We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Wyoming, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 days for a conference. I read some negatives reviews and was a bit concerned but no worries...it was great. Our room was very nice. It is a decent size with a little sitting area. The bathroom was big enough for a tub and a large shower. Housekeeping was very nice and we had several requests of xtra towels and robes. The only real complaint I have is that the shuttle could only carry around 16 people and when the hotel is at full capacity they should be running more than one every hour there were often times there was not enough from the hold everyone so the shuttle would have to drop a group often go back and get another group. If you want to be sure of riding the shuttle on the first trip you need to go to the old course for your pick up

Room Tip: Personally would not pay any extra for a water view you just don't get that much out of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank placestogopeopletose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that whilst attending the conference you enjoyed your stay at Fairmont St Andrews and found your guestroom to be comfortable and our colleagues, especially our Housekeeping Attendants to be so helpful. I shall certainly look forward to sharing your kind words with the team!

Your suggestion with regards to the complimentary shuttle service that we run is most helpful and I shall certainly discuss this with the relevant colleagues.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,741
    831
    388
    152
    81
See reviews for
714
1,572
39
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for one night, and had a pleasant stay. I would definitely recommend to others. The staff were all friendly, we didn't use the restaurant, but it looked nice. I would say that if you don't have a car, then this hotel may not be ideal for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tr0y123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on following your recent stay at The Fairmont St Andrews.

It is great to hear that you had such a fantastic experience with us and you found our staff to be so friendly and welcoming!

For our guests who don’t have their own transport or maybe prefer to not have to think about parking or bus timetables in St Andrews town, we do offer a complimentary shuttle service. This service is very popular with many of our guests and runs hourly between 9am and 6pm.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked one evening at the Fairmont St Andrews on June 29th. We were really looking forward to a relaxing evening and have stayed at many of the Fairmonts across Canada and have always been so impressed with the facilities, but most of all the service. We were expecting that same level of service at St Andrews, but were very disappointed with our experience there. I definitely would not stay again, and would likely be reluctant to recommend to friends or family. It seems that there are much better places that we could have stayed.

The check in procedure seemed strangely chaotic, even though we were the only guests there and there were 5 desk agents. They didn't have our booking ready, so then started printing everything off, and then handed us some paperwork to check over that was actually that of another guest (with all her personal information on it!!). We let the desk agent know it was incorrect and he just tossed it on the floor…makes you wonder how safe your info is! We requested gym clothes to be brought to our room, however throughout our stay and 2 requests, those never appeared.

When we got to our room, everything was perfectly nice….very clean, large bathroom with nice big tub and separate shower. The view was terrible -- it was of the roof of the hotel and completely blocked any light coming in. It may have been nice to have been given the option at check in to upgrade our room as we likely would've opted to do so. We weren't familiar with the layout of the hotel when we booked online so were unaware that that was what we would end up with. But not a huge deal as the room itself was fine. We noticed that there was no hair dryer in the room, so when we went down for dinner, we stopped at the front desk to request one, and again remind them of the gym clothes.
When we got back from dinner, there was still no hair dryer or gym clothes. We left it until the morning when my husband called down and asked for a hair dryer again (we had given up on the gym clothes at this point!)….an hour later, we called again. We were then told that a housekeeper had come into our room and checked and we did indeed have a hair dryer….we advised the front desk that we hadn't left our room all morning so this was not possible. THey said they would send one up, and still half an hour later, nothing. We tracked down a housekeeper in the hall who gave us one finally….seemed like a big ordeal for something that small!!
Lastly when we had our car brought round, the valet was on the phone when he pulled our car up to the door and got out, left the door open and just tossed the keys to my husband and walked away….didn't offer to put our bag in or anything. It seemed very rude. We basically felt that because we just had a small rental car and not something more fancy that we were not "important" enough for his service. Normally the valets are so friendly at Fairmonts and wish you a nice day and safe travels…we often even find that they have left us a couple of bottles of water for our journey in the car, but not the case here!!

Anyway, I'm glad we stayed as we had always wanted to stay at the Fairmont St ANdrews so I guess we can now check it off the list, but I would definitely look elsewhere next time. It certainly does not live up to the Fairmont name.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 78review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Trip Advisor page following your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and I was concerned whilst reading your review.

To allow us to look into your experience further, I would be grateful if you would contact us at the following address standrews.scotland@fairmont.com to ensure we are able to respond appropriately to the issues you have raised on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is my 8th visit to the Fairmont St Andrews and everytime I go back my experieince gets better and better. My Favourite part of the hotel is the all the staff!! Every single member of staff cannot do enough to help you without been in your face. I really like La Cucina for an evening meal, it is a lovely place to relax and eat. Can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Hatchback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on following your recent stay at The Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that yet again you had such a wonderful time with us! As you rightly highlight our colleagues are the making of the hotel and I shall certainly look forward to sharing your kind words with them.

May I thank you for your loyalty to Fairmont St Andrews; we very much look forward to welcoming you back for yet another wonderful experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband wanted out of the noisy city center, so we moved here. The hotel is 5 miles out of town in a quiet peaceful location with golf on site.
We paid more than the hotel in the city, but for the extra money we got
AC, quiet, fantastic breakfast, better service, and great views.
This is a fairly typical resort hotel.
We don't normally stay in expensive resort hotels, but sometimes you just need to
splurge.

Room Tip: If you join the frequent stayer program you will get free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swelgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the tip to post your review on following your recent stay at The Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time with us and you and enjoyed the tranquility of our location; we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Law
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed in the hotel on the 8th of July with my husband and 3 young children, we have stayed several times before but this visit has to be one of our best yet. The new Italian restaurant is great and the staff are excellent! My 3 year old daughter had jammed her finger in a door about 5mins before we were due to go down for our evening meal, on arrival at the restaurant the staff took time to ask her what was wrong and a staff member called Lee came over and gave her a little soft toy dog to take care of during her meal, she was delighted and was told when we were leaving to keep the toy, very nice touch and a memory we will remember x from check in to breakfast staff they are all excellent and have great customer service skills. We were lucky enough to be staying in the presidential kingdom of fife suite which was luxury! 10/10!!! Looking forward to our next visit, x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieheaney3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you and your family had such a wonderful time with us and you enjoyed your meal in La Cucina. I was sorry to hear that you daughter trapped her finger in the door before arriving for supper, however I am pleased that a Fairmont Scotty Dog was able to help distract her so she could her enjoy her evening too!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Really nice hotel with some brilliant sea views. The pool and spa facilities are excellent too. We had a deluxe suite on 3rd floor which had twin aspect views of the sea - superb! Staff all very helpful, room was very nicely furnished & decorated and super breakfast buffet. Had very nice meal in Clubhouse restaurant, nicely cooked and presented - only spoiled by a somewhat loud American that felt he had to complain about everything!!!!

Room Tip: Third floor with sea view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan57muir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time and found our colleagues so be so helpful and courteous and your suite and dining experience in The Clubhouse to be so enjoyable. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and it is very encouraging and motivating to receive such feedback. I believe that it is thanks to our staff’s commitment and professionalism that we can offer our guests such a warm and welcoming service, and I shall look forward to sharing your kind words with them.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back for another wonderful experience in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,286 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
494 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
217 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
395 reviews
3.0 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Property: Fairmont St Andrews
Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing