We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent touring site - perfect for families”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent touring site - perfect for families”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We recently spent over 2 weeks in the touring section of this holiday park and would highly recommend it. We are new to caravanning so can't compare it to too many other parks but we loved everything about our stay. We had a large pitch with an awning and there was plenty of space with a large grassy area directly behind our pitch. The site seemed really busy most of the time we were there but it was always nice and peaceful too.
The site is great for young children - ours had a ball with all of their new friends and in the touring section there are plenty of safe grassy areas plus a couple of small play areas where all the children play together. It's also great for bikes/scooters and most people do drive really carefully. The first couple of days we noticed one 4x4 driving way too fast but I assume they were spoken to as it was noticeable how their driving changed.
The large sports/play park is a short walk away so younger children definitely need accompanied but it's a great park with loads of things to do and the children loved it!
As mentioned by other reviewers the shower/toilet block is really nice, clean and bright. The other bonus is you never seem to have to wait for a shower - I think this must be as the showers are unisex and there are plenty of washrooms in the ladies toilets. This set-up just seems to work more efficiently than the other places we have stayed.
I also think the laundrette deserves a mention. Again, I've not seen many but I did notice this one had a drying area with airers available to hang your washing on as well as a couple of ironing boards and irons for general use (I assume).
The restaurant wasn't open much but we ate in it a few times and the food was lovely and the staff very friendly. It was really quiet the times we were in so you can understand why it's not open more, unfortunately.
Overall we had a fantastic holiday and will definitely be returning to this site. There are so many things to do nearby and the site itself is really well-kept with lovely friendly staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank MaPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigtounM, Managing Director at Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Park. I'm glad that you had such a fantastic time during your 2 week stay in Touring!

The staff like to hear that their efforts are appreciated, particularly with regard to the cleanliness of the Shower/Toilet bock, which is cleaned twice a day, and the fact you've highlighted the fact that the grounds are well kept will also be passed on.

The shower block had a substantial investment in 2013 with the creation of the new shower cubicles and new boilers. This will be further upgraded shortly despite it already being rated one of the top in the country by Visit Scotland and the AA.

We have tried to make the Touring area as child friendly as possible with the development of the 2 Play areas bringing facilities closer to the caravans than they were before. The large play area has seen a lot of investment with over £58,000 being invested in 2013 to improve the facility further.

To clarify a couple of points raised

- we probably did speak to the 4 x 4 driver, as that is our policy and we record it in a book to make sure it is not a regular problem with the same person

- the irons and ironing boards in the Drying Room are for general use at no charge.

The Restaurant is franchised out and faces stiff competition from the various eateries in St Andrews ( over 100 according to the local press), hence the reason the hours are limited. It has experimented with being open all day though unfortunately the demand hasn't been there.

Thank you again for such a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed here many years ago when my children were young so I was really looking forward to spending time here again with my daughter and two small grand children. I have to say I was a bit disappointed. We had a touring patio pitch with a small shed which was handy for keeping toys etc. however, the pitch was poorly maintained with broken slabs which were a hazard for small feet. The general maintenance of the site is poor, the grass on our pitch was long and not cut in the two weeks we were there, the toilet block is ok but not terribly clean. Landscaped areas are not looked after apart from round the office block. There used to be a way through from the touring pitches to the play park, but this has gone now along with the tennis courts, replaced by more static caravans. The laundry is inadequate for the number of caravans and closes at 7.30pm which is a bit early in the summer. There is no shop, apparently no one used the previous one, was that because it was too expensive? In conclusion I would say this site succeeds because of where it is and because it is better than the others in the area but it could do better!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank heatherbell14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigtounM, Managing Director at Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a Review of our Park. I am sorry that you never found the Park to your liking, especially as you were looking forward to the visit after a long absence.

I have looked into your concerns this morning and checked our 14 patio pitches in particular. Out of the 420 slabs on the 14 pitches, there are 2 broken and 8 cracked in total. Both of the broken ones are on the same pitch and will be repaired now that we know about them. At the start of the season all were checked and we tend to rely on people to tell us if there is a problem when they are in full use. We've not spoken to all occupants on the ones with cracked slabs but those we have are happy that they are not causing a problem. This is the first week of the season that we have only managed to strim areas of Touring rathr than cut grass due to the bad weather. However, we do have a policy of not moving, windbreaks, satellite dishes, toys, bikes, guy ropes and other possessions that prevent us from fully cutting the grass if the occupant of the pitch isn't there. We will also not squeeze past parked cars if there is a danger of brushing against them.

I'm disappointed that the toilet block didn't meet your standards as it is cleaned twice a day and is ordinarily the highest rated feature in reviews within our Touring area.

The old tent area, which was previously used to access the Play Park was closed due to complaints from both Tourers and those with statics. It also gave us an opportunity to build an area specifically for Hire caravans and utilise a much larger piece of ground for more play equipment, including the All Weather Football/Basketball Court, which replaced the tennis court, which wasn't being used as much. We also created to 2 new play areas within touring to move the facilities closer to younger children.

I have compared the laundry facility of 3 washers and 4 dryers, with the other larger parks in the area and we have more facilities than 2 of them and one less washer than the other. The other 5 star park asks visitors to book a slot, we don't. We only open the launderette for 10.5 hours a day out of consideration for the caravans nearby.

Our Park is 1.5 miles from Morrisons and when our shop lost an average of £2,000 per annum over a 3 year period it was decided to close it as the franchisee couldn't keep losing money. Supermarket prices are in the main cheaper than cash and carry prices, so it wasn't possible to compete.

We do appreciate your comment that we are better than others in the area and will also change our policy with regard to the grass cutting. In future we will now look to have more of a conversation with individual tourers about convenient times for cutting, whenever possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Don't normally review sites but as I've actually stayed here, unlike some reviewers, thought I would.

Initial reaction: lovely, followed by: lovely! Yes the road is a little tight but very manageable. Pitches are miles apart unlike the last site we visited where you could shake hands with your neighbour without leaving van!

Amenity block is nice with great facilities: big cubicles, plenty of sinks, showers are excellent.

The only slight negative is that the kids have to go the long way round to get to big play park, rather than the direct route as there's a locked gate.

Would we come back? Seriously thinking about a static here!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank amberglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigtounM, Managing Director at Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Park. I am glad you enjoyed your time in our Touring area and found it lovely, twice!

When the Park was laid out it was decided to keep the road to a certain width to prevent speeding and take away the need for speed bumps in the Touring Area. A conscious decision was also made to ensure there is more than enough space around the pitches so we always exceed the regulations for distances between caravans and awnings.

I appreciate your comments regarding the long way round for the larger play park. The intention was for smaller children to be nearer the caravans and the larger area would be further away to give extra space for running around. The original intention was not for the gate to remain locked, however a number of children were using the area around the gate as a Play Area and this led to a change of plans following some issues. We then create extra parking at the Play area to compensate for this.

Look forward to seeing you again, whether you buy a static or not!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Not as advertised on web site!! The site is in a great location and very peaceful but the caravans are of a very low standard. They are clean but no where near the 5star rating claimed on the site. The beds and mattresses were also cheap and not comfortable at all. 2nd & 3rd bedrooms are only suitable for young children. My brother had to push the 2 small beds together to get any chance of a sleep. The facilities at the site are in desperate need of an up date i.e. the restaurant an games room are not very welcoming. We did enjoy our stay but that was due to the location close to St Andrews. The management did not impress, when asked for advice or directions the response was cold and uninterested. This site could be a real star but falls short on many items. A new management team would do wanders.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank TiggerPucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigtoun M, General Manager at Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Park. I'm disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your stay.

I'm not sure what you mean as 'not' as advertised on the website' as the definition of the caravan on the website doesn't vary from the one you stayed in. The caravan was a 2014 model, manufactured by Willerby and would retail around £32,000. It was graded as 'excellent' by Visitscotland as recently as May, when they awarded their 5 star rating. The 2' 3'' bed is not to everyone's liking but is standard in 2 and 3 bedroom models in the caravan industry and is also in the Willerby top of the range models, though mattresses do vary slightly. I would agree that the twin rooms are primarily aimed at children and, in a 3 bed caravan, do not offer a large amount of space for an adult. This is one of the reasons we offer a 360 degree tour of a double bedroom and lounge on the website alongside a plan giving an indication of the scale of the rest of the caravan.

I'm not sure if you spoke to either myself or the Customer Service Manager when asking for advice. We are both from St Andrews and have good local knowledge, though the ladies on Reception have similar knowledge and deal with most of the day to day queries. I can't remember the last time I was asked for directions, but apologise if I did not meet the standard expected, if you spoke to me.

I am glad that you did enjoy your stay and found our proximity to St Andrews to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have to confess that we only went to this holiday park because we were so last minute and nobody else near St Andrews could take us.

But were we lucky, everything about this park is fantastic. The setting is lovely and so well kept, it felt like being in a private garden. We had one of the large pitches with room for an awning with hard standing, and electric hook up and there was plenty of room between the pitches.
We arrived about 7pm and there was no one around, but someone came out to let us know that the person out of the office was just doing some checks and would be back shortly, so we went into the little restaurant and had a very welcome cup of tea. It wasn't long before someone came to look for us and we were able to get checked in. Everyone was very friendly and when we saw our pitch we were very happy indeed. All the facilities are extremely well kept, always clean with hot water, soap and toilet paper.
We were quite sad to leave today and will definitely be going back, would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Just one wee point and this is just me being picky, when we were in having our cuppa I asked what time the breakfasts were on week days, only to be told that they were only done at weekends.........I have to say we were rather disappointed because we were staying Sunday night to Friday. Clearly though this is not a reason not to go back.

Thank you for making our first trip as caravaners very easy.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank redphonedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigtoun M, General Manager at Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Park. We are pleased that you had such a good time and found our Staff to be friendly and the facilities extremely well kept.

We're also pleased you found the Touring pitches to be spacious and enjoyed the place so much that you will definitely come back to us.

The Restaurant is franchised out to someone else and they determine their opening hours based on usage of the facility. It would be ideal if it were open for breakfasts every day, however, he has tried this during this season and there were several days with no one going in. He therefore decided there wasn't suitable demand.

We're glad this didn't spoil your impression of the Park and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is the first time we have stayed at Craigtoun Meadows and it will not be the last, in fact the children wanted us to book for next summer before we left! The pitches are a a good size with plenty of room around them and the electric / water / waste points are at each pitch. Even when the touring area was busy, it seemed very quiet. I'm sorry, but I think a previous reviewer must have driven round Craigtoun Country Park and got lost in the car park, because the touring area does NOT look like an "old field with some gravel for the pitches".
The hard standing did its job on the one day we had rain like a monsoon and our awning ground sheet remained bone dry.
The amenities block was spotlessly clean and the showers are plentiful and a good size, especially when you have two children in at time. It was a pleasant surprise to have access to two baths without having to ask for a "special key" as we've found on other touring parks.
The children loved the play areas in the touring park and the woodland walk leading to the large play area was beautiful. The all weather pitch is great for tennis as well as football and basketball and our children used it every day as they did the games room.
We've stayed on plenty of sites that don't have a shop and to be honest, those that do are usually so expensive that we don't use them. Morrisons is only a couple of miles away for groceries and St Andrews itself was only a half hour stroll for some lovely coffee shops and nice restaurants.
We also liked the fact there was no wifi, it meant that we were actually away from our normal daily distractions - children's tablets, facebook, e-mails etc.
All in all a fantastic caravan site, well maintained and spotlessly clean. Very friendly and helpful staff who obviously take pride in what they do, well deserving of the 5 pennants. Thank you all. We will definitely be back and we'll also be recommending you to our family and friends. The Lennox's

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigtoun M, General Manager at Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Park, your comments are much appreciated and will be passed on to the Staff.

We're especially pleased to hear that the children enjoyed our facilities so much, we have invested quite a bit into these areas in the past few years. We do actually have wifi on the Park, though there is a small charge for this.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Amenity Block. The Staff pride themselves in keeping it maintained to an excellent standard, with the showers being upgraded last year. A further upgrade will take place shortly. the baths have been a feature for 17 years now and there has never been the requirement for a special key.

If you haven't already booked for next year, we would recommend you change your timing a little, either a little earlier or a little later. The Open Golf Championship is in St Andrews next year and we are currently taking a lot of bookings for 13th - 20th July. Due to demand our prices are higher at that time and the Park becomes more golf orientated and is a lot busier as well.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have stayed at Craigtoun Meadows on a number of occassions either in a Lodge or Caravan. In all cases we have found the park and accommodation to be excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful to the extreme and almost every requirements is taken care of. My daughter loves the game room and we can recommend the onsite restaurant as well.

As others have noted there is no park shop but as Morrisions is only a five minute drive away this is not a problem. In fact we think it is a bonus as we like to have a cup of tea in Morrisions' cafe when we go shopping!

The location of the park is excellent for St Andrews city center where there is loads of great parking. To be fair we have walked in to town on a number of occasions - it takes about 30 minutes.

The only thing we struggle with are the mattresses as they are not very supportive. I assume these are supplied with the caravans/lodges so there is probably little that can be done. However, a firmer mattress would be great.

Also, I suggest you bring a kitchen knife, pizza cutter, apron and a few other essentials as these are not provided. We bring these and it makes life much easier.

So in short we cannot recommend Craigtoun Meadows highly enough. St Andrews is a magical place and this park does it great credit.

Paddy, Paula & Mollie

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paddy_Coleman13C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigtoun M, General Manager at Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind review. We do appreciate all feedback and your comments will be passed on to the Staff.

The issue of a shop is a tricky one, as you say., With Morrisons only a mile and half away the old shop had very little usage when it was open with most people preferring the supermarket when going there for petrol.

We are sorry that the mattresses are not to your liking.The beds in the caravan Holiday Homes are the ones supplied by the manufacturers and with the models we Hire being 2012 or newer, we have no plans to replace them. However, we will take on board your comments regarding the lodges and check each of these for replacement.

We are glad that you love our Park so much and look forward to seeing you the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Andrews
5.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,196 reviews
5.6 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
217 reviews
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The St Michaels Inn
The St Michaels Inn
#1 of 1 in Leuchars
120 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
3.0 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park

Property: Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park
Address: Mount Melville, St Andrews KY16 8PQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5 Star Holiday Park offers 6 berth caravan Holiday Home accommodation and 4 berth Lodges 1.5 miles from the town centre of historic St Andrews. All accommodation is equipped with central heating and double glazing, offering superb quality in idyllic surroundings. A family Park with substantial play areas for children in a beautiful conuntryside area.St Andrews has world renowned golf courses and has 2 popular beaches, all within 2 miles of our premises.In addition to our Holiday Homes and Lodges we also provide 57 Touring pitches for caravans, motorhomes and tents. These pitches offer plenty of space in a well laid out area with trees and shrubs providing perfect surroundings. Our Amentiy Block facility is regularly graded as one of the best in Scotland and has again been upgraded in 2013. This facility also includes baths as well as showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing