We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent luxury family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent luxury family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Beautifully located and very well maintained luxury hotel. We have two children aged 10 and 7 and had a large well equipped room with two double beds and luxury bathroom with a shower and bath. Dinner was excellent, food well presented and sensibly priced wholesome children's meals (tomato soup followed by a roast beef dinner). Very friendly and helpful staff. The only negatives - breakfast although a wide selection, the cut grapefruit and oranges tasted like it had been cut the night before and the scrambled egg was not nice. Also the orange juice at breakfast tasted like a cheap concentrate from a machine. The pool looks beautiful but was too cold. Overall Good value from this level of hotel, we will stay again. Thank you

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank essexmark2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,611
    787
    370
    135
    74
See reviews for
656
1,474
34
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Good service standards, large rooms, well specc'd. Stunning views. The scale is impressive, but can also feel a bit soul-less at times. Golf is fantastic but also very expensive.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. All feedback that we receive both positive and constructive are key in our development of our hotel and brand. We have recently started to have live piano music playing in the atrium in the evenings enhance our atmosphere. We do hope to welcome you back to Fairmont St. Andrews in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We enjoy every single aspect of the hotel... for sure we pay for that, but it worth every penny.

the food, the service, the rooms... even the house dog are terrific.

If you want to enjoy the dog, make sure you schedule dates with her, you will enjoy walking with her all around the property

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed here last week with a few golfing friends. Hotel is wonderful and fully deserves it's 5 star rating. The restaurants are good and pretty reasonable and the bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable. The staff from the valet to the concierge were extremely helpful and helped to book restaurants and taxis's into the town, which is only 2/3 miles away and less than a tenner in a cab. Would not hesitate to re-book.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhipeoutCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

every time we stay at this hotel we like it more,even smudge the labrador, the whole area of st. andrews and surrounding areas (some by car) is just fabulous for things to do and see, and coming back to this hotel is so relaxing for a five star one. good food, family bar, good pool for the kids and welcoming staff. thoroughly recommend with no complaints from the many times we have visited.be sure to pre-book any treatments for the spa as you would at any hotel

Room Tip: check the many various websites for good rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Fairmont St. Andrews and for taking the time to share your feedback. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will ensure your comments are shared with my team as well as treats for “Smudge”. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St. Andrews in the very near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

They have a stunning view of the St. Andrews bay and the staff can not be nicer. When we were there in early June, a couple of restaurants weren't open, kinda limited our dinning choices in the hotel. Great surroundings with 2 golf courses on premises. Love that ambassador "Sledge"-the golden lab retriever!

Room Tip: You paid a little extra for the bay and golf course view, but it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Having stayed at numerous Fairmont's throughout the world, I found it to be up to the same standards. However, they did have Haggis everyday on the breakfast buffet. I would recommend trying it. It sounds worse than it is. I visited St. Andrews on a gold trip to the Old Course. This hotel is situated about 10 minutes up the road. It has a couple of courses right on the property, but if you have come all the way to Scotland, you are obviously there to play the Old Course. The other choice we were considering was the Old Course Hotel which was recently taken over by Kohler (the faucet people) which is right on the course. The fairmont is newer and the drive wasn't a problem because we had a rental car so it was the right choice. I prefer newer cleaner hotels, and the Fairmont is just that. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would choose this hotel if ever going back. The only negatives about the hotel is that the internet is ridiculously expensive and the TV doesn't have many channels to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PROTRAVELER_TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
9.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Property: Fairmont St Andrews
Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing