We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My son and I stayed at the Fairmont while on a golf trip. It is a fantastic place! Very nice rooms, several excellent dining options and great service by all the staff. The breakfast buffet was very good and the restaurant at the golf clubhouse has fantastic views to create a great dining experience. We didn't use the spa, but it appeared to be first class. It is a few miles from the town, but they provide a shuttle service, if needed. This was our second visit and would definitely return, if I am able to return to St. Andrews.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you and your son had such an enjoyable time with us and that you got some quality time together whilst enjoying our various facilities and soaking up a magnificent views from our Clubhouse. I am guessing a few rounds of golf were involved whilse you were here and I hope that you enjoyed these too!

Thank you for your loyalty; we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,719
    819
    385
    146
    79
See reviews for
700
1,553
39
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel which will ensure you have the best stay you can. Perfect for visiting St. Andrews, and obviously perfect if you are a golfer. Definitely worth a visit for any kind of trip with family or friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank marjmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Excellent location and golf courses are great too! Nice restaurants and bar areas to relax in. Friendly staff all the way around. Would recommend to others for sure, thanks everyone for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank carmsavoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable time and I will look forward to sharing your kind words with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I really don't understand two of the recent reviews that are so negative but guess everyone can have an off-day.
My second stay here (same time last year) and both were excellent. Every member of staff that we met were courteous and friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The guys at front of house provided the valet parking and the FREE wifi worked throughout the hotel. We didn't try either restaurant so cannot comment but breakfast is fresh with extensive choice. Bar service can be a bit slow when it is busy but not bad.
It is a beautiful location and until six in the evening their is a regular free shuttle bus to the club-house and to and from St Andrews centre. For me is the THE place to stay if visiting St Andrews and certainly much better than that other famous golf hotel in the town where the staff didn't seem so well looked after which reflects in their manner.

Room Tip: Sign up for the Fairmont Presidents Club before you arrive as this guarantees wifi and is flagged up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beeleyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to the Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that once again you had such a wonderful time with us; it’s just a shame it was only for one night! Your comments are so encouraging and motivating and it is without a doubt thanks to our staff’s commitment and professionalism that we can offer our guests such a warm and welcoming service and I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team.

I am pleased that you have joined our Fairmont Presidents Club and that you are enjoying the loyalty scheme along with the complimentary benefits that it includes.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews for another enjoyable stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel was a touch of class on a much anticipated trip for my me and my wife. It's beautiful grounds and setting is second only to the extremely helpful and friendly staff. We loved every minute of our stay and hope to be able to repeat this experience someday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews.

I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience and may I thank you for your generous words. It without a doubt thanks to our staffs high level of dedication and professionalism and I shall certainly look forward to passing your kind words onto the team;

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strachur
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Spent one night as a family at this hotel. While it was alright, I don't consider it a 5* experience. Check in was fine, staff polite and informative. Our room on the ground floor has all we required although it had not had a thorough clean in a long while. Thick dust on top of bed side table lamps, felt tip pens from previous guests under the bed, dirt gathering in sink overflow holes. The beds were comfortable and room service brought fresh milk for tea very promptly. Would have expected free Wi-Fi though.
The building is quite utilitarian, at breakfast I felt like we were in an airport or new school rather than a hotel. Breakfast had lots of choice, but again, cleanliness was an issue. Chairs marked, carpets stained, lots of scuff marks on bases of buffet tables and dirty cutlery.

We went for a swim in the pool, which was large and warm. Changing rooms were well equipped, with great showers that had good quality shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion. The pool area itself again was a little basic in design and décor.

We had dinner in the Club House. Staff were very nice, service attentive without being overbearing and the views over St Andrews and the sea were lovely, especially in the evening sunshine. We all had sirloin steaks, which were cooked well, but the peppercorn sauce accompanying mine was completely flavourless. Deserts however were outstanding, they had a nice wine list and the meal was fairly priced.

On checkout the receptionist asked if we enjoyed our stay, I said it was fine but there was some house keeping issues that could be improved upon. She seemed genuinely concerned about this, noting what I had reported and apologising if this had resulted in any disappointment.

Would not rush back, but we did enjoy our night and it was half the price of the other two hotels in St Andrews that I had enquired about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TassTog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

It is most disappointing to read your review and I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is most helpful to us as we continuously look to improve our guests experience and I shall certainly discuss your comments with the relevant colleagues.

Whilst I thank you for highlighting areas of improvement, may I also thank you for your complementary observations with regards to the rest of your experience.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Staff were blunt and ambivalent in the hotel which was a slightly dated conference centre style building. No valet parking or wifi included. Staff in club house were great but food was average. Beautiful location but certainly not a five star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

It is most disappointing to read your review and I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is most helpful to us as we continuously look to improve our guests experience and I shall follow your comments up with the relevant colleagues.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,127 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,271 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
9.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
210 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Property: Fairmont St Andrews
Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing