We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

From the moment you arrive till the second you leave you are always treated with the highest standard. Add that to the perfect surroundings, this makes this hotel the perfect destination for 1 day to a week or more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to general Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time with us and found your entire experience to be so memorable, whilst enjoying our idyllic surroundings. I shall certainly look forward to sharing your kind words with the team as I truly believe that it with thanks to their commitment and dedication that our guests can enjoy such a warm and welcoming experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,947 - 1,953 of 3,318 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We decided to visit St Andrew's for a couple of days and wanted to stay somewhere really luxurious so we decided on the Fairmont hotel. The hotel is in a lovely location and sits a long way back from the main road and next to a golf course so there is no noise at all around the resort. We spent the morning on the beach and when we went to check in about 4pm the receptionist Zuzana (apologies if I have misspelt the name) told us that we had been upgraded from the suite we had booked to a suite with a sea view so we were very pleased with this. Zuzana was lovely and very helpful and explained that our suite was ready but it had to be checked by a supervisor so she offered us a complimentary drink in the bar while we waited. We took her up on this offer and waited in the bar until the suite was ready. It didn't take long at all and Zuzana came back to us in the bar with our key and also booked dinner for us that evening.

We were very happy with the suite (2029), it was a great size and spotless.The view from the room down over St Andrew's Bay was lovely especially as the weather was so great. We couldn't see much in the evening after the mist came in off the sea but we enjoyed that too! The king size bed was so comfortable and it was the best night's sleep we have ever had in a hotel. We heard absolutely no noise, either from outside the hotel or from fellow guests.

The only minor gripe that we have with the hotel is that the WiFi has to be paid for. While it's not really a huge deal we did feel that, as staying in this hotel is by no means cheap, the WiFi should automatically be included in the room fee.

We had dinner in La Cucina on the evening that we stayed and had a great seat on the balcony. The service was good and although the food was nice I feel it was a little overpriced but that didn't bother us too much. The breakfast in the morning was buffet style and had a lot of choice, from a cooked breakfast to fruit/cereal/croissants etc and we really enjoyed it.

Check out was quick and simple and we were off to spend another day at the beach before coming home again. It was my first time staying in a 5 star hotel and it didn't disappoint, we definitely wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We had suite 2029 and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you found your suite to be so comfortable and form the moment you arrived to the moment you left you have such a wonderful time with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay at Fairmont St Andrews in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A great hotel that is a perfect place to get away and enjoy the charms of St. Andrews. Rooms are spacious with every expected amenity, including coffee/tea and ironing board. The spa is fantastic. I had a great massage and one of the best facials ever. Breakfast is excellent - a buffet with every possible option (including haggis, which is very good here). And the views of the sea are lovely. But it's the staff that really put this property ahead of the others. Davey greets every guest in a kind and extremely welcoming way, making them feel like they are with family. The concierge team is incredibly efficient and even miracle workers at times. Kudos to Mauireen and Kenny who truly made our stay a once-in-a-lifetime experience. The hotel is located a short 5-10 minute drive from the center of St. Andrews; a courtesy shuttle is available during daytime hours (taxi's are easy to secure in the evening). Charlene, the shuttle driver, was fun with a great sense of humor and also added to our fond memories of the Fairmont St. Andrews. This was my second stay at this hotel, and I wouldn't consider any other property in St. Andrews.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room. It's worth the extra supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxtravgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you had such a fantastic time with us; it really is very encouraging and certainly motivating to receive such wonderful feedback. We strive to meet our guests expectations and where possible exceed them and I am delighted that you have experienced this! It is without a doubt thanks to our staff’s commitment and professionalism that we can offer such a warm and welcoming service, and I shall to look forward to sharing your feedback with them; especially to those you mention!

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont Hotel for a couple of days on 20th July and ate at the Clubhouse, we were greaty impressed with the food, the presentation was good and the food was outstanding , we could not fault it at all. WELL DONE CHEFs (and we travel around a lot) on the second night we were booked into the italian but cancelled and ate again at the Clubhouse. The menu on the 2nd night slightly differed but once again it was lovely. The service on both these nights was outstanding.
The buffett breakfast was no more that expected, service was ok.
We will be staying again and booking the clubhouse for all our meals, we felt extremely spoilt, nothing was to much trouble, and the view from the clubhouse is spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank steve100_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you had such a memorable experience at The Clubhouse and found the meal and service to be so enjoyable; I shall look forward to sharing your kind words with the team!

I would like to thank you also for your comments with regards to breakfast; I shall certainly share this with the relevant colleagues to ensure our guests can experience our usual high standards of service at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andres in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was the best hotel stay we have ever had anywhere. The staff and the hotel are great. It made our dream trip to St. Andrews all that we hoped it would be. I highly recommend this resort. Even if you don't golf.






  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Fairmont St Andrews!

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time with us; we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was a girly treat for myself and my daughter. We were lucky and arrived on Tuesday which was a beautiful day. We were greeted at the door by a lovely man and this was a good start to our wee break. The receptionist (male) I didn't get his name was really friendly. The staff at this hotel are all lovely, everyone had a smile and were all really friendly and helpful. The room was big and really nice with a separate bath and shower. We had dinner in the Clubhouse restaurant which was absolutely lovely with stunning views. Our waiter (John) was really nice and made us laugh. We had dinner the second night in La Cucina restaurant and were not as impressed with this as we had been at the Clubhouse. We had a total chill out time at the pool, the facilities were good, the pool is a good size, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna and just generally chilling round the pool with a magazine was brilliant. We were spoiled for choice with breakfast, there was something for everyone. All in all we did what we came to do and completely chilled out. Hopefully I will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rosslyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time with us and that you achieved what you set out to do; chill out and relax with your daughter. We strive to offer our guests an exceptional experience to allow you to enjoy your time with us and it is fantastic to hear that we demonstrated this to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews for some more 'chill out time' with your daughter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Everything about our visit to Fairmont was wonderful. The rooms were perfect, the staff was friendly and helpful. On this trip we stayed at four different hotels and the Fairmont was by far the best. I will definitely stay at Fairmont Hotels in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Fairmont St Andrews.

I am thrilled that you had such and wonderful time with us and may I thank you for your kind words; I shall certainly look forward to sharing your review with the team!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,171 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,305 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
687 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
427 reviews
9.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £145 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting, Fairmont St Andrews has something for everyone. From lavish rooms to a luxurious spa, championship golf to exquisite dining, our five star attention to detail is unsurpassed. Enjoy the views overlooking the medieval St Andrews and the North Sea. Play golf on The Torrance and The Kittocks or wind down in our Fairmont Spa with locally themed treatments using the finest Ishga Skin Care products. Indulge in delicate pastries and cakes in our Savoy Afternoon Tea experience served in the Atrium Lounge with a rich colour scheme and nautical elements that reflect the surrounding landscape including a lighting installation by renowned artist George Singer. We guarantee your stay will become a treasured memory! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing