We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent all around!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent all around!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I don't normally stay at hotels in this price range, but circumstances forced us into it this time, and I can't say I was disappointed. The breakfast was amazing, staff were friendly, helpful and professional, and the room was clean and very comfortable. Here are three things I particularly liked about this hotel: (1) the air conditioning system actually worked and we had total control over the temperature of our room (it is amazing how many 4 and 5 star hotels put you in rooms with windows that don't open and an air conditioning system that doesn't work), (2) the hotel's fitness centre was very good, (3) the hotel's location overlooking St. Andrews is phenomenal. I particularly recommend the coastal pathway, a delightful hiking or running trail that can be accessed by walking directly towards the sea from the golf course clubhouse. We have stayed several times previously at other hotels right in St. Andrews (and loved it), but during grad week it wasn't such a bad thing to be a bit out of town at the Fairmont.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are probably great, although our friends had an east-facing room and found tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following you recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you had such wonderful experience with us and that you managed to find the time to enjoy the breathtaking coastal walk into St Andrews. I strongly believe that it is with thanks to our staffs friendliness and professionalism that allows our guests to feel so welcome and I shall certainly look forward to passing on your kind words to the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,633
    793
    373
    136
    74
See reviews for
670
1,486
34
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, staff very helpful on arrival, valet parking excellent and baggage was delivered to room within minutes. Room looked dated, window blind broken, air con faulty and didn't work and sink did not drain as it was bunged up!! Breakfast meal was very good and staff again very helpful. Stunning location, Big. Davie has excellent customer focus and made you feel very welcome. Unbelievably, for the price you pay to stay at this hotel, you have to pay extra for wi-FI!! Oh dear, that is poor considering it's free in most places these days. It's a good hotel, but is it 5 star? I have to say no!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsmi210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay and for your kind words with regards to our Front Desk, Concierge and Squire teams; I shall certainly look forward to sharing this with them.

I was however concerned with your comments of the guest room; should a guest be unhappy with any element of their stay we do welcome this being brought to our attention at the time to allow us the opportunity to offer a prompt and successful response.

You may wish to consider joining our Fairmont President Club; this is a free service and entitles you to complimentary wifi. If you are a frequent guest of Fairmont, you can build up your points over the year and receive many complimentary benefits throughout all Fairmont hotels from the minute you join!

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Wonderful setting, idyllic views, some lovely touches, some lovely efficient staff, lovely breakfast,
All in all a lovely couple of days, however, does it deserve five stars and does it justify the elevated costs, I would be doubtful.
A very snippy and stuffy waiter in the bar, twenty minutes to wait for tea and toast at breakfast, some room details requiring attention, over priced bar costs, dining choices need researching and more could be made of the wonderful grounds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nobledkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following you recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am so pleased that you found our setting with it’s idyllic views to be so enjoyable and that you found the staff to be so efficient whilst enjoying your overall stay.

I was disappointed however with your experience in the bar and likewise at breakfast. I shall discuss your feedback with the relevant colleagues to ensure that our usual high level of service to reflected throughout our hotel at all times.

We hope to have to pleasure of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have been here for an conference and had the time to explore the property.This is one of the best property and location whcih I have been to.
The golf course and the club house is the usp that they have,the service that we recieved was of world class and the food also was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satish k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for posting such a favourable review on Trip Advisor following you recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that whilst you were with us attending your conference you managed to explore Fairmont St Andrews and found our location, surroundings and food to be so wonderful!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Looks more like a military establishment than an hotel which is a tragedy given its beautiful location. Mainly brown inside with a 1980's atrium space, more Las Vegas than St Andrews, effectively blocking views of the sea. We stayed 3 days here, very expensively, in what was described as an "Atrium Room". This turned out to be a room overlooking the massive and indeed ugly, glazed atrium roof, rather than the "magnificent roofed Atrium" as described in the blurb. "Limited views", also promised in the blurb, turned into no views at all unless you have a preference for acres of grubby glass blocking all views including the sky. Generally, an expensive but mediocre experience.

Room Tip: Don't go for the Atrium rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

It is disappointing that the decor was not to your preferred taste and that that your guestroom was not to your expectation. Our guests feedback is very important to us and I shall discuss your comments with the relevant colleagues.

I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time with us and we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying at the Fairmont and we realize it is absolutely not a good choice to come as a family. Whilst the rooms are nice and the service in general is ok, the hotel is not prepared to host a family.
The pool can only be used by kids from 8-9, 10:30-12:00 or 3-6pm, however since the hotel does not provide any supervision in the pool area, the kids can only be there together with the parents. So if parents want to play golf (typically, these are the hours), they cannot.
I also tried to use a sporting area or room in order to so some workout with my daughter. I was forbidden to do so as she is not yet 16. So even under parental supervision we were forbidden to use the empty studio but were suggested to do the workout in the room or the children's playroom. The hotel was not looking for a solution but just hiding behind a rule.
We still enjoy the stay but clearly would expect much more customer focus than we experienced.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank axel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
In general Fairmont St Andrews is known to be a family friendly resort and it is disappointing to learn that you felt otherwise.
Following considerable feedback from guests, Splash Times were introduced during the holiday seasons. Many of our guests without children felt that there was not a specific time where they could swim, relax and utilise the pool area without children being present, especially during holiday seasons when the volume of children increases dramatically. Likewise many of our guest with families felt uncomfortable bringing their children into the pool when they could see that guests were trying to relax.

For the safely of guests under the age of 16, we do ask that they are supervised either in the pool or poolside by an accompanying adult. Likewise guests under the age of 16 are not permitted into the gym I am sorry for the inconvenience and disappointment that this caused.

I am pleased that following your review on Trip Advisor our Concierge Manager had the opportunity to discuss your experience with you whilst you were here. This has since been followed up with the relevant colleagues and they have been reminded to ensure that where possible, to always consider alternative ways to accommodate our guests requests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We joined friends at the Clubhouse restaurant for evening meal, the food was to die for, a bit expensive but well worth it. Staff were friendly and could not do enough for us. Meals were very well prepared and presented. Would defo recommend eating here and we are planning a retuen trip later this month. The view from the club house is magnificent. Well worth the trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience in our Clubhouse whilst meeting up with friends. The setting and atmosphere along with the cuisine is quite something and I shall look forward to sharing your experience with the Clubhouse team.

I am thrilled that you are already planning your next visit; please do let me know when you have a date in mind and I will be delighted to assist with your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#10 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
9.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Property: Fairmont St Andrews
Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Fairmont Hotels, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing