly kind feedback! We've been so blessed to have the support of various people in the community and we're really to hear that our message is getting out there and that you're enjoying the food. Thanks for taking time to feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Our Story Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing