We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous hotel, lovely setting, a couple of things I would change”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“gorgeous hotel, lovely setting, a couple of things I would change”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

What a gorgeous hotel, in a lovely setting overlooking to town of St Andrews which is only ten minutes away from town in a complimentary shuttle bus (running hourly for the morning and afternoon - would have been nice to have it in the evening too right enough) or under £10 in a taxi. Lobby/atrium is lovely. Visiting when we did the huge Christmas tree was lovely to see. Staff very friendly and rooms (standard double) were spacious, well decorated and cosy. As a pervious reviewer had mentioned they do still charge for the Wifi which is just not expected these days.
The TV had terrible sound, but we were there to watch TV anyway. We went out to the bar in the evening thinking that we would spend the evening there, however, it was rather quiet to start with and the cocktail menu (although nice and exotic) didn't do any of the old favourites, so we decided to head into town for a few. Popped back to the bar again later that night and it was more lively. Not a real hot spot for night life though.

We didn't eat in any of the restaurants, but the all look lovely and I would very much like to try Esperante at some point in the future.

A comfortable sleep (brilliant blackout curtains...had no idea it was as late as it was when I woke up!) and a lovely bath and shower. Breakfast was lovely too, though more choices of bread would be nice (just my preference).

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylvieF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Fairmont St Andrews and for your kind words across all of our departments!

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time and I look forward to sharing you generous words with the team; I believe that it is down to their commitment and professionalism that allows our guests to receive such a warm and friendly welcome whilst staying with us.

Should you wish, you can enrol as a Fairmont President Club Member via our website. This is free and entitles you to various complimentary benefits throughout Fairmont, of which you can enjoy complimentary internet usage.

Should a guest wish to enjoy a cocktail that is not on the cocktail menu, we will always do our upmost to meet our guests request where possible. I shall certainly pass your additional comments on with regards to the ambience of Kittock Den on to the relevant colleagues.
Wishing you a Merry Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,669
    800
    381
    141
    76
See reviews for
679
1,516
35
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here for a nice 'retreat' before the full on Christmas rush! A huge hotel that was fully booked, hiwever, you wouldn't have known it was full! Xmas party night so majority of guests appeared to be attending this!
From arrival, Concierge/Valet Parking - optional, quick, efficient & professional check in, I had booked a 'double/double room and requested to upgrade to a Junior Suite for a King size bed, however, as the hotel was fully booked, this was not possible.
Room was large, 2 double beds, Nespresso Coffee machine, mini bar overlooked the Golf Course. Bathroom was extremely large, big corner bath, walk in shower, nice toiletries/robes etc.
Shuttle bus service into the town every hour, last transport 6pm from the hotel but 5.15pm is last pick up in town!
Approx £10 for a Taxi from town, if you wish to stay longer in town.
Bars in the hotel were quiet, once everyone who was attending the Xmas Party Night left, good service, great selection of drinks.
Breakfast was usual hotel Buffet style, hot and cold selection, good selection of fruits/cereal/fruit juice etc. Eggs made to order and quick/prompt and very courteous waitress service for toast/Coffee/Tea etc.
As it is Christmas, the Hotel is very tastefully decorated, appears inviting, without being over the top.
All in all, yes, we would definitely return, hopefully for longer the next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe Double/Double room on the 3rd floor, overlooking the Golf Course. Large room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Fairmont St Andrews.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and I am delighted to share you generous words with the team; I believe that it is down to their commitment and professionalism that allows our guests to receive such a warm and friendly welcome whilst staying with us.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just spent a wonderful Saturday night at the fairmont(7/12/13). Enjoyed a 3 course meal and stayed overnight in room 1015. Deluxe sea-view room had all mod-cons and was immaculate,spacious and top drawer in every way! Meal was superb and decent value at £25 each for 3 courses. The waiting staff were attentive and excellent without being over-bearing. Breakfast was served in the Squire restaurant and was also superb. Only complaint was that the sauna was not working! After spending a freezing afternoon in St.Andrews,was so looking forward to a sauna, but otherwise a great way to spend a Saturday night in December!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room. Great views to clubhouse,beach and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your very kind words on your recent visit to the Fairmont St Andrews.

It is very encouraging and motivating to receive such feedback as we strive to meet our guests expectations and ensure you have such a memorable experience with us. I believe that it is thanks to our staff’s commitment and professionalism that we can offer our guests such positive experience with us and I am delighted to share your feedback with them.

I was sorry to hear that you were not able to warm up in the Sauna following in chilly afternoon in town; I can confirm that this matter has since been rectified.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Ideal for a couple of days' relaxation with its spa, Squire restaurant, comfortable bar and bedrooms.. A great sense of space and tranquillity with great views from the Atrium towards the sea. The concierge service was particularly helpful. On occasions, the single reception desk in use meant a bit of a wait, and at it is worth checking when booking spa treatments in advance whether they do indeed consist of what the title implies. But we will be back!

Room Tip: See when you book if you can be waitlisted for a standby upgrade to a Junior Suite; ask for a room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WARDROBER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and you left with such a positive impression. I truly believe this is thanks to our staff and I shall certainly look forward to packing your kind words on.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What a fantastic hotel....from start to finish. Drove straight up to the hotels entrance...used the valet parking! Quick and easy check in..looked at both restaurants menus before going to our room, booked a table in the main restaurant, did this 1st as they had a lot of bookings for that night. When we saw our room we were very pleased....it was an adapted room as my partner is in a wheelchair....one of the best adapted rooms we've had....as usually there is something thats not right. Not this time...room had everything you'd ever need. All the staff are so friendly. The service was fantastic. Only one complaint.....our stay wasn't long enough!!! We are definately going back. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time with us and you found your room to be so comfortable and our staff to be so welcoming. I shall look forward to sharing your kind words with the team.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
343 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Nice hotel, probably a golfer's paradise. In winter time it's not such a big attraction. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is very welcoming. The breakfast is ok. To be noted: in 2013 there are still hotels where you're supposed to pay extra for an internet connection. What a faux paus!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenatinoAgatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you found our staff to be so friendly and your room to be comfortable.

Should you wish, you can enrol as a Fairmont President Club Member via our website. This is free and entitles you to various complimentary benefits throughout Fairmont, of which you can enjoy complimentary internet usage.

Thank you for your additional comments, I was sorry that you felt that due to the time of year you visited we were unable to meet your expectations and for the disappointment that this caused you.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband and I kicked off our honeymoon at the Fairmont. Upon arrival we were upgraded to one of their suites and found a bottle of complimentary champagne and a hand-written congratulatory note waiting for us in our room. We were overwhelmed by the Fairmont's kindness and thoroughly enjoyed our weekend. Our room had a magnificent view over the golf courses and St Andrews, was furnished to a high standard and was the size of our whole St Andrews apartment. Boasting several restaurants, pubs and a spa meant that we could comfortably spend our whole first day at the hotel, which was just what we needed to wind down after a stressful wedding week. Moreover, we appreciated the fitness room and complimentary shuttle service to St Andrews. The only things I would fault were the long wait to get a table at breakfast and the unfriendly spa staff who refused to give us a second dressing gown, let alone tell us where we could obtain one. Other than that our weekend was perfect and I look forward to spending another weekend away at the Fairmont.

Room Tip: Room 2029 was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 16 in St Andrews
1,120 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St Andrews
475 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St Andrews
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St Andrews
668 reviews
9.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
206 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Property: Fairmont St Andrews
Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing