We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Valentines break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Spent an overnight break with my wife over Valentines weekend. Very friendly staff and excellent facilities. But let down by one of its restaurants - the Esperante. It's a smaller and more intimate environment compared to the others, and in that sense it lived up well to its reputation, as did the quality of food. However, the portion size was very poor. We both had fillet steak, as did friends with us at the time, and it came with two fairly small slices of fillet, a single mushroom, a little bit of spinach,a single small crouton of mashed potatoes, plus a small tomato. At £34 per head, it was hardly good value. A case of nouvelle cuisine gone mad. The location of the Esperante was also close to two hundred yards from the nearest loo. Hardly ideal if you needed to pay a visit mid course. Between them, these two issues took the shine of our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view. Great viewas in both good and bad weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,611
    787
    370
    135
    74
See reviews for
656
1,474
34
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just home from a lovely romantic weekend away. Really impressed with the staff - we felt really spoiled. On arrival we found champagne & a chocolate/fruit fondue in our room. We loved that. We had dinner in the Esperante restaurant and were seated on the little balcony over looking the spire restaurant. The atmosphere was lovely - romantically candlelit and we had a piano player below us. The valentines menu was also very good - well presented and very tasty. Breakfast was good although it was slightly hectic due to the self service (it was very busy when we went for breakfast). Overall can't rate this stay more - can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: We had a shower only room - It was a very large bathroom but I missed having a bath. If woe go again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haggied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Best time to do a review is when still fresh in your mind and got nothing to do!
This was our 3rd trip to the Fairmont and again....LOVED IT! ...this was an Itison deal and found the service, the room, the food..was just great!
Used the pool this time as went with sis in law and bruv in law [in on the Mrs Mac surprise!] and they had a great time too! :)
We ate in the squire for evening and breakfast and also there are another 2 venues where you can eat as well as have drinks etc.
Pool area was busy, but everything was good.
For 1st timers at hotel...pointers to note from staying here on sunday 09/02/2014
1] There are ice making machines available to fill up and put your sparkly in! Mini bars as are the drinks can be expensive..depending on what you think is expensive!!..pint of peroni £6 and large glass of red £8 ish ....food was great with my duck breast pink very tasty and the smoked salmon at breakfast..one of the best have had for real taste compared with super market pre packed! also you can register as a fairmont member free and this benefits you to express check in, free wifi [they do charge for wifi which seemed odd!] complimentary news paper etc. OVERALL..in my opinion ..a great place to just get away and indulge in a me time!! ..Hope this helps..enjoy! :) :) :) next one in March ..Keavil House Hotel and this one, is not a Mrs Mac suprise!

Room Tip: Have been in 3 diff rooms over the last 3 years and ALL have been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at The Fairmont St Andrews on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read your review and that you, your friends and family had such an enjoyable time with us and that once again you left with such a positive impression. It is without doubt thanks to our staff’s commitment and professionalism that we are able to offer our guests such an experience and I look forward to sharing your feedback with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont St Andrews for another memorable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denny stirlingshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

fairmont hotel service is second to none from the valet parking when you arrive to the express checkout when you leave staff and accommodation are both excellent in house dining whether it is in the restuarant or one of the lounges is excellant their breakfasts are superb and the choice is magnificent

Room Tip: we had a sea view which was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time share of your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and that we left such a positive impression. It is without doubt thanks to our staff’s commitment and professionalism that we are able to offer our guests such an experience and I will ensure your comments are passed on.

We very much look forward to welocming you to Fairmont St Andrews in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Fairmont has been my favourite hotel in Scotland for some time now and we've stayed several times over the last few years, so it was the obvious choice to take my wife's parents to celebrate their golden wedding anniversary. Although we enjoyed our stay we definitely felt that the hotel has lost its shine with a few small but noticeable things that made us feel that way.

Interestingly another reviewer mentions that they were offered a complementary glass of Prosecco on arrival as they were celebrating an anniversary. We had hoped for a token acknowledgement for the golden anniversary but unfortunately this didn't happen which made us feel that the hotel lacks the personal touch that would make it truly 5 star. For example on a recent stay in Gleneagles we received a personal letter from the manager welcoming us back to the hotel. Small thing but very effective.

Another reviewer also mentions having to top-up his own wine at dinner. This was also our experience and definitely not 5 star. Dinner was initially very rushed and it felt like there was a lack of staff albeit everyone who served us was very friendly and professional. However, at the end, there was confusion over the bill. All 3 of our rooms were on the same DBB package but this was not noted in the system and my wife therefore had to go to reception to sort it out when she should have been enjoying an after-dinner coffee while a member of staff sorted it. I must point out that the meal was very good and everyone enjoyed theirs.

The live music in the Atrium is a welcome addition and we enjoyed a couple of drinks there after dinner. That was where we had our last "niggle" when the drinks were wrong (a whiskey was brought instead of an amaretto). We also had Port served to us in a whiskey glass with what appeared to be a 25ml measure at best. I'd expect a trained barman to know which glass to use, or a trained waiter to recognise the error when uplifting the drinks. To the waiter's credit he did apologise and rectify the issue right away.

As ever, our room was excellent and comfortable. I still believe that the Fairmont breakfast is the best you will get anywhere in terms of variety and quality.

Overall we did have a great time, and I would recommend the Fairmont to others, but the minor niggles left us feeling it wasn't as good as previous visits. We had booked with an offer from Itison and we wondered if the service levels go down when such offers are on as we have noticed this in other hotels when staying with an offer.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fraser B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Trip Advisor page following your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and I was sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

To allow us to look into your experience further, I would be grateful if you would contact us at the following address standrews.scotland@fairmont.com to ensure we are able to respond appropriately to the issues you have raised on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed on 21st December . . We always talk about "service Scotland" not in a good way! Well all hotels in Scotland should send their staff here to see what service Scotland should be. The staff were attentive but not intrusive. A smile costs nothing . . The staff here deserve a huge pat on the back. We'll done . . . We will be back just wish it could be more often. . . Keep up the good work . . We appreciate it . . Regards Marion . . . X x x

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galliant24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

I was thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful time with us and spoke positively of “Service Scotland” when referring to Fairmont St Andrews!

Your comments are very kind and certainly motivating - they will be welcomed by the team!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the not too far future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Have stayed many many times at this hotel since it was opened in 2001. It was previously called St Andrews Bay hotel and owned by Don Panos. The hotel is still a lovely place and has been kept looking great and bedrooms re furnished etc. It really is still a class hotel but definately lost the wee things that used to make it 5 starr. I would still give it 4.5 now. It may sound pandantic but its just noticible as I have stayed many times previously. Things like handing you your napkin on sittng down for a meal, topping up your galss from the bottle of wine. I suppose it sounds silly but it is just because that used to be done that you notice when its not. Only a couple of wee things that were a bit disappointing, the first being at the pool, there was a party of 4 adults and 2 teenagers who were really spoiling the peace of the pool area. They were very loud jumping about everywhere and throughing a ball all over the shop which spoiled it for the remaining people. No attendant present to let him know what was happening. It was a bit like a 2 starr pool in Spain, not a 5 starr pool in St Andrews.The other small point was my final bill was not correct. On checking it was confirmed I was on a B&B and Dinner package and our info with our room keys stated the same. At the dining room it was confirmed once more that Dinner was included in our package, but final biil charged us for dinner. This was a mistake and was sorted out quickly so really no prob, but still a 5 starr hotel should make sure the bill is correct.That said a lovely time was had. We had great value for the cost of the package as it was an Itison promotion, but would certainly not have paid the full price of approx £240.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed time with us, however was disappointed to read that you felt we had ‘lost a tiny bit of polish’ over the years.

Our guests feedback is invaluable to us and I shall certainly address your comments with the relevant teams allowing them to consider your comments and review/adapt where possible.

Likewise it is disappointing to learn of your experience upon check-out; this is most unfortunate and whist this is not a regular experience of our guests, I shall address this to ensure that the correct training is provided to prevent this from reoccurring in the future.

In the meantime may I thank you for your loyalty to Fairmont St Andrews; we very much look forward to welcoming you back to soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
9.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Property: Fairmont St Andrews
Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing