We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Kilbarchan
1 review
“Fairmont”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Staff excellent and attentive hotel services 1st class. Food very good
Leisure facilities very good and good standard throughout the hotel
Superb views if the sea and St Andrews.Rooms very comfortable

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank discodave2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to Director at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
I am delighted that you and had such a fantastic time with us and I shall look forward to sharing your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,668
    800
    381
    141
    77
See reviews for
679
1,517
35
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont for two nights. Although the early May bank holiday the hotel was very quiet which suited us. This was our third stay at the hotel and we are still impressed with the service, quality and value for money. We ate in the hotel both evenings. My meal at the Clubhouse was a little disappointing - the langoustine bisque was grainy. The rocket and prosciutto pizza and Sicilian lemon sweet I chose the second evening in La Cucina was delicious. Breakfast is an amazing experience as and shouldn't be missed!
The room was immaculate and the best we've been in to date.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to the Fairmont St Andrew.

I am delighted that once again you had such a wonderful time with us. It is without a doubt thanks to our staff’s commitment and professionalism that we can offer our guests such a warm and welcoming service and I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team.

It is disappointing to read your comments with regards to your meal at The Clubhouse; I shall certainly ask that this is addressed. I was however pleased that the following evening you had a more enjoyable experience in La Cucina.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews for another enjoyable stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

From start to finish, this was an outstanding stay. Upgraded on arrival plus a glass of pro secco because our reservation couldn't be found! Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Rooms pristine clean and food quality in restaurants superb. Would highly recommend this hotel for a special stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience whilst staying with us and post a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you left with such a positive impression! I shall look forward to sharing your kind words with the team.

I was sorry to learn of your unfortunate experience upon your arrival; I am pleased that whist we resolved this you were able to enjoy a glass of prosecco!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stay here quite frequently, I have elderly parents nearby, the hotel allow dogs and for us if you book a suite it's a home from home and we don't need to get too involved in the 'resort' feel of the place, so take my requirements into consideration when reading.

We are always greeted by the same staff of the Concierge Team, who recognise us, are very helpful and even remember that our little Cairn Terrier likes shortbread.....which (after asking us) they always give her some! How's that for a welcome..... A brief chat with Charlie and off he pops and parks my car whilst Davie takes all our stuff in....... I think you get the gist of what I'm saying so I don't think I need wax lyrically for any longer. Book a suite and take it for what it is. Personally, the food is very average, it's not cheap to stay there and drinks are quite expensive..... but for us it's a home from home when we go to St Andrews and I'm a fussy guy, so I rate it 5 star warts and all!

Room Tip: Book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that once again you had such an enjoyable time with us and that you found our staff to have such a friendly and welcoming manner. I truly believe this is down to our their commitment and dedication and I look forward to passing on your kind words to the team, especially to Charlie and Davey!

We do as a matter of course monitor our prices to ensure that they are in line with other five star establishments within Scotland; however I will certainly pass your comments, to the relevant colleagues to ensure that this is reviewed and remains to be closely monitored.

We look forward to having the pleasure once again of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelty, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here on 4th may. Experience was good. The only issue I would point out is I had a back massage which was rushed and not relaxing at all. The service at the bar was very slow. We waited over 20 mins for our drinks to be delivered to our table after ordering.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience whilst staying with us and post a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us whilst celebrating your birthday and that you left with such a positive impression! I shall look forward to sharing your kind words with the team.

I was however sorry to learn of your experience in the Spa; all our Therapist are very experienced and it is most uncommon to receive such feedback. However I shall certainly pass your comments onto the relevant colleague to look into.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Highly recommend this hotel. Overall experience wonderful. Clubhouse restaurant worth a visit - excellent food and service. The swimming pool is lovely and the spa is beautiful. Bedrooms are sumptuous with large bathrooms. Toiletries are gorgeous -from New York!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience whilst staying with us and post a review on Trip Advisor.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us and that you left with such a positive impression! I shall look forward to sharing your kind words the entire team as they will be thrilled to read your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Having arrived with the family in mid afternoon it was disappointing to find our rooms were not ready, having booked afternoon tea we had no option but to go in the clothes we had been travelling in, the tea was amazing really well presented by very friendly staff, went to club house for a meal in the evening where the staff were again very helpful, the food was overpriced to say the least, the lemon sole was so minuscule it pitiful more like a childs fish finger portion then an adults meal breakfasts were nice well presented in buffet style, we ate in the Italian at night which was nice although again on the higher side of the price bracket for the quality of food we received . Also being in on a dinner bed and breakfast rate the allocation towards dinner is £25 which will not cover a 3 course meal in any of the restaurants Coming back to the rooms they are beautiful and cannot fault them in anything other then the maid being rather late on servicing our rooms , having elderly parents with us they wanted back to their room after 4pm to find they had not been serviced just find that a little annoying

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bluejames985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am so pleased that overall you enjoyed your time with us with your family. I do believe that it is with thanks to the commitment and professionalism of our staff that allows our guests to feel so welcome and I shall certainly look forward to passing on your kind words to the team.

Our usual check-in time is 3pm and I am sorry that your room was not ready for you on your arrival and for the disappointment that this caused you. I am however pleased that you enjoyed Afternoon Tea with us and found the quality and service to be so exceptional.
We do as a matter of course monitor our prices to ensure that they are in line with other five star establishments within Scotland; however I will certainly pass your comments, along with the portion sizes in Clubhouse to the relevant colleagues to ensure that this is reviewed and remains to be closely monitored.

May I thank you for your additional observations; these are most helpful as we look to continuously improve our guests experience and I shall certainly pass these on to the relevant colleagues to address.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 16 in St Andrews
1,120 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St Andrews
473 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 16 in St Andrews
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St Andrews
667 reviews
9.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
206 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Property: Fairmont St Andrews
Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing