We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Ardgowan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardgowan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed recently for four nights on a golfing break. The room was clean and tidy and breakfast was good. Good location for the golf, however as previously mentioned by another reviewer it is expensive for what you get.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank givey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Givey,

Thank you for the time you have taken to write your review.

I am sorry that you were disappointed and felt that your room was expensive. We certainly take your feedback on board for the benefit of our future guests, and if you would like to further discuss any aspect of your stay please feel free to contact me at the Ardgowan.

I hope that you enjoyed your golf and had a safe trip home.

Kind regards,

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

I cannot fault the location, staff, room or food, but I would describe it as OK because of the price, For the cost of it I got what I expected.

Pros:
Breakfast
Size of room
Staff Friendliness

Cons:
No private parking (only matters on a Saturday really, there is plenty of parking at other times on nearby streets (3-5 minute walk)
Price

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ravendarksky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on so many aspects of your time with us at the Ardgowan. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast, and particularly your experience with our great team of staff.

St Andrews is an expensive place but even so I am sorry that you felt let down by the price of your room. Should you travel to St Andrews again please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss different options for accommodation with us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

spent 5 nights here. Large room with giant bed , bathroom with bath , central heating on demand.
Staff were very pleasant but for one grumpy young waiter at breakfast. ( Breakfast was great) Perfect location - recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RENSHAWWELSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here for one night-great location-just around the corner from the 18th on the old course. It is one street over from the main street and a about a 10minute stroll to the castle ruins.

Room was a decent size though bathroom was small but that didn't worry us for one night. Clean and comfortable.

Would stay here again, even if we decided to stay a few more nights.
No lifts-so you wouldn't want to get a room at the top due to the stairs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qlder_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you very much of our feedback, am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We are very lucky with our location, as you point out.

If you are planning another trip to St Andrews, we would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us to arrange accommodation.

I hope that you had a safe journey home

Kind regards,

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had a nice stay at this centrally located hotel. We received an extremely friendly, warm welcome at the hotel reception. Our rooms were small but provided everything we needed. The only minor complaint was that the air conditioning from next door's shower room was pretty noisy and reverberated for a quite a while into our room during the late evening.
The Scottish breakfast was tasty - the smoked salmon was an excellent flavour and quality. There was no dedicated parking but a public car park was located just around the corner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bauhaus100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate feedback from all our guests as it allows us to improve the experience of our guests in the future.

I am extremely glad to hear that you were so happy with your stay, and that you were made to feel welcome by the staff. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast – I hope that it set you up well for the open day.

Thank you for bringing the fact that the fan next door disturbed you to my attention. I’m sorry that your sleep was disturbed and we will look into the matter.

If you ever make the journey to St Andrews again in the future we would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel.

I hope that you enjoyed your time in St Andrews

Kind regards,

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Older hotel in St Andrews, very close to the old course, food was very good, but rooms over the bar a little noisy. Lots of stairs, try not to get an upper room. Staff tried hard to please. When we had an early tee time, they opened up breakfast for us, very nice.

Room Tip: ask for a room not over the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to see that you were so happy with the service you received while you were with us.

I hope that you enjoyed your time in St Andrews and had a safe journey home.

Kind regards,

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is very comfortable and has well equipped rooms. The breakfast is excellent, as is the restaurant. Friendly, polite and efficient staff. My only criticism is the lack of lifts - if you find stairs difficult, don't stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear James F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It is so nice to see that we managed to 'tick all the boxes' for you during your stay. I will pass your comments on to all the staff in the restaurant as well.

I hope that you enjoyed your time in St Andrews, and if you are ever in the area again, we would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
514 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St Andrews
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#9 of 17 in St Andrews
1,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
426 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgowan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgowan Hotel

Address: 2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#7 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £93 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardgowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Ardgowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing