We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soak up the Atmosphere”

The Old Course Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
US$902.42*
and up
Private Tour to Kingsbarns Distillery and St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
638 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Soak up the Atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The course isn't the best in the world but it is surely the most atmospheric. Just standing on the first tee gets you excited about what lies ahead. Driving the ball down the first, hitting over the hotel on the 17th, putting out on 18 - what a great experience.

If you like golf you have to do this once!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    15
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A dream come true.”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had warm weather ...... a nice breeze... but to play on the first golf course in the world, one that has been played for 700 years is something words cannot describe. Go there and you will see what I mean.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NRSAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Iconic Golf”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This course was all and everything that was expected. To tread the hallowed turf was fantastic, to play the signature holes, the 1st, the 17th (over the hotel) and the 18th what more could you want. You have to play off mats, although this was not noticeable, the staff are polite and welcoming and the whole experience was fantastic. We will be going back to play this plus another two of the seven - golfing heaven.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Gerrard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Old Course hotel was terrific, made to feel very much at home on our returning visit. Staff are very friendly and cant do enough to assist. The jigger was warm and inviting and again staff were very attentive..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh well cooked food.”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Loved the atmosphere in the room. Beautiful surroundings, excellent service, well set table. Food delicious. There was nothing to dislike. Even the price was OK as the evening was lovely. The staff were so attentive and I never had to ask for anything as they were there with the water, bread etc. before I even thought of it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SusieKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Course Experience also viewed

 

Been to The Old Course Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing