We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very consistent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very consistent hotel”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Myself and my husband have been to The Fairmont many times now and are never disappointed. It is such a relaxing and very modern hotel with fabulous views over St Andrews Bay. The rooms are always spotlessly clean and most have the added luxury of huge bathrooms. Lovely spa area. We have dined in the Squires Restaurant, the Clubhouse and Esperante, which is worth a treat on special occasions.The only minor negative point I have found is that the Breakfast in the Squires restaurant could be better organised and the food could be warmer. However this will not stop us going back again.

Room Tip: For that special occasion splash out on an Executive Suite you will not want to leave it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,637
    794
    373
    136
    74
See reviews for
671
1,490
34
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great hotel with 2 fantastic golf courses. The Torrance course very hard with narrow fairways. Do not get in the rough! If you do and find your ball play side ways. The bar has great service but drink prices on the high side. Great assortment of malts and some good beers. All the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking the golf courses good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our courses along with our malts and local beers and found our staff to be so friendly!

Look forward to welcoming you back in the not to far future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great Hotel , fantastic location just outside St Andrews.Staff very friendly and efficient. Food and drinks reasonably priced and breakfast excellent.Very dog friendly , I would definitely recommend for a family break. Spa and leisure facilities really good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capitalkid186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Don't get me wrong, still a lovely place, but it needs an upgrade. We were also disappointed at check in, we arrived at 4pm and didn't get into our room until nearer 5pm. The pool was then closed off due to an "incident" ....nothing too sinister, a child who couldn't quite make it to the toilet. It's never cheap, we were £450 for 2 nights b&q with 2 young kids, but it needs a spark to reignite the magic it once had for us and can definitely get back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, however was sorry that your room was not ready for you upon arrival that you were unable to use the pool for a certain period of time. As I’m sure you can appreciate when such incidents happen, we do have to take the necessary actions to ensure the pool is back to its usual cleanliness to allow our guest to relax an and enjoy.

I have certainly fed back your additional comments to the relevant teams and hope to be able to welcome you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have just returned last week from an excellent and relaxing stay at the Fairmont. I went with my parents and we stayed two nights. We both had sea view rooms which looked out over the golf course as well.

Our rooms were faultless as they were spotlessly clean, very comfortable, there was plenty of space, a well stocked mini bar, and a beautiful big bathroom with a separate bath and shower.The rooms were decorated lovely with plenty comfortable seating and overall very nice.

The hotel it's self has excellent facilities, the spa and pool area was also faultless and a perfect place to go before dinner after a long day out and about. The communal areas of the hotel were also clean very well kept. The hotel also has a wide range of places to go to sit and have coffee or read.

The food was also faultless, there was a wide selection of choice on the menu for dinner and the breakfast was very good. If I had to complain about anything it would be that there was not enough time between the courses and that everything happened a bit quick.

However the staff across the whole hotel could not have been friendlier, helpful and more attentive. It felt as if they were genuinely interested and wanted to help. Without a doubt they are the hotels best asset and each one is a credit to the Fairmont. On that basis I would say this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at and would definitely return as it was very good value for money and we had a very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: We had a second floor room over looking the sea and golf course which was very nice and I would reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your generous review on following your recent visit to Fairmont St Andrews. I shall certainly pass your kind words onto the team.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a short stay at the Fairmont. We had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend a visit to St Andrew's. The room was very clean and very tastefully decorated. The facilities are of a very high standard. The staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. We will definitely make a return visit to this wonderful resort.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PORT20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Went with my wife, and daughters (4 and 8) and cocker spaniel and everyone had a great time. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and were particularly welcoming for the dog which is nice as otherwise you could feel a bit awkward about having a dog in such a nice hotel.

Room was a great size and fitted us all easily (including the dog cage). Breakfasts were as you would expect. We ate dinner in the main restaurant on one night with other relations that joined us and this was fantastic, with the kids fed early from the buffet allowing them to go and play in the games area with other kids and leaving us to enjoy an excellent meal.

Good facilities for the kids - games room, cinema, swimming pool and lots of other kids to run about with.

Also golfed on the Kittock's course which is incredibly scenic, particularly with the fortunate weather we had.

All in, absolutely no complaints (apart from the lack of free wifi which is pretty odd ...) and intend to return next year at the same time.

Room Tip: All rooms (apart from suites) are the same size so the only options worth having are rooms with view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your review following your visit to Fairmont St Andrews and for your generous words with regards to our staff. I shall look forward to passing this on to them

I am delighted that you all had such a wonderful time with us and that you found that there was something for everyone to enjoy, including your cocker spaniel!

I thought that you may be interested to know that should you wish, prior to travelling to another Fairmont hotel or indeed returning to us next year, you can sign up to the Fairmont Presidents Club via our website that entitles you to various complimentary benefits, including complimentary internet usage.

Look forward to welcoming you all back to Fairmont St Andrews in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
9.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Property: Fairmont St Andrews
Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing