We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

One of our favourite hotels in Scotland, from the friendliness of the staff to the excellent rooms, it is so relaxing. The pool area is beautiful kept well although disappointed the sauna was out of order the whole time we were there
breakfast again was very nice with very attentive service
Definitely will stay again

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bluejames985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a reply on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Fairmont St Andrews.

Your comments are very much appreciated and certainly motivating as we strive to ensure that our guests enjoy their time with us.

It is disappointing that you were unable to enjoy the Sauna during your visit; I can confirm that this matter has since been rectified.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,613
    787
    372
    136
    74
See reviews for
658
1,475
34
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Good rooms, good food, great staff (sometimes they are little distracted to respond to you), lovely spot.

Alcohol is expensive in the main bar.

The main sports bar was closed but the facilities were open (?). So, you had to go to the bar (expensive, plenty of staff) and get a drink so you could sit in the sports bar

They are almost there. Almost.

Nice place to visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience with us at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you have an enjoyable time with us and that you found our staff and surrounding to be so welcoming.

Depending on the demand, we do close service in Rock & Spindle, creating a more welcoming atmosphere for guests in Kittocks Den, however to ensure we continue to offer the same facilities, we do also keep the Rock & Spindle open at such times.

Whilst I do believe that our prices are comparable to other five star hotels within the area, I shall certainly ask the relevant team to continuously monitor this.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Had a brilliant time -great hotel amazingly friendly staff, especially Tam thanks very much for everything. Breakfast and dinner both great, rooms lovely very spacious. Nice that shuttles into town provided. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_n_dougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your visit to Fairmont St Andrews and for your generous words with regards to our staff. I shall look forward to passing this on to them, especially to Tam!

I am delighted that you enjoyed our surroundings and had such a wonderful time with us and that you found our rooms and breakfast to be everything you had anticipated!

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you all back to Fairmont St Andrews in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband and I had a short break in this hotel and found the rooms to be clean, comfortable and stylishly tasteful. The breakfasts were fabulous, with everything we were expecting and more. The staff were excellent and although the hotel is very large, there are many places therein that give the feeling of intimacy as well as comfort.

Room Tip: We just booked a standard room and could find absolutely no fault with it or its level of comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience whilst staying with us and post a reply on Trip Advisor.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and you had such an enjoyable time with us!

It is without doubt thanks to our staff’s commitment and professionalism that we are able to offer our guests such an experience and I look forward to sharing your comments with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

As a hotel it is nice, as a 5 *hotel it is maybe just OK. The concierge and reception were friendly, pleasant and helpful; our room was a very good size, bathroom very also spacious. On entering the room I could seen drink stains on the glass sideboard top, ok things gets missed! I then noticed dust around the chrome base of the table lamp.

We were too late for the transfer bus, which leaves on the hour, so we took a taxi (£9) into St Andrews for the afternoon/evening. There are some lovely restaurants, bars and independent shops/boutiques in the town.

The breakfast in the hotel was very good, waiting staff attentive, clearing plates quickly, offering more tea, coffee and toast. The buffet breakfast selection was pretty good. My wife and I chose to have poaches eggs, so I went off to the “egg station” and orders 3 poached eggs, “3 poaches eggs” the cook exclaimed! I thought for a moment I was being quizzed by my father, who went through rationing during the 40s.

Is this the customer service of a 5* hotel or a Seaside B & B?

One other gripe while I’m at it, there were a number of guests wearing Onsies at breakfast, now I can understand the little kids wearing them, but adults - at breakfast – in a hotel??

My wife and I were on a “deal” and had paid a reasonable price for BB, I think if we’d paid full price I would have been pretty disappointed, but as a weekend away, with my wife and the location of St Andrews it was excellent.

If the hotel were to run a similar deal I would return, other than that I will try elsewhere next time in St Andrews.

After recently returning from 5* hotels in the Far East, I have to state this hotel falls pretty short of the mark as a 5 star experience, and can see why it is Trip advisor rated No. 6 in St Andrews hotels

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin_B58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Trip Advisor page following your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and I was sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations.

To allow us to look into your experience further, I would be grateful if you would contact us at the following address standrews.scotland@fairmont.com to ensure we are able to respond appropriately to the issues you have raised on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Having been a regular visitor since the hotel opened I was a bit wary of returning in light of some of the more recent reviews. Abs no worries this time as the staff excelled themselves in every department. From the brilliant front of house team (Dave, Kevin, Bob and Tam) to reception & bar & restaurant, every body went that extra mile to ensure our stay was a success. At no point over our three night break did we feel the hotel staff were under any pressure despite being fully booked on the Friday/Saturday....... they were cheery, smiling & unflappable!
Five Star.....In every department.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J5ELK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a reply on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Fairmont St Andrews.

Your comments are very much appreciated and certainly motivating as we strive to ensure that our guests enjoy their time with us. I shall certainly look forward to passing on your complimentary comments to the team, especially to those you mention in person!

Thank you for your loyalty over the years we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Ss Andrews in 2014!

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

What a gorgeous hotel, in a lovely setting overlooking to town of St Andrews which is only ten minutes away from town in a complimentary shuttle bus (running hourly for the morning and afternoon - would have been nice to have it in the evening too right enough) or under £10 in a taxi. Lobby/atrium is lovely. Visiting when we did the huge Christmas tree was lovely to see. Staff very friendly and rooms (standard double) were spacious, well decorated and cosy. As a pervious reviewer had mentioned they do still charge for the Wifi which is just not expected these days.
The TV had terrible sound, but we were there to watch TV anyway. We went out to the bar in the evening thinking that we would spend the evening there, however, it was rather quiet to start with and the cocktail menu (although nice and exotic) didn't do any of the old favourites, so we decided to head into town for a few. Popped back to the bar again later that night and it was more lively. Not a real hot spot for night life though.

We didn't eat in any of the restaurants, but the all look lovely and I would very much like to try Esperante at some point in the future.

A comfortable sleep (brilliant blackout curtains...had no idea it was as late as it was when I woke up!) and a lovely bath and shower. Breakfast was lovely too, though more choices of bread would be nice (just my preference).

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylvieF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Fairmont St Andrews and for your kind words across all of our departments!

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time and I look forward to sharing you generous words with the team; I believe that it is down to their commitment and professionalism that allows our guests to receive such a warm and friendly welcome whilst staying with us.

Should you wish, you can enrol as a Fairmont President Club Member via our website. This is free and entitles you to various complimentary benefits throughout Fairmont, of which you can enjoy complimentary internet usage.

Should a guest wish to enjoy a cocktail that is not on the cocktail menu, we will always do our upmost to meet our guests request where possible. I shall certainly pass your additional comments on with regards to the ambience of Kittock Den on to the relevant colleagues.
Wishing you a Merry Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
9.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Property: Fairmont St Andrews
Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing