We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont St Andrews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Top quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Me and my wife spent a night here in February 2013 through a deal purchased from www.itison.com

The deal consisted of an overnight stay at the Fairmont St Andrews in a deluxe sea view room with a full Scottish breakfast plus an a la carte meal for two in the hotel's Squire restaurant with a large glass of wine each. We paid £135 for this deal which we thought was very good value as the regular price for our package would have been £271.

Also included in the deal was use of the pool, sauna, steam room etc at the hotel's spa which was a really nice place.

The hotel itself is set in beautiful surroundings overlooking the sea and has huge grounds in order to accommodate the hotel's golf courses.

We received a very friendly welcome at the hotel from the staff and from Monty, the hotel dog!

Our room was exactly as described with a great sea view and it had pretty much everything that you could want/need in a hotel room.

The bathroom in particular was very nicely decorated with a shower big enough for two to enjoy comfortably.

We also had a flat-screen televison with a good choice of channels including sky sports, a safe, a fully stocked mini bar (not included in the price), tea/coffe making facilities, an ironing board & iron, air conditioning and a very comfortable queen sized bed.

My wife was disappointed that there was no hair straighteners in the room as she had forgotten to pack hers and every other five star hotel we have stayed at had had these provided in the room.

Our only one real gripe about our whole stay, which has been mentioned by previous reviewers, was the fact that this hotel still charges for WiFi access unless you are a member of their Fairmont President's Club. Membership is complimentary but involves completing a rather large and daunting form on the hotel's website which I just wasn't interested in doing for a one-off stay.

Having stayed at many four and five star hotels around the world I can honestly say that it is simply expected by paying guests these days to have free WiFi access in the hotel on demand with no fuss.

I was not going to pay out £9.95 for 24 hours access and I would be very surprised at anyone being happy to do so these days. Ten years ago maybe not not in 2013.

Additionally the 3G Network coverage in the hotel and it's grounds is non-existent and this is another area I would hope that the hotel will address sooner rather than later if it insists on sticking to it's outdated policy of charging for WiFi access.

Anyway, enough moaning about the WiFi access, we were here to enjoy our stay and that's exactly what we did!

We enjoyed a nice, relaxing visit to the spa then before dinner we enjoyed a malt whisky in the Kittocks Bar in the hotel. The hotel bar prices are perhaps a little on the high side, but this is probably only to be expected in a top end establishment such as this.

Our evening meal at the Squire restaurant was a particular highlight of our stay at the hotel especially for my vegetarian wife who really enjoyed her tofu starter which was apparently the tastiest tofu she has ever had. Upon commenting on this to our waitress, Lenny her name was I believe (she provided very attentive service throughout our meal), who spoke to the chef who provided us with a printout of the recipe for the dish. Top quality service indeed.

I enjoyed a ham terrine starter and a delicious chicken and Stornaway black pudding main course while my wife enjoyed her cauliflower fregola main course.

Our breakfast the next morning was served in the same restaurant and again was delicious. The hotel provides a great buffet breakfast selection with pretty much everything you could want including eggs cooked to order by the hotel chefs.

Another great mention of service here for one of the chefs. I enquired as to whether there was any vegetarian sausages available for my wife as there were not out on display and he went and checked for us in the kitchen. Unfortunately there were none but he said he would have them there for us the next day for breakfast and that it was a very good suggestion.

Sadly we were only staying for one night but we thought that this offer of sourcing the sausages for my wife was great and another display of the generally great quality service from the staff at the hotel.

We would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break in a real top quality Scottish hotel.

P.S. We enjoyed lunch the first day at The Glasshouse restaurant in St Andrews - also recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billymoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,588
    773
    366
    134
    74
See reviews for
641
1,454
34
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

I agree with all the reviews. Very nice staff but a soulless hotel in a fabulous position with great views, if you spend the extra for them. The main dining area is like an airport lounge, the food at breakfast is great with loads of choice. However, instead of making adequate arrangements and paying for additional staff, the hotel expects you to queue up for breakfast. Unbelievably, three cold drinks stands are provided for people in the queue (honestly) - 5 star? What planet are they on??

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BettySwallocks69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share the comments of your most recent stay.

It was disheartening to hear the comments regarding the atmosphere in the hotel. We continue to work on and enhance our ambiance and have received favourable feedback. With regards to our breakfast offering we do advise guests of the busy periods and we do provide refreshments should guests have a short wait for period. Our goal is to ensure guest satisfaction and we are known for a very high level of service and attention to detail and we will continue to work on this foundation.

We do hope to welcome you back to Fairmont St. Andrews in the near future so we can restore your faith in us.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

My first impression of the hotel was very good as we were greeted enthusiastically by the doorman. The reception staff were helpful too. I enjoyed my spa treatment - my friend and I thought the therapists were very well trained and the atmosphere was luxurious and relaxing. Our rooms were "superior with sea views" and they were lovely too. Our evening meal was in The Squires restaurant which I can only say is comparable to an airport hanger. It has no atmosphere whatsoever, I cannot understand why the management have not tried to improve this setting. Our meal was very average (in fact our first course of scallops was awful) and the service was lacking and unenthusiastic. In the morning at breakfast, I waited for ages before someone came around with coffee. I would never say that this aspect of the hotel was 5 star - 3 star probably. If I had just travelled half-way across the world to Scotland and was expecting a 5 star treat - then I would be very unhappy indeed. The hotel just lacked some sort of ambiance, If anyone is considering visiting the hotel then perhaps don't choose to eat your evening meal in The Squires - upgrade to the a la carte restaurant in the hotel or visit one of the local St. Andrew's restaurants. I can see that they have tried to address this by the addition of the hotel dog "Monty" who is very sweet. All in all I would say a wee bit disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bridierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your most recent visit.

It was disappointing that you did not enjoy your dining while you were with us. We have made some further changes and enhancements to Squire restaurant and we continue to do so with our overall operation as all feedback is valuable.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St. Andrews in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

On a recent visit to the hotel,maybe we were expecting too much for our money.Staff was friendly,rooms were nice&clean.But for the price we paid for our dinners £49+ per person,we werent stuffed after,Also gym was nice&cosy,but treatments overpriced

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irish00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights ,It was everything we wanted .Staff were very friendly and helpful the room was spacious and well equiped.
The pool ,sauna, steam room, were good too.
Only fault was that the wi fi was not free, in this day and age i think this should be standard in 5 star hotels.
We could not get a good mobile phone signal from the hotel so wifi would have been nice.
Otherwise we had a lovely stay

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gusm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your most recent visit.

It was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are revising our Wi-Fi charges slightly and we do encourage guests to sign up to be a Fairmont President’s Club member and this offers complimentary Wi-Fi as well as added benefits. In addition, we are working to expand our 3G coverage with more networks.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

The Fairmont is a couple of miles outside St Andrews and is very much a golf resort hotel, it appears new so not a great deal of character and you take breakfast in an atrium that feels like a shopping mall food court. The staff are friendly and the rooms very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laup B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Spent a night here last week.
Everything I expected and more.All staff very friendly and could not do enough for me.
Rooms very nice although the view from my window was looking at the atrium, not really special.
Beds excellent,best sleep I have had in weeks.
Food excellent.Drink expensive but expected it to be anyway.
Special word for the concierge,a real character,more like one of your friends.

Room Tip: Try and get a front or Side room as you will most probably get a great view from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falkirk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
9.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Property: Fairmont St Andrews
Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing