We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return...with children” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont St Andrews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Return...with children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We returned to this hotel with our three kids... it was lovely. Food was amazing,swimming pool spot on and we could not leave without Scotty, the newly homed terrier in the room.Staff was excellent! Will be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windgat04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted to hear that you along with your family enjoyed your time with us and Scotty has a new home!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,586
    773
    366
    134
    74
See reviews for
641
1,452
34
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

So impressed by this hotel last year decided to return with all of family for two night stay over May bank holiday weekend. Overall again a enjoyable experience, all staff from reception to spa to breakfast and evening meal were excellent. Rooms excellent with overall cleanliness of Hotel excellent. Wife and daughters used the Spa and the lads used to pool and all very happy here.
Only area of slight disapointment would be the new dining arrangements. Wanted to eat downstairs where breakfast is served which was case last time but this now not open on evening and choice is Italian upstairs or Golf Clubhouse. Maybe not the demand for evening meals at Hotel but although the Italian was ok it will not help get people to stay for evening meal unless it is just for convienience. With young grandchildren we ate here on both evenings and had one or two timing problems with not all starters/desserts arriving together and not all dishes being as set out on the menu as well as a undercooked steak that had to be returned. To be fair they adjusted bill accordingly without ourselves prompting. The food itself while ok is in our opinion not as good as a Pizza Express or similar type restaurants. Maybe this style of cooking is fairly new to them but it is certainly not up to their high standards. Just to be clear the staff serving were fine it seemed to be more about behind the scenes.Breakfast food was again excellent as regards quality and choice but did get impression that they were short staffed on the Monday morning as table service was slow,We will no doubt return again and be interested to see if the evening meal experience improves.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIAN782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that over all you enjoyed your experience with us, however I was sorry to hear of your disappointment with the closure of Squire during the summer months and that you felt La Cucina did not live up to our usual high standards. This is most disappointing.

In general, La Cucina is proving to be very popular and I am sorry that it did not meet with your expectations. Our guests feedback is very important to us as we continuously strive to offer only the highest of standards and I shall pass on your comments to our Director of Food and Beverage and ask him to address.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Meal choice in pub grub has narrowed to only a few options, so would be going bob next time and eating in St. Andrews, seemed to be more pet dogs there this time and some were left by there owners in the rooms as they were barking for a while. But apart from that it's a top class place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that over all you enjoyed your experience with us, however I was sorry to hear of the disturbance that was caused by a fellow guests dogs barking in a nearby room. We are very much a pet friendly hotel, however we do ask our guests choosing to bring along their dog to ensure they do not cause any disturbance to other guests. In such unfortunate situations, we would encourage guests to bring this to our attention at the time as this allows us to ensure a prompt and successful response.

May I thank you for your observations with regards to our menu in Kittocks Den and Rock and Spindle; I shall certainly pass this on to our Director of Food and Beverage to review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday and it was a great place to stay. We had a ground floor room which was massive! The bed was the comfiest bed I've ever slept in. We got massages in the hotel which were incredible - very relaxing. We did not eat in the hotel sadly but the restaurants looked lovely. You're about a 15 minute drive from the city center but it's not too bad as there is plenty to do in the hotel. Overall it was a great stay and would gladly go again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found your room to be so comfortable and that you found time to relax and unwind in our Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontheroadagn7
Level Contributor
532 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We finished up in another part of Scotland and got a room here rather than trying to find a smaller place in town. What a great choice we made! We were driving and frankly the narrow streets of such an old city can be intimidating. Once at the hotel they have a shuttle into town.

Service was great at dinner (go to the clubhouse - we had dinner there as the sun was setting) and the next morning at breakfast. We even had a wee whiskey nightcap at the bar.

Golf courses were in great shape. I know there are older. More famous courss in the immediate area, but we really enjoyed playing the two on property.

Room Tip: Both rooms were good. Not a big hotel so you won't be far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadagn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience and may I thank you for your generous words. It without a doubt thanks to our staffs high level of dedication and professionalism and I shall certainly look forward to passing your kind words onto the team; especially to the The Greenkeepers as they are very proud of their courses and I know they will be delighted to hear that you found the courses to be in such good condition and likewise to receive such praise.

Likewise I am delighted that the weather was on your side and you enjoyed soaking up the breathtaking views from the Clubhouse both during breakfast and later in the evening.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin 6
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed recently for four days.
Wonderfully located with two great golf courses overlooking the sea.
Rooms good.
Regrettably the food and service in the clubhouse, breakfasts were very poor, and the Italian restaurant is not in keeping with a top tier hotel.
The key issue for us when we tried to lodge our complaints it was impossible to find any member of staff ( and we worked up through 4 layers of management ) who was empowered to address in a meaningful professional manner the issues we raised. All this was capped off with a series of additional items on our final bill that we never incurred.
Finally why does a hotel group like Fairmont charge for newspapers and internet.
On our way back to Ferry we stayed in a Holiday Day Inn Express in Edinburgh .......they were cheerful, papers and internet free and breakfast was served hot and promptly ....why can 3 star hotels get it so right when a so called 5* hotel make such a mess of it ( also too many low cost trainees on the floor ) .......................suggest more professional staff with greater empowerment at the "coalface"

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gearoid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Fairmont St Andrews on Trip Advisor.

It is disappointing that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Our guests feedback is taken seriously and I do believe that following an email that you sent to our General Manager your concerns along with the compensation that was offered whilst with us was fully investigated and a reply has since been sent to you.

Whilst thanking you for highlighting areas for us to focus on, I would like to also thank you for your compliments with regards to our guestrooms and golf courses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have stayed here several times now and have always enjoyed our stay. The staff are truly exceptional, really friendly and helpful and it was lovely to be greeted with a 'welcome back'. Even our little dog was warmly welcomed!! I was initially disappointed to learn that the Squire was now closed in an evening but I have to say La Cucina was superb and is a great addition to the hotel. Again, the staff were welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable about the food/wine which was served promptly and was delicious. Breakfast in the Squire was, as always, very good with an excellent choice on offer. The room was superb, well appointed, large and clean. Cant praise the Fairmont and its staff enough they really are exceptional - well done.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 357Annie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manger at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive view on Trip Advisor following your recent experience with us.

I was absolutely delighted to read your comments; our goal is to ensure we deliver a very high level of service with the quality and attention to detail of the highest standard, leaving our guests to look forward to coming back. I am thrilled that we had the opportunity to demonstrate this to you and I shall certainly look forward to sharing your kind words with the team!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Property: Fairmont St Andrews
Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing