We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely gardens” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambo Estate Gardens

Cambo Estate Gardens
Ranked #16 of 54 things to do in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recommended by the Good Garden Guide 2001 2.5 acre Victorian walled garden designed around the Cambo burn supplying the house with fruit, flowers and vegetables. *Ornamental potager *Interest all year round *Many rare and unusual plants *Renowned for snowdrops Open all year round 10.00 am to dusk Entry by honesty box ?3.00 per adult Children free Dogs welcome on leads Coaches welcome
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Beautiful gardens and the day after our son's wedding we all relaxed in the grounds. Many of the guests had stayed here. Generous permission had been given to have an informal BBQ- a perfect setting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    47
    10
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Easily overlooked”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

It's true I didn't see this place in the bast of weathers but the wooded gorge provided shelter during some downpours. Look out for flying golf balls as you come to the beach though ... it's in the middle of a course. The gardens are interesting but in need of a bit more attention and cohesion. I had soup and a ham roll for lunch, which was o.k. but not remarkable and the barn like cafe could have been made to feel more cosy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NeilSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for a stroll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went for a walk along the beach and then strolled through the gardens of Cambo Estate. When we got through the other side, we were told it's normally a 5 pound entry fee, which was a bit silly, but I guess it was worth it. The cafe isn't set up like a "proper" cafe, but it is sweet and modest and has enough on offer. The vegetable soup was fantastic. Getting a tea/coffee and sitting outside in the sun is worth it. The estate is stunning. There are also a few animals around which is nice for young kids to see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank humanmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely place for walks and a family day out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had a lovely day at Cambo this week walking around the grounds. Beautiful well kept grounds, great flowers and gift shop and even free events. The two kids with our party also took part in a free stone carving workshop which was excellent. And the cafe is dog friendly. Lovely!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LinHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good walking.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Whether it's the walled garden or the woodland walk, a very peaceful and enjoyable time can be spent here. A path leads down to the shore and if birdwatching is your thing then eider ducks, redshanks, oyster catchers among others can be seen.
There is a lovely courtard tearoom for snacks and drinks but both the goods in the gift shop and the plants for sale are grossly overpriced.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mrspeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cambo Estate Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Cambo Estate Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing