We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful one night stay here! Wish we could've stayed longer. Rooms are very nice and clean, spa and pool are nice. Our room had a great view of the sea and golf course, bonus. We were both very excited to eat in a 5 star restaurant (the squire) and was disappointed with the food. It wasn't bad but it wasn't good either, not really a 5 star standard. Our waiter was very nice, his name was Brendan, very polite and attentive. We had dinner bed and breakfast which I was shocked when I looked at the bill and we were charged £16.50 to eat in the restaurant, was definitely not worth that!! Overall though had a very pleasant stay and will return!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lippster92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,395 - 2,401 of 3,488 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Service was excellent wherever you were in the hotel. Food was excellent, probably the best breakfast I have had. Waiter in the clubhouse (you would get a nice view in the daylight) got our order wrong twice but nobody is perfect. Beds were not good! Normal double bed and my wife thought she was going to fall out of it throughout the night.

Views? We saw the views of the sea and golf course when we drove in on arrival and drove out the next day. From our bedroom we allegedly (the concierge told us) had a view of the golf course but you would have strained your neck right up at the window to see it! The two bars in the hotel had no view. The swimming pool has great big windows but again no view. The restaurant for breakfast (you can also have dinner) also has no view.... Don't know how the architect got away with such a design. What a waste of beautiful scenery!

Would not return as there are other 5 star hotels in the area to try.

Room Tip: A Sea view room is the only way to get a view. Have dinner in the clubhouse but not when it's d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We visited the hotel on a business trip. The hotel its self is lovely with, great service, fantastic views. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxed getaway. The grounds and views are amazing, and its only 3-4 minutes away from the town centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A return visit to the Bay Hotel, as before expecting something a bit special. Certainly the staff were friendly and the room outstanding (deluxe sea view), but a few things let it down. The service at breakfast was somewhat chaotic and, surprisingly for a hotel which likely encourages business travellers, wi-fi is not free. Most disappointing was that the complimentary shuttle bus service now stops early evening, which meant we had to get taxis in and out of St Andrews for dinner, adding over £20 to the bill. This had been one of the services the Bay had over other out of town hotels, but without it I think I'd rather stay at Rufflets.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snake11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this amazing retreat for a business and pleasure trip. It was a truly spectacular place set on the coastline. Let me break it down:

ROOMS - the rooms are very well presented with both a traditional and modern feel about them. Great bathrooms and overall superb rooms.

STAFF - Cant do enough for you, they are very helpfull and pleasant.

DINING OPTIONS - They have pleanty of varied option from fine dining to pub lunch, it's not the cheapest place to dining but the food is very nice.

HOTEL - A big and bold hotel with all the scottish charm you could hope for, the price we payed to stay there was not as bad as you'd pay for this type of hotel in england or wales and truly was a 5 STAR EXPERIENCE. The hotel had a very nice gym in it aswell which for me as personal trainer was essential and is about a 15 minite drive from the beautifull town of St Andrews.

the only gripe we had is we kept having a issue with our door not locking so we were on edghe sometimes because it kept playing up but the staff were very helpfull in dealing with it.

All in will we come back? YES WE WILL AS SOON AS WE CAN.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24sportstv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Arrival & Check-In

Friendly welcoming concierge awaits your arrival to assist with your baggage up to your room. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Choice of rooms made available to us and we asked for a recommendation – we were given a ground floor room on the basis that these had floor-to-ceiling windows….Not quite floor-to-ceiling nor that wide and only overlooking the car park, no spectacular view either! Given that there were sea view rooms, possibly available, we feel a little aggrieved by the recommendation….


Room

Large welcoming room with ample room inside comprising a king size bed, desk and chair. The bathroom was well sized, heated floors and towel rails and a real bonus, both a bath and separate shower. Inside the room was a small fridge with mini bar and a tea/coffee making facility.

The biggest negative within the room was the standard and quality of the bed – 2 singles pushed together forming the king size bed and then dressed as one – the mattresses were completely worn out….once the duvet was pulled back it looked there were two people lying the bed the indentations were so bad and the sides of the mattresses bulged as well. On comment to reception staff we were told that this was “known about and was an issue throughout the hotel” and being addressed….not good for a 5 star hotel!


Dinner

Dinner was taken in the Squire restaurant. We had booked a later time but asked to change the time to early as we had arrived early. This proved to be a hassle to the staff we spoke to and what was even more perplexing was the fact that the restaurant only had 1 couple inside. We were eventually given a table after a short delay but still none the wiser as to what could have been the issue.

The menu selection was fairly simple with an acceptable selection though not very inspired. The more upmarket restaurant, Esperante, was not open during our visit. Squire restaurant was roomy and spacious though most of the diners were all seated relatively close together and sometimes you could feel a draft on your legs….

Starters were served very quickly, probably due to being the only ones in the place and quickly followed by main course. Dessert selection did not reflect time of year with a lot of summer type desserts available.


Breakfast

Breakfast was served in the Squire – breakfast is served buffet style with a chef available to cook omelettes. There is a fantastic selection of cereals, fruit, continental, and hot and cold selections available. As with all buffets, the food whilst warm was not exciting piping hot and some of the food was not at its optimum – the bacon was either overcooked or not cooked enough, tatty scones were tough and slightly cold. The pork sausages were the best of the selection 


Other

A swimming pool, small gym, sauna and steam room are available for guests to use with opening times from 06:00 to 21:00hrs. We did not use any of these facilities so unable to comment.


Negatives

Bed was shockingly worn out
No free wifi
Prices for mini bar not present
No complimentary water
Windows in need of a clean – full of salt
3G/2G coverage very limited to non-existent in rooms

Positives

Breakfast selection was good – toast served in serviettes keeping it warm
Staff in Squire were pleasant and attentive

Improvements

Complimentary water in rooms
Free wifi
Seasonal vegetables available with main course
More imaginative menu selection with seasonally available ingredients

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room if available and if you like a firm mattress this is definitely worth asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valued_Guest12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont for the second time this year for the Courier Awards. Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were excellent - very spacious and spotlessly clean. Lovely fluffy robes in the bathrooms and nice toiletries. Great shower. Food was excellent and the meal was served with military precision. Well done!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StickyToffeeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us at Fairmont St Andrews whilst attending The Courier Awards, and that you found our staff to be so helpful and welcoming allowing you to have such a relaxing and enjoyable time at the event!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,340 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
554 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
420 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St Andrews
697 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £134 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting, Fairmont St Andrews has something for everyone. From lavish rooms to a luxurious spa, championship golf to exquisite dining, our five star attention to detail is unsurpassed. Enjoy the views overlooking the medieval St Andrews and the North Sea. Play golf on The Torrance and The Kittocks or wind down in our Fairmont Spa with locally themed treatments using the finest Ishga Skin Care products. Indulge in delicate pastries and cakes in our Savoy Afternoon Tea experience served in the Atrium Lounge with a rich colour scheme and nautical elements that reflect the surrounding landscape including a lighting installation by renowned artist George Singer. We guarantee your stay will become a treasured memory! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing