We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxed stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Inchture, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice relaxed stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went here for an anniversary celebration. The hotel was lovely and welcoming. The room was nice but the bathroom was quite dated in decor. The food was lovely. Overall a nice trip and we would happily go back to the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank rosie-punch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that enjoyed your time with us whist celebrating such a special occasion and you found our hotel along with our staff to be so welcoming.

We look forward to welcoming you back for to Fairmont St Andrews in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,724
    823
    386
    146
    80
See reviews for
705
1,554
39
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night room very comfortable and dinner in the busy Italian was nice - if a little over priced. All staff were warm and friendly with the exception of the bar manager of the Italian who was in my opinion rude and on a power trip toward a group of South Africans on a golfing trip touring Scotland. Breakfast was first class and I always prefer to have an egg chief to cook eggs as you like them, the chief at fairmont did this perfectly. Lovely views out to sea over the golf course and a 10 minute taxi ride takes you into St. Andrews it's self.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenaz46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you found your guestroom to be so comfortable and you had such a wonderful time with us!

May I thank you for your observation with regards to the colleague you mention in La Cucina. Our guests feedback is very helpful to us and I shall share this with the relevant colleague to ensure our usual high level of professional service is demonstrated at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay at Fairmont St Andrews in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Fantastic hotel to visit. Could not fault the hotel. A problem at check in was immediatley resolved with no fuss or excuses. Management and staff where excellent very professional in how they went about their work. Room, amenities and views where fantastic. You pay a bit more because it's 5 star but if you can afford it, worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank BrianDA53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews.

It is great to hear that you had such a fantastic experience with us and you left with such positive memories! I believe that it is thanks to our staff’s commitment and professionalism that we can offer our guests such a warm and welcoming service, and I shall look forward to sharing your kind words with them.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What an amazing hotel. Great location, decor, rooms and facilities, but service is pretty poor.
Staff all very friendly and nice but not enough of them to serve anyone.
Tables left uncleared for ages and despite not being overly busy had to wait for a table for ages at breakfast because they were dirty.
Charged nearly £4 for TINNED HIENZ TOMATO SOUP!!!!!!! not what I would expect from a travel lodge never mind 5star luxury.
Also charged for rooms twice.
Also in this day and age is there really any need to charge over £3 a day to use wifi when it costs a small fortune to stay eat or drink here?
No one to clear glasses so bar ran out of them????
If u want 5 star luxury hotel and service go to Turnberry instead. Was treated like royalty there and setting is as beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

well situated hotel
2 golf courses- what more could you want?
found the fod at the clubhouse quite good, not at the italian restaurant

staff quite attentive to customers request

found the iitalian restaurant verry ordinary, food did not taste and portions too small

better off at the clubhouse

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19paul49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience with us.

I am so pleased that overall you enjoyed your experience with us and found our setting, golf courses and staff to be so welcoming and I shall look forward to sharing your kind words with the team!

It is however most disappointing that your meal in La Cucina did not meet with your expectations. I will certainly discuss your comments with the La Cucina team to ensure that our guests dining experience are consistently of the highest order.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have had a thoroughly relaxing stay at the Fairmont St Andrews. Yes it's pricey but you know you're getting waited on hand and foot and can relax and have an enjoyable few days. We were really impressed with the quality of food in both La Cucina and the Clubhouse restaurant. All staff were extremely attentive and aimed to make out stay as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to returning later in the year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank aliefind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you had such a wonderfully relaxing time with us and that everything about your stay was so impressive! I shall certainly look forward to sharing your kind words with the team!

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable stay in later on in the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great hotel, location, golf courses, staff, this property is so far ahead of the Old Course and Gleneagles. One of the best hotels I have personally stayed in and missing Snuff (the dog) at reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Graeme A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews.

It is great to hear that you had such a fantastic experience with us and you found everything about your stay to be so enjoyable! I believe that it is thanks to our staff’s commitment and professionalism that we can offer our guests such a warm and welcoming service, and I shall look forward to sharing your kind words with them.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,129 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,274 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
9.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
211 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Property: Fairmont St Andrews
Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing