We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fife and Angus Golf Trip”
Review of Ardgowan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardgowan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The room was very good the only problem there was no view,was very clean and everything worked in the room.I ate three nights in the restaurant and the food was fantastic and the breakfasts were very good and all the staff were really helpful and friendly.I found the hotel to be in a excellent location as i was playing golf in the fife and angus therefore i would recommend your hotel to anyone,if i visit St Andrews again i would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review, and I’m delighted to hear that you were so happy with your stay here. I will also pass your kind feedback on to the staff in the kitchen and restaurant.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future. Perhaps we could even accommodate you in one of the rooms at the top of the hotel, from which it is possible to see the Old Course?

I hope that you enjoyed your golf trip and had a safe journey home.

Kind regards,
Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

"Location, location location" is best description for this property. If you are a golf enthusiast and require no frills, you should be satisfied at the Ardgowan Hotel. This historic property offers rooms that are substantial for its age but may not be large enough for modern traveller. The room darkening curtains are helpful. Problems include a front desk that closes at 9pm although the staff in Playfairs restaurant will answer the phone. Soap must be taken from the sink to be used in your shower---and back to sink. Toilet paper doubles for tissue for sneezes. Although decorated in Victorian style to partner with the historic property, the decor and lighting is much too dark for any reading prior to sleeping. As mentioned by others, there is no elevator but that didn't pose a problem. However, only street parking is available and that seemed it might be problematic until we noticed others temporarily using front curb in front of hotel to unload clubs and luggage and then moving to find street parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 67kewpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you found the hotel so convenient your golfing trip, and hope that you enjoyed your time on the courses in and around St Andrews.

I am particularly glad that you have brought the issues you had with the lighting in your room to our attention, and we will certainly be able to look into this for our future guests.

I hope that you had a safe journey home.

Kind regards,
Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Not great from the sleep quality point of view.

A minus with the bedrooms is that the walls a quite thin so the person snoring in the next room can be heard quite clearly! Worse than that though is the design of the bedroom doors which swing shut quite sharply with the inevitable consequence that you wake up if one of your neighbour comes in as happened to me a few times.

The breakfast is nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the house are quite noisy in terms of the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msrbcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your feedback.

I am happy to hear that you were impressed with our location, the cleanliness of the hotel, and the service which you received. Obviously, however, your sleep quality is one of the most important elements of your stay and I can only apologise that you were disturbed. For health and safety reasons we need to have fire doors on all of the corridors, which may explain the banging which woke you, but all of these are fitted so that they close as softly as possible.

We have plenty of rooms available at the back of the hotel if guests are concerned by the noise from the road, and these can be specifically allocated at the time of booking. Perhaps if you find yourself in St Andrews again we might be able to welcome you back to the hotel and accommodate you in one of these quieter rooms.

I hope that you had a safe journey back.

Kind regards,

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The room was ok, however I wasn't prepared for amount of stairs to climb to our room, think elderly and infirm would struggle as there would appear to be no lifts. The room itself was nice enough, although shower cubicle was a bit of a tight squeeze and I'm a size 12!
Overall a pleasant enough stay but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairebear0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

As always, we are very grateful to our guests who leave feedback.

Being a listed Georgian building, the hotel does not have lifts, and I am sorry that you were taken aback by the stairs. Regarding your concern for elderly guests, we do have several rooms on the same level as reception, and others only half a flight of stairs up or down, and we would always do our best to allocate a room on a low level if necessary. I am also sorry to hear that you found your shower to be a tight squeeze. Again, we have a range of rooms in different sizes to try to accommodate the needs of all our guests, so I am sorry that you were disappointed.

I hope that we might be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just spent a long weekend staying in the Ardgowan and was a little disappointed having eaten in their Playfairs Restaurant last year thought the Hotel would be as good but that is not the case. I know it is the centre of St Andrews but felt it was overpriced for the size and quality of the accomodation. The room we were allocated was very small and the shower room/toilet even smaller. The service was good and the staff friendly but the breakfast disappointing although adequate. Playfairs is still a fabulous restaurant though.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey261147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryFoster, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Ardgowan. I am glad to hear that you found our staff so friendly and that you consider Playfair’s an excellent restaurant, but I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the other aspects of your stay. Because people stay at the hotel for so many different reasons, we try to offer a range of room sizes to suit their needs, and I am sorry that you found your room too small for your needs on your long weekend.

I hope that we might be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, when perhaps we could accommodate you in one of our refurbished standard rooms?

I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Kind regards

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I went to St Andrews for a day trip last year. Loved the place so much decided to go back the same time this year. Took an overnight bag incase we decided to stay as I was off work the next day. This was the first hotel we tried and by luck they had a room. It was on second floor room no. 24. Thought it was very pricey at £143 per night . Room had twin beds but when we came in later on they had made them into a king size for us. Bed was really comfy,room and bathroom were spotless. Glad of the big fluffy towels and shower gel etc as we travelled light. My husband had the cooked breakfast and said it was fab. The only negative I have is that our room was dimly lit. There were a few lights in it but none bright enough to do hair and makeup in. Big full length mirror but you couldn't really see much in it. Bathroom was really bright though I wasn't keen on the type of shower. Shower head fixed to ceiling so it was quite hard to wash without getting your hair wet. Other than that it was a really lovely hotel in fab location. Thanks to staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your time with us at the Ardgowan. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were so happy with the cleanliness of the room and the helpfulness of our team. We also take on board yoru feedback abotu the lighting in your room and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the future shoudl you find yourselves in the St Andrews area again.

Kind regards,

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just stayed two nights at the Ardgowan, booked in to the annex accommodation , not at all impressed, the rooms are above a very busy local bar, lots of local workmen having drinks when they have just finished there day at work, so you have to go through the bar to go to your rooms, the stair case to your rooms is dirt tatty and marks all over the Walls , un ironed net curtains hanging at the windows, no lifts. Then the rooms are very cramped, have to say the beds were very clean, lovely towels and bathroom very clean. No comfortable chairs to sit on in the room and after climbing all the stairs you are ready to sit on a chair , not flop on to the bed. Have to say all the staff are very helpful, friendly. And would do any thing to make your stay comfortable , the food in the restaurant is very good also the breakfast very good. I really think they need to look at the annex Accommodation it is not cheap , it needs. Completely overhauled and create a lovely atmosphere for the many guest that come to the lovely Saint Andrews . Alll the accommodation in Saint Andrews is not cheap, I think £130.00 for the annex as it is at the moment is far to expensive for what it is, we were lucky we got breakfast included. Please you have a fantastic location, but you need to upgrade the annex accomodation. These rooms I would say are not suitable for the elderly or infirm .

Room Tip: Do not book annex .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 160Robbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant, and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, but I am sorry to see that you were disappointed with the accommodation in the annexe. We advertise that the Pilmour rooms are above the bar, and reduce the prices of these rooms to reflect that. At the same time, we also take measures to ensure that the bar does not disturb our residents, particularly later in the evenings.

I would also like to mention that we do have plans to rennovate the rooms in the Pilmour to bring them up to the same high standard as the rooms in the Ardgowan, hopefully as early as this winter. With this in mind, I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, should you find yourself in St Andrews again.

Kind regards,

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St Andrews
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,383 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgowan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgowan Hotel

Address: 2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £73 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardgowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Ardgowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing