We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unblievable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unblievable”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Walking into the hotel we knew straight away it was going to be amazing. From the outside the hotel is beautiful and has a fantastic view.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful as soon as we arrived and this carried on throughout our trip with breakfast and any of our enquiries.
The room we stayed in was magnificent! Always thought taking a picture for granted from hotel websites was a bad idea but this room was picture perfect! We only stayed here two nights but the maids cleaned our sheets and replaced our towels both mornings.
We also used the facilities of the gym, spa, swimming pool, sauna and steamroom. All of which were top spec.
Overall the trip was amazing and visiting St. Andrews wouldnt have been the same without staying at the Fairmont Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KW21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Thank-you for choosing to stay with us at Fairmont St. Andrews. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to take advantage of all that we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the soon.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,722
    822
    386
    146
    79
See reviews for
703
1,554
39
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I was staying at this hotel for a meeting and it was great. The meetings ran smooth and the staff looked after everyone attending the meeting. I found all staff in the hotel very professional and they couldn't do enough for me. After the meetings I took in some golf on the Kittocks and Torrance and those are great courses. My favorite is the Kittocks with some great views by the sea. I have another meeting coming up in the fall and can't wait to come back. This time I will bring my wife so she can enjoy the spa it looked amazing and some of my colleauges had massages and really enjoyed them. My favorite place was the clubhouse where I had dinner. The absolute best food and views anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed here with friends on a Sunday B & B deal. Absolutely perfect, lovely room. Spotlessly clean. Didnt have much of a view though as it was mega foggy.
Had drinks in the lounge, quite expensive.
Breakfast was superb. So much to choose from.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalefan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank-you for your feedback. We do have stunning views and it was disappointing to hear the fog was quite thick on your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards.

Garrett Turta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2011

After coming back from St. Andrews we stayed at the Fairmont and we have been told that this was a great hotel. Words cannot desrcibe this place. From the moment we arrvied Davie greeted and remembered us everytime. From there it only got better. The rooms were beautiful and we really enjoyed it. The bathrooms are amazing and my wife really enjoyed relaxing in the bath. Ate in Esperante and my mouth is still watering and I cannot wait to go back and have another meal there. The spa was great and they really took care of us. Every staff member we interacted with only wanted to help us more and more. The training system used in this hotel should be used everywhere as the service is to die for. Finally the breakfast in the morning has an amazing variety and you can tell as it is very busy. We have a new favourite hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrenny84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2011

All I can say is WOW, we needed a break away and this was the perfect place. We took full advantage of everything the hotel has to offer. We dined in the Squire and Esperante and really enjoyed our meals. The service was fabulous and we felt like we were treated like royalty. My wife went to the spa and enjoyed her experience. She felt the overall treatment was amazing and that it was the best mani / pedi that she ever had. I was able to play a round on the Torrance and this is a great golf course. The rooms are very comfortable and I can honestly say this was the best nights sleep I have ever had. We will be back and thank you fairmount for the great relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpeterEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank-you for choosing to stay with us at Fairmont St. Andrews. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to your return visit.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Recently stayed here with my husband and we loved it! A upgrade to a king superior suite welcomed us as we checked in! The staff were lovely and happy to help with anything! We took the complimentary bus into town and got taxis back as there is alot more to do and see in the town! Taxi was only £7! Great pubs and restaurants to visit! All in all a great experience and would definately go back!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

There is nothing really bad you can say about this hotel but I struggled to put my finger on what was lacking! Then it struck me. Although all the staff were very friendly and efficient (bar the problem I had checking in when I turned invisible and other people got checked in front of me despite being at the front of the queue) , the rooms clean and upmarket and the food being excellent the place lacked heart and soul. It all felt too corporate and lacked charm and the little individual touches that would left you feeling like as valued customer. Don't know how you solve that one! We also felt that the charge for high speed internet access was a bit of a cheek given the cost of the accommodation and should be offered free for the first ten minutes per day at least! Overall a little disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebriggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,127 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,273 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
9.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
210 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Property: Fairmont St Andrews
Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing