We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza”
Review of Cromars

Cromars
Ranked #15 of 142 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fife
Level Contributor
142 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Tried the pizza here. They were good but could be better, needed more toppings (sauce, cheese and other). The base was nice and thin and had a good crisp. Would definitely have again though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PartTimer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    158
    54
    47
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“not what i expected”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

wondering round St. Andrews with the kids last weekend and stumbled on this Chippy. I rarely have Fish and chips in Dundee as most places aren't great, but this chippy made the best fish supper i've had in years. Also a far cry from the typical sweets and Irn Bru to go with it. I had a very good cup of Tea and the wife had a great coffee. the kids demanded Ice creams which were "awesome". if only we had Cromars in Dundee i would be there every week. makes a trip through to St.Andrews more attractive than ever.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EZAZDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CromarsRestaurants, Manager at Cromars, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your super review. We're delighted that your experience at Cromars was so good and hope to see you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“only ok”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

First visit to Cromars, had fish supper, it was cooked fresh to order but can only say it was average, nothing special really. Might try pizza next time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maccahanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CromarsRestaurants, Manager at Cromars, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We're really pleased you're going to be coming back - and we hope you find our pizzas are great! However we're disappointed that you were not more impressed with your fish supper. We pride ourselves on exceptionally fresh tasty food, perfectly cooked - and feel we fell short of our high standards when you visited. Your comment has made us all the more determined to impress every customer every time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Crispy Fish & Chips”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I've been in 2 or 3 times now at around 8pm or a little later. It takes a little while sometimes as all are cooked to order at that time, but they are excellent. The chips are not soggy but crispy outside and hot & fluffy inside. Nice seating area at the side on these cold winter evenings.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarryM208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CromarsRestaurants, Manager at Cromars, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're delighted to hear that you found our food excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A shambles”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is meant to be fast food, 20 mins for chips. This appeared to be the result of staff who couldn't work the till, cooked single portions at a time, ignored customers, couldn't remember orders, and kept taking orders making the delays worse. Never felt the need to complain about a chip shop in my life.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Home-frm-Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CromarsRestaurants, Manager at Cromars, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Oh dear! We were really quite shocked and distressed to read this review as we want all customers to always have a great experience at Cromars.
We cook all food fresh to order so we know that means it's not "fast" - but other customers say the quality is worth waiting for. We hope you did enjoy your chips when you got them?
Thank you for bringing your ordering problems to our attention. We're a new business that's finding it's feet. You'll be pleased to know that we have introduced a snazzy new order management system and the staff are now much more experienced.
We hope you find us much more efficient next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cromars also viewed

 

Been to Cromars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing