We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Lovely hotel in beautiful setting, perfect location.. Walk along the beach to st andrews is stunning. The golf course in good condition and very scenic. Breakfast fantastic with great variety.
Improvements needed when it comes to the following:
Room doors slam.. Forget about having a good night rest. It would be nice too if other guests could kindly be asked to keep noise levels down out of consideration for sleeping guests. Expect to be woken by slamming doors and laughing for the entire duration of the night.
Rooms need a deep clean.. Had to move a chair and it was filthy underneath. Hairs from previous geusts stuck to chairs and in the drawers. The bed linnen is stained from lipstick and mascara.
The spa fascilities will be getting a needed upgrade... Pity kids are allowed and so expect not to relax by the pool but have children screaming and running about. Other than the negatives, the location made up for it and we will probably stay here again in future.. Hope the hotel make some improvements.

Room Tip: Choose room with sea view or you wont like the hotel at all.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mandatravels007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience with us at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and I shall certainly look forward to sharing your kind words with the team.

I was however disappointed to learn of your comments with regards to the cleanliness of your guest room and the disruption caused by fellow guests. Should guests have issues with any aspect of the quality of our service or inappropriate behavior from fellow guests we welcome this being brought to our attention at the time to enable a prompt and successful response.

Fairmont St Andrews is a family friendly hotel. During school holidays Splash Times are in place and generally, the feedback from the majority of our guests has been positive. Whilst it allows our guests without being disturbed by children, it also allows guests with families to feel comfortable that their children are not disturbing fellow guests whilst enjoying the facility.

We very much hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,273)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont St Andrews
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,916 - 1,922 of 3,273 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Having stayed here about 6 years ago and enjoyed a first class experience, I have to say on this occasion the whole experience has been a little disappointing. The hotel facilities deserve the 5 star rating but the service has been far from 5 star. I have enjoyed far better attention to detail at hotels offering less expensive rates. I'll focus on a few positives. The location and surroundings are absolutely stunning and the hotel operates a regular free shuttle service to and from the town. Staff in general we're friendly and smart. The clubhouse restaurant served good food and the Kittocks Lounge is a great place to enjoy a relaxing afternoon tea or G & T. Now for the disappointing. Service in the breakfast restaurant was pretty poor, a request for a small pot of cream was forgotten, toast was soggy and staff seemed rushed off their feet. During an afternoon visit to the clubhouse lounge, we waited about 15 minutes to be served, but eventually I went to the bar myself to order some drinks. I was promised they would be with me shortly but another 10 minutes passed before I went back to the bar to chase up. They did eventually arrive! Housekeeping also seems to have declined somewhat, with towels left in the bath tub for replacement were just folded and left in place. A little thing, but biscuits were not replenished. It's a shame to remember these little things, but they are the often unnoticed things that add to the quality of a stay. It just appears to me that some corners are being cut at this wonderful location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mistermiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Fairmont St Andrews.

It is most disappointing to learn that we failed to meet with your expectations on this occasion. Our guests feedback is of great value to us and I shall address your comments with the relevant colleagues to ensure that we resume our usual high level of service.

Whilst I thank you for highlighting areas of improvement, may I also thank you for your complementary observations with regards to our beautiful setting and the friendliness of our team. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Excellent golf facilities. The golf courses are in great shape. Play from relevant tees to match your game. Trying the back tees can make for a long day. !9 th hole staff is very friendly and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Maninder G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience with us at Fairmont St Andrews.

I was delighted to read that you found our courses to be in such great condition. It without a doubt thanks to the dedication and passion of our Greenkeeping team and I shall certainly look forward to sharing your kind words with them!

Likewise I am pleased that you enjoyed the welcome and service that you experience at the 19 hole!

I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time with us as much and we very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We have a semi view room with two queen beds which is very nice. The beds are super comfy and the bathroom is sooo nice! The pool and jacuzzi and steam room are amazing too. The steam room is infused with eucalyptus which makes it really refreshing and great for your skin. On your way out you'll go through the spa office with lots of fancy skin testers which are really nice on your skin. We went to La Cucina restaurant which wasn't that good. We had a free coupon for dinner but we wouldn't been mad if we had to pay for the small portions of mediocre food.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Ruth_Magee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic experience with us and that you found the time to relax and unwind in our signature Spa!

We set high standards for service and cuisine and I was sorry to learn that your experience in La Cucina did not meet with your expectations. I shall certainly share your feedback with the relevant colleagues and ask that they to ensure that these are demonstrated at all times.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Top class friendly service. From prebooking restaurants both in the hotel and in St Andrews - we had everyone like clockwork for our group of 8 golfers staying at Fairmont. The concierge service was a pleasure - check them out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank SingaporeExpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable time with us and that you found our staff to be so friendly and welcoming. I truly believe that it is with thanks to the teams friendliness and professionalism that allows our guests to feel so welcome and I shall certainly look forward to sharing your kind words with them.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Staying at the Fairmont made a great trip even better! Beautiful grounds, rooms, outstanding staff- one of best properties I've ever stayed. Convenient to St. Andrews, as well. Only wish we had stayed more than 3 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Bradley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Fairmont St Andrews.

I am thrilled that you had such a fantastic experience all round and that everything about your stay with us was so enjoyable!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The views here are AMAZING! The air is so fresh-you can smell it!It is so green.The clubhouse overlooks the water,the food is delicious.Worth a trip when it is not raining all the time!The hotel shuttle takes you to the town of St.Andrews.The town is quite perfect.

Room Tip: Overlooking the water-Not the Driveway!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Embers171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so much for your generous words and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful time with us and enjoyed your experience in The Clubhouse. The setting and the atmosphere along with the cuisine is quite something and I shall look forward to sharing your kind words with the team.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,154 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,299 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
681 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
412 reviews
9.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £135 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting, Fairmont St Andrews has something for everyone. From lavish rooms to a luxurious spa, championship golf to exquisite dining, our five star attention to detail is unsurpassed. Enjoy the views overlooking the medieval St Andrews and the North Sea. Play golf on The Torrance and The Kittocks or wind down in our Fairmont Spa with locally themed treatments using the finest Ishga Skin Care products. Indulge in delicate pastries and cakes in our Savoy Afternoon Tea experience served in the Atrium Lounge with a rich colour scheme and nautical elements that reflect the surrounding landscape including a lighting installation by renowned artist George Singer. We guarantee your stay will become a treasured memory! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing