We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great caravan site but,”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Been a regular visitor to this site for the last four years. Visited it at least two or three times a year. Would recommend it highly until our last visit the last week of the end of the season last year.
We love St Andrews and the caravan site so much, that we wanted to get so much out of our last visit for the year, so paid an extra three pounds or so that we could leave the caravan on the pitch until 3pm. Had checked with reception that was ok. Yes fine. By this time site was practically empty. We decided to have a cuppa and a snack at 3pm in caravan before leaving thinking as the park was just about empty we were not inconveniencing anyone. Anywhere to our shock during our tea along came a chap who said he was going to tow us off the pitch had we not been ready to go. We explained to him the situation, how ether he was reasonable, and I know rules are rules, but surely there was no need for that attitude especially with it been the end of the season.
We run a holiday rental and if we don't have anyone coming in or out either side of bookings
advise guests not to feel pressured in to leaving and a[ow them to arrive early etc. How ether lovely, clean peaceful site, good location. Loved all our visits here, just to be let down by the last half hour. Visiting St Andrews next week. Trying another caravan park because feel let down after the end of last season.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
5  Thank Dianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigtoun M, General Manager at Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased to hear that you love coming to our Holiday Park and have had some great holidays over the past four years. Thank you for those kind comments.

I am disappointed that the member of Staff who spoke to you in that last half hour did not meet the level of service we expect from our Staff. The comments made do not reflect any policy that we have. From the information to hand, I can say with confidence that the person who spoke to you had only been with us a couple of weeks and has subsequently been dismissed.

Neither myself nor our Customer Service Manager were aware of the incident and would welcome the opportunity to try to put things right for you. If you would like to discuss this please call either Richard Harris or Jim Gordon on 01334 475959.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had two fantastic holiday this year at Craigtoun. A very family friendly place with plenty of room around pitches. The super pitches are excellent and all are fully serviced. The play area is very good and close to the pitches; so easy to keep a watchful eye on the children. Showers are excellent and baths are available too. Excellent washing up facilities all in the one area. I would thoroughly recommend the site. We will be regular visitors now.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank pedro1274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigtoun M, General Manager at Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your complimentary review. I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities of our Park. The showers were refurbished for the start of the Season and it's good to hear that they are appreciated.

The small play areas within Touring were designed with small children in mind and have been there for about 5 years now. Thes were created as the main Play Area is that wee bit further away from Touring.

While there are a few things for smaller children there, the new Flying Fox zip slide and all weather Football/Basketball pitch are intended for the older children.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Having stayed here the past 2 yrs in oct can only highly recommened. One of best parks stayed in on this years trip round East Neuk. Grounds always tidy and clean pitches very big. Toilets/ showers very clean and plenty of them, even 2 baths so baby/child friendly. Wardens have always been pleasant and helpful. Only draw back quite bit out of town but taxi service very good and not expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigtoun M, General Manager at Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to our Park and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My family has been going here since before I was born, and I recently bought a static for my family to use. Top class caravan site, best I've been to. When I take friends or let them use the van, they always comment as to how lovely it is, and how it isn't like the usual caravan site. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigtoun M, General Manager at Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for such a great review. It is much appreciated and we're glad you have such a high opinion of the Park and have chosen to spend so much time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in a lodge at this site at beginning of July 2013. The site is spotlessly clean and so was our accommodation. Staff in the office were extremely helpful and the site is in a perfect location. We had a minor problem with our tv and the maintenance man came immediately to sort it. The lodge was very comfortable and I would recommend it to anyone. We shall return at some point in the future. This is another area of Scotland to tick off our list of places to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigtoun M, Manager at Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your kind review and choosing to visit us in the first place. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Been taking our tourer to Craigtoun Meadows since 1991 - must be over 70 visits so far. Originally with our family but now as a couple. Well run and maintained with something new every year. Great facilities and plenty of space for children to play. We've been elsewhere but still keep returning. Enough said. Try it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rswmk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigtoun M, Manager at Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. It's great to know that the hard work of all the Staff is appreciated and that we have been able to give you and your family so many happy holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed in a caravan holiday home. I was a bit unsure what we would get however, our minds were set straight when we opened the caravan door.. Wow! The caravan was lovely and spotless with everything we required, a proper home from home. The park itself is well laid out and we were just across the road from the large kids play area, perfect. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superted18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigtoun M, Managing Director at Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
1.8 mi away
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
229 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Inn at Lathones
The Inn at Lathones
#1 of 1 in Lathones
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
3,498 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Inn at Kingsbarns
The Inn at Kingsbarns
#1 of 3 in Kingsbarns
211 reviews
0 mi away
Pinewood Country House
Pinewood Country House
#1 of 2 in St Michaels
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park

Address: Mount Melville, St Andrews KY16 8PQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Speciality Lodging in St Andrews
Price Range: £70 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5 Star Holiday Park offers 6 berth caravan Holiday Home accommodation and 4 berth Lodges 1.5 miles from the town centre of historic St Andrews. All accommodation is equipped with central heating and double glazing, offering superb quality in idyllic surroundings. A family Park with substantial play areas for children in a beautiful conuntryside area.St Andrews has world renowned golf courses and has 2 popular beaches, all within 2 miles of our premises.In addition to our Holiday Homes and Lodges we also provide 57 Touring pitches for caravans, motorhomes and tents. These pitches offer plenty of space in a well laid out area with trees and shrubs providing perfect surroundings. Our Amentiy Block facility is regularly graded as one of the best in Scotland and has again been upgraded in 2013. This facility also includes baths as well as showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing