We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shambles”
Review of Cromars

Cromars
Ranked #19 of 150 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is meant to be fast food, 20 mins for chips. This appeared to be the result of staff who couldn't work the till, cooked single portions at a time, ignored customers, couldn't remember orders, and kept taking orders making the delays worse. Never felt the need to complain about a chip shop in my life.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Home-frm-Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CromarsRestaurants, Manager at Cromars, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Oh dear! We were really quite shocked and distressed to read this review as we want all customers to always have a great experience at Cromars.
We cook all food fresh to order so we know that means it's not "fast" - but other customers say the quality is worth waiting for. We hope you did enjoy your chips when you got them?
Thank you for bringing your ordering problems to our attention. We're a new business that's finding it's feet. You'll be pleased to know that we have introduced a snazzy new order management system and the staff are now much more experienced.
We hope you find us much more efficient next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

715 - 719 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great addition to eating places in St Andrews. What a difference from what was there before. We ordered fish and chips and were delighted with what we got - lovely fresh fish and brilliant 'dry' chips. This will give other 'chippies' a run for their money.

Keep up the good work and see you again very son.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CromarsRestaurants, Manager at Cromars, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your "excellent" review. We're very pleased you were delighted with our food. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Went for fish and chip supper on Friday night and it was the best fish and chips I've ever had. The food is cooked to order so you have to wait a little while but it means that everything is really hot and fresh. They have a few of tables you can sit at if you aren't going home with your food.
A great addition to St Andrews and definitely well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PartTimer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CromarsRestaurants, Manager at Cromars, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your great review. We're delighted to hear that you had your best fish & chips at Cromars! We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We ordered a fish supper and a sausage supper, both of them were very tasty and excellent value for money, they were both cooked to order and the chips were great not the usual greasy over cooked excuses that a lot of chip shops pass as fresh

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alemac66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CromarsRestaurants, Manager at Cromars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your great review. We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your suppers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bubblesnow80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cromars also viewed

 

Been to Cromars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing