We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu, lovely atmosphere and friendly”

Greyfriars Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 146 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great menu, lovely atmosphere and friendly”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stumbled upon this bar by accident when myself and some friends were visiting St Andrews for the day. We didn’t want to go for dinner in some chain restaurant and this placed looked inviting. So glad we did. The bar was very laid back and the service was excellent. The menu was quite big as well and the food was fantastic. I had the fish and chips but the normal sized portion and it was enormous! Lovely chips too! Recommend this place for good food at a very reasonable price!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat_Orr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    59
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Welcoming Bar”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stopped for a drink when passing, very welcoming place with friendly locals! Some interesting beers which had to be tried before passing on!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheChap69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We came for the day and came to Greyfriars hotel for lunch, it was a lovely size in the seating area for food, and the food was lovely.
Nice and quiet so that you could speak to the people you were with, instead of shouting over the noise that you get in some places.
Give it a go, we wil. Be back

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sparkles55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“No noisy music in background”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Third place we tried for a peaceful lunch. Why oh why do pubs have to have loud music or TV on when all we need is a quiet place to eat and chat. This was so different, yes the TV was on but very quiet. Quick service, food nothing exotic, just typical pub food but what we had was very tasty and well worth the price. Waitresses really friendly which also makes a change as in some places they hardly say a word. We shall be back again on another visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margaretc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good quality good price”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Visited with family. Good quality food. Reasonable prices. Three main meals, couple of desserts, two glass of wine, pint of lager and a couple of soft drinks less than £50

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greyfriars Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Greyfriars Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing