We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ardgowan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont St Andrews(St Andrews)
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$453
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rufflets Hotel(St Andrews)
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$561
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
264
224
78
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
224
78
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflights of stairsno lifthotel is in a great locationtop floorroom was clean and comfortablegolf triphotel restaurantgolf coursenice breakfasttown centrethird floornice staysmall hotellarge roomblack puddingtrip to st andrewsshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 592 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed there for one night on a short vacation in Scotland. My first impressions were good but then the service received at the restaurant quickly changed my mind. The staff were unfriendly. The dinner food was very good but breakfast was appalling. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable but noisy due to road traffic. The shower is really tiny. The location within the town is excellent. Shame really about the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christel88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and I apologise for the mixed experience you had of the hotel and restaurant. It is very unusual for us to receive comments that our staff were unfriendly or that breakfast was poor so we will be following this up.

I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in St Andrews and that you had a safe journey home.

Kind regards

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was my second stay at Ardgowan Hotel -- location is perfect (about 2 blocks from the Old Course). 5 of us stayed in the hotel (individual rooms). Everyone that we dealt with was exceptionally friendly, to include the hotel staff, bartender, waitstaff, etc. When we had early tee times, the staff arranged to provide an early "limited" breakfast with no hesitation. The rooms were basic, but nice hot water and above average wifi. I would recommend the Argdowan to anyone -- they made our golf experience special!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teschaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you very much your review - we really appreciate that you have taken the time to write about your recent stay at the Ardgowan. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us in St Andrews and I will certainly pass your kind feedback on to the rest of the staff!

We sincerely hope to be able to welcome yourself and your friends back to the hotel in the future for another golfing trip. Please do get in touch if we can be of any assistance. In the meantime, I hope that you have all had a safe journey back home.

Kind regards

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A lovely meal! First class service and first class food, can't wait to go back. A menu suitable for everyone and very reasonably priced. I have eaten here several times now and I have had a great meal each time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Heather L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your meal in our restaurant, Playfair's. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the restaurant in the very near future!

Kind regards

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Clean, nicely decorated and well maintained. Lovely warm and cosey room. Clean en-suite with fresh towels. Great Scottish breakfast. Short walk to the beach and town centre. Friendly and polite staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom-Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Tom,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Ardgowan. I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

I hope that you enjoyed your visit to St Andrews and that you had a safe journey home.

Kind regards

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

What a lovely warm welcome awaits you from the staff of this hotel. Stayed Friday 14th march in room 7, not the biggest room I have ever stayed in (but a long way from the being the smallest) it was warm, comfortable and the shower room was lovely and clean. There was a very minor issue with the room which was rectified immediately by the staff. The bed was comfortable, the sheets crisp and clean, plenty of tea and coffee making facilities in the room, and the domestic staff a sheer joy. I didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening (because meeting up with family) but the breakfast was lovely. It really was a lovely stay, wonderful staff and a definite return visit located in a great place for exploring St. Andrews. Worth more than the three stars awarded!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews