We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont St Andrews
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinnettles Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Vardon House(St Andrews)
View Hotel
The Russell Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hazelbank Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardgowan Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,630)
Filter reviews
3,630 results
Traveller rating
1,982
939
439
181
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,982
939
439
181
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla cucinakittocks denrock and spindlecourtesy busgolf coursebar and grillafternoon teabeautiful hotelchanging roomsspa treatmentsleisure facilitiesfront of housesea viewgreat golfspecial occasionjunior suitebirthday treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,302 - 3,307 of 3,630 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2010

This was my 4th visit to this hotel in the past 5 years, used to be called the St Andrews Bay Hotel.

From the moment you drive up the very impressive long drive & are greeted by extremely friendly staff, one of whom unloads your car & then parks it for you, this hotel impresses.

The rooms are spacious, very well designed & equipped & have the most wonderful bathroom, complete with under floor heating, large bath & walk in large shower. The rooms are very clean & kept that way during your stay.

We ate in the bar and it was quite reasonable for a 5 star hotel & I'm rather a fussy vegetarian & there wasn't a lot on the menu for me but they said that I only had to ask & they would do their best to give me the food I wanted - and they did.

The gym is a good size for the hotel as is the swimming pool. Didn't use the spa facilities this time but have in the past & enjoyed my relaxing massage.

Buffet breakfast is plentiful & there is also an egg station so you can get any type of egg you wish.

Really great hotel with friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

My welcome at the reception was awful. Soon forgot about it as hotel is fantastic, waiting staff at breakfasr very attentive. Beds blissfully comfortable. Check out at reception very very good, much better than my welcome, very strange!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We've just returned from our second stay this year at the Fairmont, and would have to echo a lot of the sentiment expressed elsewhere. There is no question that this is a fabulous hotel, and you can never really be critical to any significant extent - mostly the hotel does everything well and as you would expect. Others have been critical of the building, but it provides a bright, airy and spacious atmosphere - this hotel never feels crowded even when is obviously quite busy. The rooms are of a standard that would be the norm in an ideal world, each with a warm and roomy bathroom boasting a separate bath and superb walk-in shower. The leisure centre & gym are also well equipped, and of a standard befitting the hotel. My wife had a spa treatment on both stays, and was impressed with the professionalism and knowledge of the staff involved. We didn't eat in the hotel at all on this occasion, favouring instead to take advantage of the generous courtesy bus which runs to & from St Andrews every hour up to 10pm during the summer season. We ate on a couple of occasions at the hotel the previous time both in "The Squire" and also "The Rock & Spindle". Although a tad expensive, the quality and quantity of the food could not be faulted. Similarly, drinks in the hotel bars are also quite pricey, but that's probably something you have to accept in these establishments. Front line staff were also very helpful, courteous, and cheerful, particularly the concierge staff, but waiting staff equally so. Where I agree with others, is that if any criticism can be levied, it is that of the housekeeping. I think that they must have a lack of housekeeping staff, as rooms are only treated to the minimum necessary cleaning & changing, and this always seem to be later in the day. On one day of our last stay, the room wasn't attended at all. I think that this is probably this hotel's only slight weakness, and if they concentrate to address this issue then it would fully warrant it's 5 star status.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonSider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Strange hotel...the architect must have done airline terminals and not hotels before. You walk into a nice lobby and just a bit further are confronted with the atrium from some airport. This completely destroys the ambience at the hotel, as it is more like waiting at the gate for a plane than having a "nice" breakfast. This is totally out of character with the rest of the hotel and the great rooms. We had an outstanding room with views over the ocean and city and there was not one complaint to make about these accomodations. Service was very inconsistent....from great to poor....but always very friendly. It is quite a good 4 star hotel, but sadly not in the 5 star category given its beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Overall friendly efficient staff. Relaxing atmosphere. Excellent leisure facilities and choice of restaurants. Very child friendly. You don't need to be a golfer to appreciate this hotel. Enjoyed our stay immensly - will definately go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laverbairnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews