We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont St Andrews
Nearby Hotels
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rufflets Hotel(St Andrews)
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ardgowan Hotel(St Andrews)
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$560
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,659)
Filter reviews
3,659 results
Traveller rating
1,996
948
442
182
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,996
948
442
182
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla cucinakittocks denrock and spindlecourtesy busgolf coursebar and grillafternoon teabeautiful hotelchanging roomsspa treatmentsleisure facilitiesfront of housesea viewgreat golfspecial occasionjunior suitebirthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
2,317 - 2,322 of 3,659 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great rooms, stunning location however, food and service not worthy of 5 star status. Club House restaurant in a stunning location overlooking St Andrew's Bay and up the coast, nice ambience. A real shame that the food wasn't brilliant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Alasdair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall time with us; however I was sorry that your dining experience did not meet with your expectations. I shall certainly discuss your comments with the relevant colleagues and ask them the address.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I made the mistake of taking my girlfriend to this hotel, room lovely we both thought this is going to be nice wrong, the restaurant in the hotel was closed leaving one choice the Italian o dear it was awful over priced the portions that small you could fit the food on a roll, plus it was not what was described on the menu.so we decided to have a dfink in the bar another mistake service was the worst I have ever come asross , from being ignored to been served the wrong drink to standing waiting for ten minutes to get served .a problem came up with somebody's order it then took 3 of the staff to try and solve it leaving 1 person to serve ridiculous . This completely spoiled my girlfriends birthday I will never return to this hotel. After spending all this money and complaining how very poor are stay was I was compensated £29 wow thanks for nothing .what a terrible terrible stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience.

Our guests feedback is invaluable to us and we do take it very seriously as we look to grow and develop both as a hotel and brand.

Following the emails that you sent directly to the hotel, I can confirm that your experience was fully investigated. Following our findings we believe that the appropriate level of compensation was offered to you and I am sorry that this does not meet with your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Dirty and disgusting overflow of toilet wash hand basin, torn bed sheets, noise at 3a.m. Of guest outside smoking for 30 minutes.
First time I have made a totally negative report of hotel. Of all the hotels I have stayed in this is the worst experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Trip Advisor page following your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and I was sorry to learn of your experience.

To allow us to look into your experience further, I would be grateful if you would contact us at the following address standrews.scotland@fairmont.com to ensure we are able to respond appropriately to the issues you have raised on this site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Beautiful resort location. Best view in the St. Andrews area. Very accessible to town. Nice golf course, busy but not as congested as the Links courses in town. Highly recommend the Clubhouse for evening dining. Limited menu but good food, terrific staff and memorable view. The hotel has a good staff which is very responsive. Good value for the pricing. Corner sea view rooms are hard to beat, but land view rooms are a reasonable value and you can enjoy the view at the Clubhouse Restaurant or while walking the grounds.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time and found our colleagues so be so helpful and courteous and your dining experience at our Clubhouse to be so memorable. We strive to meet our guests expectations and it is very encouraging and motivating to receive such feedback. I believe that it is thanks to our staff’s commitment and professionalism that we can offer our guests such a warm and welcoming service, and I shall look forward to sharing your generous words with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our final University stay and we decided to have a suite with a sea view, great room with a lovely lounge area, from our first welcome to our final departure we have never been disappointed. This is a very relaxing hotel and the coastal walk to St Andrews is one not to miss.

Room Tip: Sea view on the 3rd floor
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodinleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the tip to post your review on following your recent stay at The Fairmont St Andrews and for choosing to spend your last stay in St Andrews with us!

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews