We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent well priced meal”
Review of Hams Hame

Hams Hame
Ranked #31 of 142 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Ham's Hame is St Andrews' newest 19th hole - set by the 18th green of the world's most famous golf course and adjacent to the revered Royal & Ancient Golf Club.Opened in 2013, our newest Pub and Grill is a fabulous venue offering outstanding Scottish cuisine that showcases the best ingredients – seafood landed on the harbours of the East Neuk's fishing villages, carefully selected pork, lamb, beef, game and poultry reared by award-winning producers across Scotland … as well as seasonal fruits and vegetables chosen for their flavour from farms, some of which overlook St Andrews. Food served from 7am.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent well priced meal”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lovely welcome from the staff. The bar / grill is well set out and I liked way the area had been decorated. It was also very clean and tidy. My husband ordered a club sandwich and it was huge! It was the best club sandwich he has ever eaten! Praise indeed! I had the salmon with crushed potatoes. Absolutely delicious! The meals were very good value for money considering it is across the road from the famous St Andrews Clubhouse.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    99
    32
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old course deal”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It was a lovely place and the food was excellent. Portions were a little too big for me but none the less we had a great meal. The staff were friendly. The only thing that was a little off putting was that they came and took away a lot of tables whilst we ate. It made you feel as if you were a little in the way and were about to be moved at any minute.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank eatelfer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Cosy lunch”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch here in this cosy pub in a great location. Staff were friendly, efficient and it was a great atmosphere. Food wasn't amazing, but was nice.

Helpful?
Thank Morven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
261 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This place is the big red building next to the 18th hole of the Old Course. Its also owned by the people who own the Old Course but doesn't have the same prices. Its recently been renovated and its really nice, especially the toilets which are some of the nicest, cleanest Ive ever been in - including molton brown soap/lotion.

I had a roast beef baguette. It was massive, stuffed full and it was amazing! The menu was quite extensive and the service was good and friendly. Good atmosphere, busy but not overly.

Definitely a place to return to in St Andrews.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowSiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Real Find”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Been for dinner twice in the last month. There is a choice of a lovely dining room or a less formal bar experience where you can keep up with SkySport....the menu is exactly the same and the food great. We all particularly loved the plum tart....worth going back for.
Great location just behind the 18th green at Old Course.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaaays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hams Hame also viewed

 

Been to Hams Hame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing