We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bucket list trip!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardgowan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardgowan Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bucket list trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with a down home feel very close to St. Andrews Golf Links, this is the place! The rooms are very adequate considering the age of the building. The one negative is the shower stall was way too small for even an average size person. The bar and restaurant staff were exceptional! Thanks again to Leia, Cameron, Nick, Emily and the entire staff. Sorry if I missed anyone!

Room Tip: Away from the street if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Tom,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I am glad to hear that you were so satisfied with your time at the Ardgowan. I will pass your comments onto the restaurant staff, who I am sure will also be delighted.

I hope that your ‘bucket list trip’ to St Andrews was memorable, and that you had a safe journey home.

Kind regards,

Mairi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    189
    65
    11
    6
See reviews for
95
168
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was another great stay in this very well situated hotel for Mackintosh Hall of the University of St Andrews where we have a daughter. We were in room 22 which has a bath and was very comfortable once you get a grip of the lamps which operate by touch. It takes a bit of time for the hot water to run for the bath but very comfortable after a long journey north once it does. Bed comfortable. The cooked breakfast is delicious - the cook being expert at getting bacon and eggs just right. Little disappointing so far as the choice of breakfast cereals is concerned - something more interesting than Alpen in the Muesli area please! Staff are always very friendly and we really enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMPease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Mr Pease,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your time at the Ardgowan. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us again. Room 22 was recently renovated and is one of our favourites, so I am particularly glad that you found it so comfortable.

Thank you for your feedback about breakfast and the choices available. I will pass these onto the restaurant. In the meantime, I hope that you had a safe journey home, and that we will be able to welcome you back when you come to visit your daughter in the future.

Kind regards,

Mairi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I thought that the service from the staff was excellent particularly in the restaurant. I thought the dinner was of a very high standard as was breakfast.. The staff generated an atmosphere which was both very welcoming and very efficient. The Ardgowan experience in my view put many of the so-called luxury hotels to shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Alistair,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It is wonderful to receive such a great comment from one of our guests, and I will also pass your kind words onto the staff in Playfair’s.

We hope that you enjoyed your golf trip and that you has a safe trip home. We would be delighted to see you if you return to St Andrews in the future!

Kind regards,

Mairi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The room was very good the only problem there was no view,was very clean and everything worked in the room.I ate three nights in the restaurant and the food was fantastic and the breakfasts were very good and all the staff were really helpful and friendly.I found the hotel to be in a excellent location as i was playing golf in the fife and angus therefore i would recommend your hotel to anyone,if i visit St Andrews again i would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review, and I’m delighted to hear that you were so happy with your stay here. I will also pass your kind feedback on to the staff in the kitchen and restaurant.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future. Perhaps we could even accommodate you in one of the rooms at the top of the hotel, from which it is possible to see the Old Course?

I hope that you enjoyed your golf trip and had a safe journey home.

Kind regards,
Mairi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

"Location, location location" is best description for this property. If you are a golf enthusiast and require no frills, you should be satisfied at the Ardgowan Hotel. This historic property offers rooms that are substantial for its age but may not be large enough for modern traveller. The room darkening curtains are helpful. Problems include a front desk that closes at 9pm although the staff in Playfairs restaurant will answer the phone. Soap must be taken from the sink to be used in your shower---and back to sink. Toilet paper doubles for tissue for sneezes. Although decorated in Victorian style to partner with the historic property, the decor and lighting is much too dark for any reading prior to sleeping. As mentioned by others, there is no elevator but that didn't pose a problem. However, only street parking is available and that seemed it might be problematic until we noticed others temporarily using front curb in front of hotel to unload clubs and luggage and then moving to find street parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 67kewpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you found the hotel so convenient your golfing trip, and hope that you enjoyed your time on the courses in and around St Andrews.

I am particularly glad that you have brought the issues you had with the lighting in your room to our attention, and we will certainly be able to look into this for our future guests.

I hope that you had a safe journey home.

Kind regards,
Mairi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Not great from the sleep quality point of view.

A minus with the bedrooms is that the walls a quite thin so the person snoring in the next room can be heard quite clearly! Worse than that though is the design of the bedroom doors which swing shut quite sharply with the inevitable consequence that you wake up if one of your neighbour comes in as happened to me a few times.

The breakfast is nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the house are quite noisy in terms of the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msrbcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your feedback.

I am happy to hear that you were impressed with our location, the cleanliness of the hotel, and the service which you received. Obviously, however, your sleep quality is one of the most important elements of your stay and I can only apologise that you were disturbed. For health and safety reasons we need to have fire doors on all of the corridors, which may explain the banging which woke you, but all of these are fitted so that they close as softly as possible.

We have plenty of rooms available at the back of the hotel if guests are concerned by the noise from the road, and these can be specifically allocated at the time of booking. Perhaps if you find yourself in St Andrews again we might be able to welcome you back to the hotel and accommodate you in one of these quieter rooms.

I hope that you had a safe journey back.

Kind regards,

Mairi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The room was ok, however I wasn't prepared for amount of stairs to climb to our room, think elderly and infirm would struggle as there would appear to be no lifts. The room itself was nice enough, although shower cubicle was a bit of a tight squeeze and I'm a size 12!
Overall a pleasant enough stay but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairebear0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
As always, we are very grateful to our guests who leave feedback.

Being a listed Georgian building, the hotel does not have lifts, and I am sorry that you were taken aback by the stairs. Regarding your concern for elderly guests, we do have several rooms on the same level as reception, and others only half a flight of stairs up or down, and we would always do our best to allocate a room on a low level if necessary. I am also sorry to hear that you found your shower to be a tight squeeze. Again, we have a range of rooms in different sizes to try to accommodate the needs of all our guests, so I am sorry that you were disappointed.

I hope that we might be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgowan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgowan Hotel

Property: Ardgowan Hotel
Address: 2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardgowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ardgowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing