We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest place on earth!”
Review of Ardgowan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardgowan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Room and facilities more than adequate, as was breakfast. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Will be back very soon. Thanks to all!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolitaireEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2010

The Ardgowan Hotel is a warm and friendly hotel right in the middle of St Andrews with a Bar and Restaurant with many interesting photos of golf history and historic periods of St Andrews ideal for golfers and non-golfers. For the golfer, the Ardgowan Hotel is only around the corner from the Old Course. For the non-golfer, it is conveniently located only a few minutes walk from the town centre and historical buildings. Our room was very comfortable, spacious and clean with a modern touch to the decor. Very friendly staff, hearty and delicious meals. Very reasonably priced .

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed in the Ardgowan (which actually seems to be also part of the Playfair Hotel) after singularly failing to be organised enough to book anything in advance so, all things considered, £90 for two for bed and breakfast wasn't too bad. The chap at check in was really helpful and friendly and the rooms were recently done out, being fresh and clean albeit compact. We liked the fact that we got nice biscuits in the room too (three little packets!) Breakfast was served in the bar (but, surprisingly - particularly at the weekend - only til 9am!) and while we were quite well packed it was probably the best we had in our two weeks' in Scotland (but not recommended if you are in a rush!)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leedswalker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed in room 38, (top floor) which was beautifully furnished, spacious and clean. The weather was fantasic therefore we didn't spend much time in room, though had the weather been different we would have been extremely comfortable there. We didn't dine in the hotel, but the menu looked great. The only drawback was breakfast which was served between 7 and 9.00 as we were on a holiday weekend it would have been nice to have had a lie in and breakfast just a little later.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindawatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I stayed here last week in July and found the hotel to be very friendly, accomodating and comfortable. Stayed in room 35, they classed this under "a small double room", booked this one due to the price, I found it to be of good size, a standard double bed, enough room to walk up one side with a chest of drawers on the other side, it had a desk, chair and LCD tv. Bathroom was of satisfactory size. Fantasic shower. It was as advertised and my partner and myself thought it was ideal for a couple nights stay. Only down side was the stairs, but it is an old house converted to a hotel so was surprised.
I would return to this hotel if I stayed again in St Andrews

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

No onsite parking, very small room, more or less in the attic and I understand that this is a converted Georgian Townhouse and that they didn't have the mind to put in an elevator but it is a long way up four flights of stairs with heavy bags.

Wouldn't recommend due to the price versus the size of the room, think a Paris hotel and you would be close.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank networker35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

A great recommendation by some golfing friends. The Ardgowan Hotel is not only perfectly placed for all the attractions of St Andrews but is a small professionally run privately owned establishment that offers great value.

Everywhere is spotlessly clean and well presented and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We have just stayed there (4 guys) on a 5 day golfing trip and it was perfect in every way but is equally ideally for mixed parties. The only small complaint is the size of the rooms as most seemed to be a little small but this was more than made up by the friendly staff, excellent breakfasts and a bar with plenty of ambience. I am sure that we will return to enjoy the many golf courses that abound in St Andrews.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeFSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#9 of 17 in St Andrews
1,374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
433 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgowan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgowan Hotel

Address: 2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#7 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £73 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardgowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardgowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing