We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ardgowan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont St Andrews(St Andrews)
US$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$453
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rufflets Hotel(St Andrews)
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$560
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
264
224
77
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
224
77
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflights of stairsno lifthotel is in a great locationtop floorroom was clean and comfortablegolf triphotel restaurantgolf coursenice breakfasttown centrethird floornice staysmall hotellarge roomblack puddingtrip to st andrewsshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
498 - 503 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We booked one night in a SUPERIOR DOUBLE room but feel that room 22 should have been sold to us as an INFERIOR DOUBLE. A large bedroom with the oldest cheapest pine furniture imaginable, decor out of the Arc, windows that we could not keep open and had to end up improvising by using a cup for this, plastic peeling of the back of the leatherette couch in the bedroom, bedroom door handle broken, could not find a hairdryer in the room, tiles falling off the wall in the bathroom, shower held together with cable ties, smelly drains in the bathroom, no complimentary bathroom "bits" supplied (in this so called Superior Room in a 3* hotel) so had to end up washing our hair with soap. Breakfast too was a big disappointment as the thought of scrampled eggs with smoked salmon appealled to both my wife and I but we are still looking for the salmon amongst the over cooked egg !! A distinct feel of Fawlty Towers and we had to pay £172.00 for the pleasure. We will certainly not be back but the choice is yours.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LESLEY N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, General Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

I am sorry to read your review, about you not enjoying your stay with us.

I would of preferred to discuss these issues in person should you of brought them to out attention either during your stay or at check out and hopefully come to a resolution for both parties instead of reading them on tripadvisor.

If you wish to contact the hotel direct regarding these matters, I would be more than happy to discuss them with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Lovely hotel, personal service, and a very short walk from the University Medical School and Centre of St Andrews. Lovely attention to details, abd customer service. Best breakfast waiter (the porter?) in Scotland! Super restaurant next door. Spotless and friendly establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danyl1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, General Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
We are so pleased you found us helpful and we are glad you enjoyed your stay here.
We hope forward to welcoming you back to the Ardgowan and I will pass on your comments to Alistair and the rest of the staff.
Regards
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My wife and I visited St Andrew's for the day after spending a couple of days in nearby Anstruther and decided to spend an impromptu night there. We had tried a couple of other places which had no vacancies before trying the Ardgowan. The receptionist told us they had a superior room available at £139 which seemed a bit steep but it was last minute.

We were given the keys to Room 12 and on entering the first thing we noticed was the intense heat, even though the radiators were off and it wasn't a particularly hot day. It seemed that the heat was due to the fact that the room was directly above the kitchen - which also explained the strong smell of grease and fried food. We opened the window but had to keep the curtains shut as there were no blinds and we were right next to the beer garden, meaning anybody sitting there could see right in. There was a fan in the room but it was totally inadequate. We could have ordered a drink from room service to cool down but £4.40 for a can of juice or £4.20 for a small bottle of water, in a three star hotel - come on!

The room was big enough but looked quite dated and the furniture looked cheap. No flat screen TV, instead an old style set with a universal remote control. The hairdryer didn't work properly and the ironing board had seen better days. We have no idea what the breakfast was like as we couldn't wait to get out the place the next morning after experiencing the most uncomfortable nights sleep (due to the heat) that we've ever had in a hotel.

This hotel does seem to have a lot of good reviews so maybe we were just unlucky to get Room 12. Given our experience, and what we paid for this so called 'superior' room though, there is no way we will ever return.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, don't accept Room 12.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nmc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, General Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, however we would like to comment on the points you raised in your review

We gave you a last minute rate of £139 although the rate of our larger rooms is £172.
We apologise for the room being too hot, but in Scotland we don’t require air conditioning, and the heat was due to the fantastic weather we were experiencing and the room being south facing, not the kitchen as mentioned.

We have never had a complaint regarding this room overlooking our terrace, as we have screening on the terrace and the room is raised above the terrace level. Our terrace is also only used until 10pm at the latest.

The room you stayed is of modern design with new furniture and features; it did have a CRT flat screen TV due to the size of the room as we don’t feel it requires a LCD TV. Unfortunately one of the previous guests departed with the original remote control which was replaced with a universal one which also changes the channels and volume.

If people don’t want to use room service they are more than welcome to come to the restaurant to purchase drinks to take to their rooms which are not the room service prices.

Kind Regards,

Gary Foster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The Ardgowan was a lovely place to stay and had tremendous charm. We arrived with a group of 13 people (7 golfers and 6 non-golfers). The staff was very friendly throughout our 3 night stay. They were able to make good recommendations on things to do and stay for our group. The accommodated our individual requests. They were even nice enough to ensure we had umbrellas when traveling for our evenings in St. Andrews. The location to the Old Course was fantastic. Basically, walk to the corner, turn right and the Old Course is a couple blocks away. The hotel had the small feel of a bed and breakfast but the rooms were large enough to allow us to get away. From our other trips in Europe these rooms were nicely sized. Depending on your room you could get a bathtub or just a shower in the bathroom. We had a wonderful time and would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Check on what the room has for a bathroom, either bathtub with shower or just a shower. Staying on a higher level floor provided you a better view. If your room is warm ask the front desk for a fan.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcdonapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, General Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always do our best to accommodate our guests needs and help them enjoy their time in St Andrews so it is rewarding for us to know you not only enjoyed your time in the hotel but also the town itself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I had a fantastic weekend in St. Andrews with a group of friends. We had a few special requests and all the staff did their best to accommodate us. They were very helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was lovely and well priced.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelx1983x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, General Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review.
We value guest feedback, and it is always nice to read positive feedback.
I am glad our front of staff helped make your stay a pleasant one.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Gary
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews