We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just returned from a 4-day business trip to St Andrews.

All staff very pleasant, welcoming and helpful, especially concierge team with Davie (former Royal Engineer) a very charismatic character.

Event team were very helpful and Neil Ballingall, the golf courses superintendent, could not have been more accommodating.

Rooms as you would expect with a hotel of this class were excellent and cghoice at breakfasy overwhelming.

As an event venue, 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Rooms on east and north sides have a view of St Andrews bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us whilst on business and you found everything to be so perfect! I shall certainly look forward to sharing your kind words with the team; especially with those you mention in person!

Thank you once again for your encouraging and motivating words; whether it be for another conference or for a more leisurely experience with us we certainly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,018 - 2,024 of 3,323 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Have been staying at this hotel at least 4-5 times per year ever since it opened - started visiting well before the current owners Fairmont took it over. I have also been a member of the Fairmont Presidents Club for many years - since they took over the hotel. Most of my visits over the years have been prompted by special prices / offers e-mailed to me as a member of the Presidents Club - but recently (last year or two) very few President Club offers come up for St Andrews Bay and when they do they usually offer the 3rd or 4th night free (even then the offers are hardly ever available to actually book). Not much use if you can only manage a weekend or a night away.Whatever happened to the reduced rate one night or weekend offers for President Club members at this hotel. Prices have certainly rocketed in the last year or so - all in all not making it as price competitive for a short weekened break as it once was. Love the hotel, great staff - but better weekend rates can be obtained elsewhere - which is a pity as this would always be my first choice.

Room Tip: Join the Presidents Club - it is free. This at least gives you free internet access.Ask for room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul Edwina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Trip advisor with regards to your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted to learn that you always have a wonderful time and that you find the level of service is of the same quality. I strongly believe that it is with thanks to our staff that our guests enjoy such a warm and welcoming experience, leaving on such a positive note.

To build up your Fairmont Presidents Club (FPC) membership, your loyalty category it is based on the amount of stays per calendar year at any Fairmont. As like many companies, we do have various promotions that run throughout the year. These too can be enjoyed by everyone, including FPC members. As a FPC member, you can benefit from staying on the promotional rate and in addition receive your rewards to enhance your loyalty category.

In addition to this Fairmont Presidents Club will also run promotional rates exclusively for its members and they feature on the newsletter sent to each member sent via email. These rates are subject to availability with a specific booking window and are offered on stays within a wide range of our properties.

May I thank you for your loyalty over the years and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in the fairmont hotel on Thursday 29th may, the room I have to say was amazing, 2double beds , booked a double, but more than enough room, great bathroom and the bed was so comfortable , had a really good sleep. The breakfast ,well what can I say, overall fabulous, such a wide choice of fruit juices, cereals , breads, rolls, cakes. Hot plate all buffet style with an omelette station too. Would definitely return as the service was impeccable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to right a review following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews!

I was thrilled to read your review and so pleased that you found your room to be so spacious and comfortable and the breakfast to be so enjoyable and plentiful!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is where we stayed in St. Andrews, Scotland May 27-29/2014. It's beautiful; I would stay there again; I would recommend it & it's the resort hotel that the famous St. Andrews University Fashion Show took place when Kate Middleton (now the Duchess of Cambridge) wore the 2-piece see-thru dress that first caught HRH Prince William of Wales eye at Uni.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a reply on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable time wth us and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful hotel, stunning views. First time at this hotel. Had Afternoon Tea there for Aunt's birthday. Cannot fault the service from the staff. Very pleasant and polite. However, even although the Afternoon Tea was lovely, I've had better elsewhere and cheaper. Could've done with some more sandwiches. Afterwards we sat in the Atrium area which was also lovely. Surprisingly, however, the light shades on the lights between the seated areas were in need of complete replacement. They were very cheap and papery looking as some were burst and you could see the dead flies inside. Not what you would expect to see in a hotel of this calibre.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquelineH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience with us.

I am delighted that you and your Aunt enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and found the service to be faultless. I shall certainly look forward to sharing your kind words with the team!

I was however disappointed and sorry to read your comments with regards to the condition of the lights in the Atrium. I shall certainly ask that this is addressed immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andres in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I've stayed twice in the last month. Once for a night away with my wife and once with colleagues. It's a good hotel, pretty anonymous. Check in is good, and they remember you. Rooms are high standard with good big bathrooms and good products. Wifi is only £4 per 24 hrs which is cheap in this type of hotel. (Marriott £15!!). Noticed the pool and spa areas were a bit tatty and needed a sort out. Water pooling in the floor, tiles a bit scruffy and poolside needs a bit of attention. Other than that a great couple of stays. Excellent breakfast service and choice.
One observation - this hotel has a fantastic world class view over St Andrews and the beach in town. Why was there not a bar area built looking over this view instead of looking into the atrium of the hotel. A cocktail bar on the second floor, front of the hotel looking out over the view to the west would make this a destination hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dog377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and likewise for your loyalty!

I am delighted that you had a lovely time with us once again and found our reception and concierge teams to be so friendly and welcoming, I shall certainly look forward to sharing your kind words with them.

Likewise I am pleased to learn that you found our guestrooms to be both spacious and comfortable and the amenities were to your taste.

You may wish to consider joining our Fairmont President Club; it is free to join and whilst you can build up your points over the year you can also receive many complimentary benefits throughout all Fairmont hotels such as complimentary wifi from the minute you join!

May I thank you also for your additional observations and suggestions; I shall certainly pass these on to the relevant Directors to address.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My partner and I purchased an Amazon local voucher for a night away here with breakfast, and had an excellent stay. The room was excellent, as was the service throughout.

I can highly recommend the afternoon tea upon arrival. The spa facilities were also very nice, clean and modern.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed the Afternoon Tea experience upon your arrival! I shall certainly look forward to sharing your kind words with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,173 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,306 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
687 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
427 reviews
9.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £138 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting, Fairmont St Andrews has something for everyone. From lavish rooms to a luxurious spa, championship golf to exquisite dining, our five star attention to detail is unsurpassed. Enjoy the views overlooking the medieval St Andrews and the North Sea. Play golf on The Torrance and The Kittocks or wind down in our Fairmont Spa with locally themed treatments using the finest Ishga Skin Care products. Indulge in delicate pastries and cakes in our Savoy Afternoon Tea experience served in the Atrium Lounge with a rich colour scheme and nautical elements that reflect the surrounding landscape including a lighting installation by renowned artist George Singer. We guarantee your stay will become a treasured memory! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing