We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch and excellent service”

Jannettas Gelateria
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Description: With our vast amount of flavours and full range of packing sizes we are confident we can meet your specific needs and requirements. For those who are not already stocking ice cream products and are unsure of how to get started, we have over 100 years experience in the ice cream business and can help you with all aspects of the trade including products, equipment and point of sale. For those who are already stocking ice cream but would like to try something new then we would be happy to help.
Reviewed 22 December 2017

We popped in for lunch a couple of times then for coffee. Our waitress was attentive, polite and friendly - she had long fair hair and an American accent - and Jannettas is lucky to have her. The soup was delicious and piping hot, and the bread was tasty. We couldn’t resist sampling a scoop of Christmas flavoured ice cream, and, over the 2 days, tried Christmas pudding, mince pie and gingerbread flavours: all surprisingly delicious. The coffee was very good, and the accompanying tablet is great. A super place for a snack lunch!

Thank King02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, Owner at Jannettas Gelateria, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Hi
I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit to Jannettas and we hope to see you again soon.
Many Thanks
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Amazing range of ice cream flavours to be had. The biggest problem is the size of the queue, especially during the warmer months.

Thank Tallerpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, Owner at Jannettas Gelateria, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Thanks for the five star review.
Hopefully you didn't have to wait to long in the queue.
Regards Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Everyone has heard of Janettas - and by the numbers of customers filling the place late on a friday night, this should be fantastic ice cream.
And it was.

I will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavidC856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, Owner at Jannettas Gelateria, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Hi
Thanks for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Came here today with my 71 year old mother and four children. Came in and kids wanted ice cream while me and my mum wanted coffee and soup. Due to the amount of flavours kids were looking at them all to decide. We were not asked if we were sit in or takeaway kids started saying which flavour they wanted but when we went to sit down so my mum and I could order our soup and coffee we were told as they'd put the ice cream in takeaway cartons we could not sit in cafe area!! Not even when i said but we want to sit in and order. We were put on extremely high stools and my mum found this very difficult to sit on. My feelings were clear but nobody cared. Extremely poor customer service sat at a cold doorway. Would not have come in had known we would be treated this way. Didn't bother ordering soup as had nowhere comfortable to sit and eat it. Bad manners and poor customer service wont be back.

Thank Kiz1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, Owner at Jannettas Gelateria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Hi
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to Jannettas yesterday.
Unfortunately, it is not possible to allow take away items to be consumed within the cafe area, we have notices explaining this at both the gelateria and cafe entrances as well as the area between them. It is not our policy or I believe necessary to ask every customer that orders take away if they wish to sit-in, however to avoid any disappointment we have three bar areas within the gelateria for take away customers who wish to sit-in. The reason we are unable to offer seats within the cafe area for customers who have purchased take away items is simply down to staffing. We employ a team of staff that is required to operate a 40 cover cafe, if we allow tables to be used by customers who have purchased a take away item, the number of staff required to service the cafe would be impossible to predict, for example at any time all tables could be taken by customers who purchased from the take away side and therefore don't require any service and within a short period of time all the tables could be occupied by customers who do require service and I’m sure you will agree this is not only unmanageable, but it may also lead to disappointment, and in some cases annoyance, especially for those customers who wish to order from our café menu but are unable to find a table as they have been occupied by customers who have take away items. I hope this explanation helps.
When you visited yesterday we were not aware you required soup as well as coffee if we had been this would also have been served to you along with the coffee at the bar area. If we had been aware that you were cold we would have turned on the heaters next to where you were sitting to make you feel more comfortable, when the coffee was served your mother was already sitting at the bar if this had caused any problem we would have offered her a different chair.
We have an excellent team who all work hard to ensure all our customers receive the highest standard of customer service and therefore I find it hard to believe you experienced any rudeness or bad manners from any of our staff.
Regards Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Delicious ice cream - really outstanding.

It was freezing in November so going in was a brazen thing but worth it.

We also had soup and sandwiches on day two - outstanding.

They allow samples - I liked Baileys, Maple walnut and Armadillo flavours best - pistachio was not a hit nor the Tayberry.

Try to sit in a booth rather than a hard chair.

Finally, the flat above is haunted but the poltergeist did not appear during our meals.

Thank bar_kochba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, Owner at Jannettas Gelateria, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thanks for the great review.
The story surrounding the ghost is that 110 years ago a customer was so overcome by the amazing taste of our ice cream the shock was too much and died on the spot. So from that day forward, as long as we continue to serve wonderful ice cream the ghost will remain friendly and cause no harm!
Regards Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jannettas Gelateria also viewed

 
St Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Jannettas Gelateria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing