We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Wonderful!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
St. Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Micki P
Gilroy, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Snug is centrally located to everything in St. Andrews! My husband got up at 2 AM to get in the queue to play the Old Course as a single and the 18th hole is literally less than a 5 minute walk as is the Town Centre with shops, grocery store, restaurants etc. (He got on and even played the next day on the New Course) I collected sea glass and visited historic St. Andrews University also within 5 minutes or just relaxed in the apartment sun window enjoying the views. After 10 hectic days in Ireland, The Snug was a dream with all the comforts of home especially with the bottle of wine, bread, butter, milk and shortbreads left by Elizabeth the property manager. When I couldn't figure out how to turn on the wall radiators she immediately responded via email. People whom we spoke with were disappointed with their overpriced hotels and envious of our wonderful accommodations. One word of warning-If stairs are difficult for you this place may not work as there are 2 flights of wrapping stairs to the apartment. Great exercise after a wonderful meal in town!!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, price, comfort
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
thanks for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C
Kingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable apartment in central location”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Flat located on 2nd floor of attractive building in crescent located just off the main centre of town. Very comfortable and clean and decorated and furnished to high spec as indicated by photos. We particularly liked the view from the comfy window seat over the gardens. Beds were very comfortable and the sofa bed was fine for our teenage daughter. We were able to park outside the flat and left the car there as it is so close to walk to the centre of town and all amenities. The flat overlooks the main road at the top of town which leads to the bus station so convenient if you arrive by bus, although you can also hear the traffic but it wasn't an issue for us. We would highly recommend staying at The Snug when in St. Andrews.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor, furniture and location
Liked least: 2 flights of stairs was an issue for my husband with dicky knees
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 May 2016
Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
522alasta...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

It started well when we found a parking space at the front door! The one slight drawback was a climb up two flights of stairs, but well worth it when we reached the apartment. A large living/sleeping room easily accommodated a sofa, chairs and enormous bed. Plenty of hanging space in a wardrobe and lots of drawer storage was available. There was a very well equipped kitchen, with bread, butter, milk, wine and biscuits waiting for us, and an equally well equipped shower and toilet room. The views were great, the flat was centrally heated and generally quiet apart from a little noise from the road to the side. It's really convenient for everything in St Andrews and a very short walk to the bus station, which made it possible to enjoy the gin and beer tasting at Eden Mill with no need to drive! If we come back to St Andrews we'd try to book here without hesitation.

Date of stay: November 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 May 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We hope you visit again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLuks2015
Vermont
1 review
“Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Snug was absolutely perfect in every way. Very close to everything, welcoming and comfortable...the name suits the property so well! We especially appreciated the flexibility of the owner in planning our stay, as well as the helpfulness of the key holder in arranging the check-in so our trip went smoothy. We hope to make many return trips. A wonderful little gem in St. Andrews for sure.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wonderful owner/helpful property manager.
Liked least: nothing...all great!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind words and are so glad you had a great stay.We hope to welcome you again to the snug
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philcox20...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Really good location in St Andrews giving easy access to the town. Good parking outside the accommodation.
The studio was well furnished and a good size for the two of us.
The welcome pack of wine, bread, butter and milk was much appreciated.
The second floor is probably an issue for anyone with limited mobility but I would recommend a stay at the Snug !!

Thanks to Mark & Fiona

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
We are glad you had a great stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review ,hope to welcome you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B
grafton Australia
1 review
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at this apartment for the British Open golf and it was perfect.The apartment had every thing you needed.The best thing about this apartment is the location. Very close to golf coarse and to the town centre.Great communication with the owners of the property.Highly recommend .

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Apartment was on the second floor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Im glad you enjoyed your stay,just a pity about the weather!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRobH
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location Location”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Great little apartment, plenty of room for two with every thing required for a short or longer break. The location is excellent for the St Andrews vacationer. Walk to the Old Course in less than a minute, and the town shops begin at the end of the road.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking outside difficult during the day, but there is a free carpark 2 mins away
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thanks for your kind words
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.