We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-appointed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We selected this hotel as a special birthday celebration, based on good reviews and recommendation from friends. Initial impressions were very good, from the warm reception (including a glass of Proseco for the birthday boy!) to the large well-appointed room with a view over one of the hotel's two golf courses and the quite impressive spa and pool. The concierge service is friendly and efficient (with local staff). However, most of the other staff we came into contact with were not local but, although very efficient, seemed to be East European.

We were staying on a B&B basis and had intended to sample restaurants in St Andrews but because the hotel's shuttle bus did not run after 6.00pm (the hotel is about 3 miles outside the town) we decided to eat in the hotel. It is here that I feel the hotel is lacking. The hotel is very much designed on the American model and within the hotel there is only one place to dine. This is an Italian restaurant which we found to be of average quality. Surprisingly, to us, the only other place to dine was in the Golf Clubhouse which is located about a half-mile away. We walked but a shuttle is available if required. The views over the sea and St Andrews Bay are stunning but the ambience of the room is unattractive and dining experience is very ordinary (cost for set three course meal for two, £73 including a glass of wine). Breakfast, however, is excellent and strongly recommended.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel for golfers. Indeed, many of the guests were American on golf package holidays. There was a further disappointment at check-out as the bill was inaccurate. We were being charged for an expensive bottle of wine in the clubhouse which we did not have and had not signed for but somehow had found its way onto the print-out after the check was signed. The error, of course, was rectified but did not leave a good impression.

Will we go back - perhaps not as there are better hotels around in this price-bracket .

Room Tip: All rooms have an open outlook with views over the golf course and some looking towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank portsoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Fairmont St Andrews.

It is most disappointing to learn that not all areas of the hotel met with your expectations and similarly to learn of the inaccuracy of your bill in The Clubhouse; whilst I can confirm it would not be a usual experience a guest would encounter, I am pleased that when you brought this to our attention we rectified the matter immediately. Our guests feedback is of great value to us and I shall certainly share your comments with the relevant colleagues.

Whilst I thank you for highlighting your overall experience, may I also thank you for your complementary observations with regards to your guestroom and our Concierge team. I shall look forward to sharing these with them.

I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,903 - 1,909 of 3,318 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our family of three stayed here for 2 nights in August and loved every minute of our visit. We were given a spacious room with a lovely view of the water. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. The weather was windy and rainy, but we walked over to the golf building where they gave us directions on how to continue walking down to find a coastal path that runs along the water. If you take the path and the weather is wet, be sure to wear shoes with grips as the path is windy and steep at times. We enjoyed looking for sea glass on the beach and spending some time by the water. You cannot walk into St. Andrews, but the hotel offers a free shuttle service to two different points in town (which is nice if you don't want to look for parking there). One night we ordered food from La Cucina and had a very good Italian meal (via room service). We also enjoyed driving along the coast and visited some of the smaller towns. I hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank junodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews.

It is great to hear that you had such a fantastic time with us and you found your stay to be so memorable! It sounds like you did a lot of exploring whilst you were here and I am thrilled that enjoyed our beautiful location!

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Fantastic, as always! Warm friendly welcome, excellent facilities and food! Great value for money! Our No 1 Hotel. Its wonderful to have a Hotel that you know and trust. Every visit is memorable, and we will return asap

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank les_smith23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

I am so pleased that you had a lovely time with us at Fairmont St Andrews and I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review on Trip Advisor! I shall certainly look forward to sharing your kind words with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable time with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is truly amazing! from the valet parking till checkout, staff make you feel very special with a very relaxed atmosphere in the hotel. The golf is a must if you staying at this hotel as the views are to die for!My wife has a treatment in the spa which was also amazing.The food in the squire restaurant is also fantastic!The freshly cooked rolls were my favorite.
The best customer service, a stay here is highly recommended.
Cant wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful time with us from the minute you arrived to the minute you left and I shall enjoy to sharing your kind words with the team!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I booked this hotel to celebrate my other half's birthday.
Was greeted with champagne and chocolates, which I thought was a great touch.
The whole stay was truly amazing and wont hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we were able to help make your partners birthday so special!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This property is an excellent example of a high end hotel in a spectacular setting. Even though the weather was raining and chilly it didn't dampen the experience. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable. The hotel sits close to the water and is surrounded by two golf courses. It was great to be surrounded by golf history.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time with us and that you relished our idyllic setting and found your guestroom to be so spacious and comfortable!

I am pleased that you didn’t let the weather get in the way of your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews for another memorable experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was our first night of 8 for a guys (4) golf bucket list trip. The hotel is quite nice and service (porters, reception, etc.) was extremely good. The golf courses are very good and shouldn't be overlooked. The price was fair for us as had gone in mid-May to avoid the crowds and the weather is nearly the same as Summer. The rooms were large enough to accommodate two golfers with golf bags, cases, etc. The restaurant/pub near the Pro Shop was actually very good - both food and a good assortment of drink. One thing to note is this hotel is outside St. Andrew's so you won't be walking about looking for a pub after you round - somewhat of a captive audience without car or taxi. So absolutely worth a 2-3 days of your trip for golf and relaxation but you won't get any of the charm and sights that you would if in downtown St. Andrews.

Room Tip: in the back facing the Pro Shop - second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSD_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us whilst with your friends and that you found our courses to be in such good shape and I will be delighted to share your kind words with the team!

We are located approximately 5 minutes outside of St Andrews town centre; for our guests who don’t have their own transport or maybe prefer to not have to think about parking or bus timetables to St Andrews town, we do offer a complimentary shuttle service. This service is very popular with many of our guests and runs hourly between 9am and 6pm. However, should our guests wish to go into town out with these hours our concierge team would be delighted to arrange a taxi on their behalf.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,171 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,305 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
687 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
427 reviews
9.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £145 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting, Fairmont St Andrews has something for everyone. From lavish rooms to a luxurious spa, championship golf to exquisite dining, our five star attention to detail is unsurpassed. Enjoy the views overlooking the medieval St Andrews and the North Sea. Play golf on The Torrance and The Kittocks or wind down in our Fairmont Spa with locally themed treatments using the finest Ishga Skin Care products. Indulge in delicate pastries and cakes in our Savoy Afternoon Tea experience served in the Atrium Lounge with a rich colour scheme and nautical elements that reflect the surrounding landscape including a lighting installation by renowned artist George Singer. We guarantee your stay will become a treasured memory! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing