We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many stairs”
Review of Ardgowan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardgowan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Too many stairs”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The room was ok, however I wasn't prepared for amount of stairs to climb to our room, think elderly and infirm would struggle as there would appear to be no lifts. The room itself was nice enough, although shower cubicle was a bit of a tight squeeze and I'm a size 12!
Overall a pleasant enough stay but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairebear0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
As always, we are very grateful to our guests who leave feedback.

Being a listed Georgian building, the hotel does not have lifts, and I am sorry that you were taken aback by the stairs. Regarding your concern for elderly guests, we do have several rooms on the same level as reception, and others only half a flight of stairs up or down, and we would always do our best to allocate a room on a low level if necessary. I am also sorry to hear that you found your shower to be a tight squeeze. Again, we have a range of rooms in different sizes to try to accommodate the needs of all our guests, so I am sorry that you were disappointed.

I hope that we might be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    199
    70
    12
    9
See reviews for
102
178
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just spent a long weekend staying in the Ardgowan and was a little disappointed having eaten in their Playfairs Restaurant last year thought the Hotel would be as good but that is not the case. I know it is the centre of St Andrews but felt it was overpriced for the size and quality of the accomodation. The room we were allocated was very small and the shower room/toilet even smaller. The service was good and the staff friendly but the breakfast disappointing although adequate. Playfairs is still a fabulous restaurant though.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey261147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryFoster, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Ardgowan. I am glad to hear that you found our staff so friendly and that you consider Playfair’s an excellent restaurant, but I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the other aspects of your stay. Because people stay at the hotel for so many different reasons, we try to offer a range of room sizes to suit their needs, and I am sorry that you found your room too small for your needs on your long weekend.

I hope that we might be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, when perhaps we could accommodate you in one of our refurbished standard rooms?

I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Kind regards

Mairi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I went to St Andrews for a day trip last year. Loved the place so much decided to go back the same time this year. Took an overnight bag incase we decided to stay as I was off work the next day. This was the first hotel we tried and by luck they had a room. It was on second floor room no. 24. Thought it was very pricey at £143 per night . Room had twin beds but when we came in later on they had made them into a king size for us. Bed was really comfy,room and bathroom were spotless. Glad of the big fluffy towels and shower gel etc as we travelled light. My husband had the cooked breakfast and said it was fab. The only negative I have is that our room was dimly lit. There were a few lights in it but none bright enough to do hair and makeup in. Big full length mirror but you couldn't really see much in it. Bathroom was really bright though I wasn't keen on the type of shower. Shower head fixed to ceiling so it was quite hard to wash without getting your hair wet. Other than that it was a really lovely hotel in fab location. Thanks to staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your time with us at the Ardgowan. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were so happy with the cleanliness of the room and the helpfulness of our team. We also take on board yoru feedback abotu the lighting in your room and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the future shoudl you find yourselves in the St Andrews area again.

Kind regards,

Mairi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just stayed two nights at the Ardgowan, booked in to the annex accommodation , not at all impressed, the rooms are above a very busy local bar, lots of local workmen having drinks when they have just finished there day at work, so you have to go through the bar to go to your rooms, the stair case to your rooms is dirt tatty and marks all over the Walls , un ironed net curtains hanging at the windows, no lifts. Then the rooms are very cramped, have to say the beds were very clean, lovely towels and bathroom very clean. No comfortable chairs to sit on in the room and after climbing all the stairs you are ready to sit on a chair , not flop on to the bed. Have to say all the staff are very helpful, friendly. And would do any thing to make your stay comfortable , the food in the restaurant is very good also the breakfast very good. I really think they need to look at the annex Accommodation it is not cheap , it needs. Completely overhauled and create a lovely atmosphere for the many guest that come to the lovely Saint Andrews . Alll the accommodation in Saint Andrews is not cheap, I think £130.00 for the annex as it is at the moment is far to expensive for what it is, we were lucky we got breakfast included. Please you have a fantastic location, but you need to upgrade the annex accomodation. These rooms I would say are not suitable for the elderly or infirm .

Room Tip: Do not book annex .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 160Robbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant, and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, but I am sorry to see that you were disappointed with the accommodation in the annexe. We advertise that the Pilmour rooms are above the bar, and reduce the prices of these rooms to reflect that. At the same time, we also take measures to ensure that the bar does not disturb our residents, particularly later in the evenings.

I would also like to mention that we do have plans to rennovate the rooms in the Pilmour to bring them up to the same high standard as the rooms in the Ardgowan, hopefully as early as this winter. With this in mind, I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, should you find yourself in St Andrews again.

Kind regards,

Mairi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, IN
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were simply looking for a place to sleep and the Ardgowan was perfect. It did have it's quirks. The hallways were very narrow. The interent access speed was almost zero. The power was iffy. But overall it did the job. The staff was freindly enough and answered all of our questions. And it's located only 2 blocks from the Old course 18th green. And we were there to golf.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daqattaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay here at the Ardgowan. I am glad to hear that you were impressed by the location of the hotel and that you found our team to be friendly. As you say, there are some quirks to the hotel buildings, but this is because the hotel comprises of two old georgian townhouses, which gives all of the rooms their own character. I can only apologise if you expereinced difficulties with the internet or particualrly power during your stay, as this is not normal for the hotel. We find the guest wifi network to be very reliable, and our staff can usually fix any problems which may arise.

Should you return to St Andrews in the future, I hope you would consider staying at the hotel again.

Kind regards,

Mairi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horten, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just back from a golfingtrip to St Andrews and The Ardgowan Hotel. The hotel has a great location, close to golf and town center. The service was excellent and the same can be said about the basement restaurant Playfairs.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peds14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about yoru time with us at the Ardgowan. I am delighted to hear that you were so impressed not only with the great location of the hotel, but by the service you recieved from our team. I will also pass your comments onto our restaurant.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Mairi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated close to the Old Course and town. The room we stayed is was very small, the bathroom was small too. Felt cramped. The restaurant is excellent and would go back again. The hotel suits golfers. We stayed only one evening. A lot of stairs, won't recommend it for older folks.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We really appreciate that you have taken the time to review your stay with us at the Ardgowan. I am sorry to hear that you were dissappointed with the size of your room, and can only apologise. We have a wide variety fo rooms available to suit different budgets and space requirements, and our staff do everything they can to fulfil our guests' requests when allocating bookings.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time in Playfair's and hope that we might be able to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Mairi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,273 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
377 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgowan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgowan Hotel

Property: Ardgowan Hotel
Address: 2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#7 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardgowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardgowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing