We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendly staff did not make up for the lack of ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The friendly staff did not make up for the lack of ambience”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We booked a DBB deal which we thought was at a good price for a five-star hotel, but we were disappointed to find there were a few things which we felt did not match the five-star rating.

The hotel is large and we found the modern design and corporate feel unattractive. The friendly staff did not make up for the lack of ambience caused by the design and layout of the building.

Although we found staff friendly and attentive, for the most part, sometimes the service lacked attention to detail and service levels dropped below the required standard.

Our room was disappointing, with scratched furniture, stains on the carpet, and a very narrow gap between the bed and wall, which restricted access to the wardrobe. The room safe was up on a high shelf in the wardrobe which made access very difficult, particularly for anyone less than 6 feet tall.

Breakfast consisted of the usual hot dishes, but there was limited choice of cold dishes. The breakfast is served in the main dining room, 'Squires' and we overheard several table complaining of delays in staff service of tea/coffee/toast. We also encountered this problem.

In the evenings we dined in 'Squires' which had fewer customers than at breakfast and the service was better. We found the set menu included in our deal to have good choices, good value, cooking and presentation. The wine choices were good quality and reasonable value.

We also tried the two AA rosette gourmet restaurant 'Esperante' on one evening. Our package entitled us to a credit against the higher cost meals here. We enjoyed the different choices and food on offer here, and thought it a good experience overall, and worthwhile if you are prepared to pay the supplement.

We knew the hotel was some distance outside St Andrews, so the shuttle bus service was necessary and most welcome.

Overall, we enjoyed our visit to St Andrews which is a very attractive historical university town in a lovely part of Scotland.

If you want a large five-star with all the facilities, this could be for you, but try to get a good price deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinglight66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. Your feedback is very important to us and I was sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our staff to be so friendly. I shall look forward to sharing this with them.

I was however disappointed to learn that you felt that general ambiance of the hotel was not what you were expecting, and that the quality of our guest rooms need to be reviewed. I shall certainly forward your comments on to the relevant person for them to act accordingly.

Likewise, I was sorry to hear your comments with regards to our restaurants, especially at breakfast; I ensure that this is picked up by the relevant teams to ensure that we deliver the level of service that we aspire to at all times.

We look forward to hopefully having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,743
    831
    389
    152
    81
See reviews for
715
1,572
39
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just returned from a great couple of days away, this time with my sister. Room was excellent with a massive bed each and what I also love about this hotel is the big walk in shower. All toiletries, hairdryer & dressing gowns are supplied, so no need to worry about packing those.

Only disappointment for us was the fact that the kitchen of the main restaurant was under refurbishment, so that limited our choice for dinner, as we didn't really want fine dining, nor did we want to go out & down to the Clubhouse. We ended up getting something to eat in the bar, which although good, took over half an hour to be delivered.

Breakfast was amazing and everything you could think of was on offer. Even haggis, which I always think is a great thing to offer when it's a Scottish Hotel. Gives visitors a chance to try our national dish! Service was also excellent, so I can only think that the hotel must have been much busier when others posted negative reviews.

One last thing for those doggie friendly people who've been to the hotel before......where was the dog I asked? He's moved to Canada, so guess he's taken up residence at the reception area of another Fairmont :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiggsGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Had a nice overnight stay at the Fairmont St Andrews. We had stayed here when it was first built and it was as good as we remembered. We had dinner in the Club House as the main restaurant is currently being renovated and had a great meal. The set-up for breakfast was not the best - they could have done with more tables and whilst they did offer juice and pastries while you waited for a table it wasn't ideal. One thing I would mention is that they don't appear to have hairdryers in their rooms or perhaps it was just missing in our one! We made use of the shuttle to St Andrews and had a nice walk about the town. Enjoyed a few cocktails - would recommend Green Park (without the froth!) - very nice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airyhillock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have stayed in a number of Fairmont Hotels in the USA and Canada and every one has been excellent ,whether a modern building, or an iconic ex-CPR hotel.
Based on this experience we decided to spend a celebration weekend in their St Andrews hotel. Unfortunately it does not compare with the North American hotels and we were extremely disappointed, definately not 5 star.

The hotel is situated about 3.5 miles from St Andrews town centre and is surrounded by golf courses. It is a large building and internally the proportions are definately 'American'. We had booked a deluxe seaview room and it was a large room very well appointed and furnished. The bathroom was 'huge' by hotel standards and as well as a large bath, unusually had a large 'free standing' shower cubicle. Excellent room and up to their 5 star rating.
On first night we had booked a recommended restaurant in the town so our first meal was breakfast. Breakfast is served in the main restaurant in the Atrium. This is a huge 'space', which the hotel is built around, containing the restaurant and a lounge area. The ceiling of the Atrium is the hotel roof above the 3rd floor, it is of 'aircraft hanger proportions' and consequently lacks atmosphere.

Breakfast was a big disappointment on both mornings. The choice is excellent but the buffet cooked food was lukewarm as was the coffee a toast on the first morning. If you are going down the 'buffet breakfast' option you have to ensure the food is hot and constantly replenished to avoid 'becoming dry'. This the restaurant failed to do on both occasions, other large hotels we have visited seem to manage, so I don't understand the problem. To be fair you can avoid the 'hot' buffet and get omelettes, fried and poached eggs cooked on demand which were excellent. I have noticed some previous reviews have highlighted this lukewarm breakfast problem so I would have thought the hotel management would be taking some action.

It was our intention to have dinner on our second evening but after experiencing breakfast we decided to dine in St Andrews again which has a huge choice of restaurants.
We will stay with Fairmont again in North America but not with their St Andrews hotel. .

Room Tip: Sea view rooms give a view of the sea over the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Trip Advisor page following your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and I was sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations.

To allow us to look into your experience further, I would be grateful if you would contact us at the following address standrews.scotland@fairmont.com to ensure we are able to respond appropriately to the issues you have raised on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Fantastic location with wonderful views of the coastline. Sumptuous rooms and excellent service, and even though there were service delays at dinner we were amply compensated by the wine being taken off the bill. Wonderful weekend stay, would highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DJKebab7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I don't play golf but if you do you will love this place. It is first class all the way. The in-hotel restaurant was wonderful as well. The views of the water, the greens of the golf course, and the overall ambiance can't be beat. Breakfast was also first class. A good place to stay and visit St. Andrews.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank arie1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and that enjoyed our spectacular surroundings!

Likewise it is great to learn that you enjoyed our cuisine both for dinner and breakfast and that you would recommend Fairmont St Andrews as a place to stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Always stay at Fairmont when visiting St Andrews. Friendly welcome and staff always willing to help. Free transport too and fro the town. If you get the chance visit for the Christmas market - if your wallet will cope!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,286 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
494 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
217 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
395 reviews
3.0 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Property: Fairmont St Andrews
Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing