We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly OK but nothing special”
Review of Ardgowan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardgowan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Perfectly OK but nothing special”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Like most hotels in St Andrews I expect, this place is full of golfers! It was fine, but I was a little disappointed. Yes, the staff are welcoming and helpful, but the decor is drab: dark blue and slate green for the most part. The carpet on the stairs was mud-coloured tartan. Rooms are not especially spacious, and mine, with a king size bed, overlooked the bar and the main road at the front and was pretty noisy until 1130, and again from 0700 the next morning - I woke to the sound of bottles being emptied into something (not sure what!). Breakfast was pretty good - decent coffee, crispy bacon, tasty mushrooms and tomatoes, but why was the sausage so under-cooked? It's not cheap, but that's because of the golfers!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear TimWoffenden,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review for us on TripAdvisor. We are sorry you were not pleased with our modern decor. We have just recently redecorated much of the hotel, including re-carpeting the stairs with the burgundy and tan colored tartan just at the beginning of the summer and have had nothing but positive feedback for these changes.

We do offer several room types and sizes to accommodate all budgets, and though some of our rooms do face the main road, there are several at the back which, if a guest requires a quieter room, we are happy to oblige when possible. Unfortunately though, we are unable to control the time of day that Fife Council empties our bottle bins once a week. Our staff is also sensitive to these noises as well, and we would never empty the bottle bins at that time of day out of consideration for our guests and neighbors.

We are happy to know you were able to enjoy breakfast with us and we have passed your comments to our kitchen staff. I'm sorry we were unable to address the issue with your sausages in person and instead, had to read about it on TripAdvisor. We would have been happy to accommodate your requests however we could have if it had been brought to our attention at the time.

Kind Regards,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    199
    70
    12
    9
See reviews for
102
178
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is my second stay in the Argowan. It is certainly a modest hotel, but it is as centrally located as any. No lift but there is a golf club storage room on the ground floor.
Rooms are simple but quite comfortable. The Staff were universally friendly and accommodating. They really made one feel at home. The hotel restaurant Playfair's is quite nice and serves late. I'll use the Ardgowan again. It is about 100 yards from the 18th green of the Old Course.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room looking out over the coast rather than over the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler75968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello WorldTraveler75968,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review! We're happy to have been able to welcome you back to the Ardgowan and that your second stay with us was wonderful. We pride ourselves in giving excellent customer service, so we're very pleased to hear that you felt like you were at home during your stay. Should you be visiting St Andrews again in the future, we would be happy to welcome you back to the Ardgowan for the 3rd time!

Kind Regards,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I loved the location, the service and the food! Everything exceeded our expectations! The staff were delightful - absolutely no complaints. Clean and the way a hotel should be run. Thank you!

Room Tip: Higher floors have more sea gull noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello Ashley S,

Thank you for your 5* review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay while you were here, even your time in our restaurant, Playfair's. I have passed your comments along to the rest of our staff and they are happy to hear that you appreciated our hard work to make your stay perfect. Should you ever be back in St Andrews again, we would be happy to welcome you back to the Ardgowan!

Kind Regards,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

great location and sunk in patio was a great place to gather.Friendly and professional service from Rhea, Daren and all. Carmen at the front desk was always pleasant and helpful. All the Staff went out of their way to make u feel comfortable. If you want to be in the middle of the golf action but close to all the sights and shopping you cant do better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Ken D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We're happy to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay while you were with us, from our prime location to our friendly service to our excellent restaurant downstairs. Rhea, Darren, and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and that our entire staff was able to make you feel like you were at home. I'm sorry to hear that you thought your room was small. You stayed in one of our Junior Double rooms, which is smaller than our Standard or Deluxe rooms. We do offer several room types and sizes to accommodate most needs and budgets. If you are ever back in St Andrews to play golf again, we would be happy to welcome you back. Let us know if we can help you with any of your accommodations in the future!

Kind Regards,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a party in St Andrews and stayed one night in this lovely hotel. I had booked a junior twin room and we were up graded to a stander-ed twin. Nicely decorated lovely clean bathroom. The shower wouldn't work in the morning but a quick word with at reception and this was sorted by the time we had breakfast. Very limited breakfast for my friend as she was vegetarian if they had veggie sausages at the very least I would have given 5. Stayed in room 11.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Carol O,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review for us! We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently painted and redecorated many of our rooms, and we're happy to know that this has not gone unnoticed. Thank you for bringing the shower to our attention, and we're happy to have been able to sort it quickly for you while you were here. I'm sorry that you thought our breakfast choices were limited, as we do provide many dishes for our guests who are vegetarian, including porridge, yogurt, cereals, eggs, baked beans, tomatoes and mushrooms, and an assortment of breads. Should you be visiting St Andrews again in the future, we would be happy to greet you again at the Ardgowan Hotel!

Kind Regards,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascocita, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful days at this hotel and we were so impressed with everything. The staff was incredible and so helpful. They went the extra mile to help us in any way they could.. I would so recommend this hotel to everyone. Great location, very clean, good food and I felt like I was at home..

Room Tip: If climbing stairs is a problem, ask to be placed on the lower level of the hotel. No elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaDeb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello LaDeb27,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a stellar 5* review! We're so pleased that you were able to spend your "bucket list vacation" with us at the Ardgowan. We're the perfect choice for a St Andrews stay: good food, excellent staff, and a 5 minute walk from town centre and the famous Old Course! We love to treat our guests like family, so we're glad to know that you felt at home during your stay. Should you be travelling back to St Andrews in the future, we would be happy to welcome you back to the Ardgowan!

Kind Regards,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night whilst doing a wee golfing trip to St Andrews. Loved this place, clean, friendly, good value. The inclusive breakfast was simply the best - piping hot Scottish breakfast and lovely service. Heartedly recommended.

Room Tip: Request room away from main road as a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellysian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello ellysian,

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a review for us! We're glad to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, from our staff to our service. I have passed your comments along to the staff of Playfair's as well, and they are happy to know that you enjoyed your breakfast with us.

Should you be visiting St Andrews again, we would be happy to assist you with a booking and welcome you back to the Ardgowan!

Kind Regards,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,274 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
378 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgowan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgowan Hotel

Property: Ardgowan Hotel
Address: 2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#7 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardgowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardgowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing