We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel but not 5 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Arrived at 14.30 hours , room should have been ready for15.00 hours entry (which I thought a tad late) we finally got to our room at 16.00 hours and only then by enquiring when and having to say that we were not happy with the delay. They did offer a free drink while waiting but as we were only there for the one night and tired from the journey it did take the shine off the visit. Our luggage was not in our room and after a small wait we had to phone reception to have it delivered. We planned to dine in the hotel so we opened the guest book to find the menus from the couple of dining option but to our surprise the book had no local information and was a generic list of facilities in the hotel group,the binder was tatty and pages were loose and torn from the ring binder. We asked reception how to access the menus we were told to go and visit each to see ourselves . As one of

the dining places was out with the hotel we just decided by this time to eat at one of the two bars but alas only one was opened , however the food was very good . I am afraid we were disappointed and will not revisit in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

We expect our guests to receive our best standards at all times and I am truly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is most helpful as we continuously look to enhance our guests experience and I shall certainly follow your comments up with the relevant Directors.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,047 - 2,053 of 3,326 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We returned to this hotel with our three kids... it was lovely. Food was amazing,swimming pool spot on and we could not leave without Scotty, the newly homed terrier in the room.Staff was excellent! Will be back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windgat04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted to hear that you along with your family enjoyed your time with us and Scotty has a new home!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

So impressed by this hotel last year decided to return with all of family for two night stay over May bank holiday weekend. Overall again a enjoyable experience, all staff from reception to spa to breakfast and evening meal were excellent. Rooms excellent with overall cleanliness of Hotel excellent. Wife and daughters used the Spa and the lads used to pool and all very happy here.
Only area of slight disapointment would be the new dining arrangements. Wanted to eat downstairs where breakfast is served which was case last time but this now not open on evening and choice is Italian upstairs or Golf Clubhouse. Maybe not the demand for evening meals at Hotel but although the Italian was ok it will not help get people to stay for evening meal unless it is just for convienience. With young grandchildren we ate here on both evenings and had one or two timing problems with not all starters/desserts arriving together and not all dishes being as set out on the menu as well as a undercooked steak that had to be returned. To be fair they adjusted bill accordingly without ourselves prompting. The food itself while ok is in our opinion not as good as a Pizza Express or similar type restaurants. Maybe this style of cooking is fairly new to them but it is certainly not up to their high standards. Just to be clear the staff serving were fine it seemed to be more about behind the scenes.Breakfast food was again excellent as regards quality and choice but did get impression that they were short staffed on the Monday morning as table service was slow,We will no doubt return again and be interested to see if the evening meal experience improves.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRIAN782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that over all you enjoyed your experience with us, however I was sorry to hear of your disappointment with the closure of Squire during the summer months and that you felt La Cucina did not live up to our usual high standards. This is most disappointing.

In general, La Cucina is proving to be very popular and I am sorry that it did not meet with your expectations. Our guests feedback is very important to us as we continuously strive to offer only the highest of standards and I shall pass on your comments to our Director of Food and Beverage and ask him to address.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Meal choice in pub grub has narrowed to only a few options, so would be going bob next time and eating in St. Andrews, seemed to be more pet dogs there this time and some were left by there owners in the rooms as they were barking for a while. But apart from that it's a top class place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that over all you enjoyed your experience with us, however I was sorry to hear of the disturbance that was caused by a fellow guests dogs barking in a nearby room. We are very much a pet friendly hotel, however we do ask our guests choosing to bring along their dog to ensure they do not cause any disturbance to other guests. In such unfortunate situations, we would encourage guests to bring this to our attention at the time as this allows us to ensure a prompt and successful response.

May I thank you for your observations with regards to our menu in Kittocks Den and Rock and Spindle; I shall certainly pass this on to our Director of Food and Beverage to review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday and it was a great place to stay. We had a ground floor room which was massive! The bed was the comfiest bed I've ever slept in. We got massages in the hotel which were incredible - very relaxing. We did not eat in the hotel sadly but the restaurants looked lovely. You're about a 15 minute drive from the city center but it's not too bad as there is plenty to do in the hotel. Overall it was a great stay and would gladly go again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found your room to be so comfortable and that you found time to relax and unwind in our Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We finished up in another part of Scotland and got a room here rather than trying to find a smaller place in town. What a great choice we made! We were driving and frankly the narrow streets of such an old city can be intimidating. Once at the hotel they have a shuttle into town.

Service was great at dinner (go to the clubhouse - we had dinner there as the sun was setting) and the next morning at breakfast. We even had a wee whiskey nightcap at the bar.

Golf courses were in great shape. I know there are older. More famous courss in the immediate area, but we really enjoyed playing the two on property.

Room Tip: Both rooms were good. Not a big hotel so you won't be far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroadagn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience and may I thank you for your generous words. It without a doubt thanks to our staffs high level of dedication and professionalism and I shall certainly look forward to passing your kind words onto the team; especially to the The Greenkeepers as they are very proud of their courses and I know they will be delighted to hear that you found the courses to be in such good condition and likewise to receive such praise.

Likewise I am delighted that the weather was on your side and you enjoyed soaking up the breathtaking views from the Clubhouse both during breakfast and later in the evening.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed recently for four days.
Wonderfully located with two great golf courses overlooking the sea.
Rooms good.
Regrettably the food and service in the clubhouse, breakfasts were very poor, and the Italian restaurant is not in keeping with a top tier hotel.
The key issue for us when we tried to lodge our complaints it was impossible to find any member of staff ( and we worked up through 4 layers of management ) who was empowered to address in a meaningful professional manner the issues we raised. All this was capped off with a series of additional items on our final bill that we never incurred.
Finally why does a hotel group like Fairmont charge for newspapers and internet.
On our way back to Ferry we stayed in a Holiday Day Inn Express in Edinburgh .......they were cheerful, papers and internet free and breakfast was served hot and promptly ....why can 3 star hotels get it so right when a so called 5* hotel make such a mess of it ( also too many low cost trainees on the floor ) .......................suggest more professional staff with greater empowerment at the "coalface"

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gearoid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Fairmont St Andrews on Trip Advisor.

It is disappointing that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Our guests feedback is taken seriously and I do believe that following an email that you sent to our General Manager your concerns along with the compensation that was offered whilst with us was fully investigated and a reply has since been sent to you.

Whilst thanking you for highlighting areas for us to focus on, I would like to also thank you for your compliments with regards to our guestrooms and golf courses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,175 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,306 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
687 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
427 reviews
9.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £137 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting, Fairmont St Andrews has something for everyone. From lavish rooms to a luxurious spa, championship golf to exquisite dining, our five star attention to detail is unsurpassed. Enjoy the views overlooking the medieval St Andrews and the North Sea. Play golf on The Torrance and The Kittocks or wind down in our Fairmont Spa with locally themed treatments using the finest Ishga Skin Care products. Indulge in delicate pastries and cakes in our Savoy Afternoon Tea experience served in the Atrium Lounge with a rich colour scheme and nautical elements that reflect the surrounding landscape including a lighting installation by renowned artist George Singer. We guarantee your stay will become a treasured memory! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing