We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Thumbs Up!! My Husband & I Loved the Ardgowan Hotel”
Review of Ardgowan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardgowan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2008

My husband and I found the Ardgowan to be clean, friendly, and reasonable (for St. Andrews that is). Our room appeared to have been decorated within the past few months (someone's been watching the Hotel Inspector)! While the room wasn't large, it was a regular double and was more than adequate. I was somewhat put off by the reviews I had read, but we had a dog and the Ardgowan had a room set aside for visiting dogs. Now, I can truly say that the hotel is very nice even if you don't have a pet (ours was the only one I saw). The breakfast was first class, the staff was outstanding, the location was prime (especially for you golfers). Many thanks to the staff for an AB FAB stay!! We will definately be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SierraEcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2008

I recently stayed in ardgowan hotel having relocated to Scotland I needed some were to stay while my house was been prepared. I wasn’t expecting such a warm welcome.

I have stayed in many hotels all over the world and this small hotel was one of the best it only has 3 stars but the staff are at a 5 star level. From the minute I checked in till the minute I left they did anything they could to help from the barman telling me about the local golf courses ( in great detail) to the general manage who was telling a few local secrets on were a have just moved to.

I ate at the seafood restaurant the first night I stay there which has rosettes I don’t know how it has the food wasn’t that great. So I decided the following night to eat in the hotel restaurant PLAYFAIR’S the food was fresh and home made and the specials were what they said SPECIAL were is the rosette for this restaurant it is by far one of the best in town. All in all a good hotel made great by the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ScotlandLexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Spiez, Switzerland
1
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mcfl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank adsaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Director at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank paola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
3,500 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgowan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgowan Hotel

Address: 2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#7 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £72 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardgowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Ardgowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing