We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping Mall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Stayed here luckily for only one night-check in took forever,my room was miles away,we chose to eat in the bar-two members of staff trying to serve around 30 people with food and drink,a bottle of wine had to be collected from the restaurant (must have been a long way away) and took around 30 mins to arrive,bar food was OK in a fast food type way but the whole place with its huge atrium and vast open spaces had the charm of a shopping mall.
Rooms were large and based on the model of many US chain hotels I have stayed in,everything worked and was comfortable.
Given the location and the level of tourism I think the service should be way better,not the fault of the staff, just there weren't enough of them to cope-blame the management.
OK place for one night and no more.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charly2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,273)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont St Andrews
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,949 - 2,955 of 3,273 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2010

My wife and I, along with our baby daughter, stayed at the hotel in the summer of 2009 for 4 nights (I know, took me a while to get round to doing a review). It was our first time staying at the hotel and it was a great experience. Very plush, quiet location, staff were very friendly and helpful, clean rooms, great breakfast, nice big pool and sauna ......courtesy bus to and from St Andrews town centre is a godsend also!! Perfect for a few days in St Andrews. So much so we are booked up to visit again at the end of July 2010, looking forward to going back! It is a little bit more expensive than a normal hotel, but well worth it for the service. Still cheaper and less hassle than going to Spain or wherever, especially with a young family. Spent our days at the beach, the Country Park, and walking round St Andrews and visiting the little boutiques. Well recommended. Darren James

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJamesPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Just come back form a 10 day stay at The Fairmont. Excellent welcome at the hotel - great service at reception - they kept breakfast open for us even though it was supposed to finish at 10 am. The most awful ambient music in the massive breakfast room - felt like you should be having a massage not haggis and eggs!! Breakfast was amazing - freshly cooked and loads of choice but this is the only positive thing I can say about the food. We were served raw chicken one evening and the kids who were masquerading as staff could not deal with the complaint. Eventually someone in an ill fitting suit - he never claimed to be a manager - so we weren't sure of his actual role - came out - said the chef was sorry and we didn't have to pay for the chicken starter although we had to pay for the rest of the meal and glibly offered us a drink on the house - which by this time we didnt want. I am actually appalled that a hotel at this level did not have an english speaking manager who could deal with a situation like this. We were not happy with how the situation was dealt with and he could see that, but he just walked off. Now The Open was due to start in a few days after this and I wonder how Justin Rose or one of the golfers we saw in the restaurant that very evening would have felt if he had been served uncooked bloody chicken - and then offered a drink to say sorry......
Apart from the overpriced and very bland food on offer and the most awful architecture - the glass atrium covering the centre of the hotel resembled an airport and the layout of the restaurants looked like an american shopping mall - the rooms and front desk service (great concierges!) were brilliant. I would like to have been able to recommend this hotel but the uncooked chicken episode wont let me........shame.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jools66Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a 1 night stay at this hotel wih our 7 year old daughter and 2 year old son. We have stayed there several times before and once again the hotel has been wonderful.

The staff are lovely. They are so helpful and friendly and go out of their way to speak to our children who love the attention! The rooms are lovely also and very spacious. We had a room with 2 double beds and although there were 4 of us it didn't feel cramped at all.

We didn't dine at the hotel but instead made use of the courtesy bus which took us into Zizzi's in St Andrews and then came and picked us up when we were finished, a great service! (Would recommend Zizzi's for anyone with young children as the staff are great and the food is good aswell)

We used the valet parking service for our car and there were no problems at all. The concierges were lovely (again!!) and they even took our children outside to let them see a helicopter taking off !

We have used the kids club in the past but didn't have time this weekend. Our daughter was very disappionted as she loves it! Instead we used the pool which was very nice.

We have just joined the Presidents club and we will definetly be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SYDNEY01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Just returned from our second visit to the hotel. Had a lovely time. Rooms are great, service was amazing. I love how much space there is. My toddler son loved it. We liked it much better than the old course hotel. My only complaint would be the food at the Squire could be better. The mini bus into St Andrews was great and the driver was such a character :)

Also treated myself to a facial this time and it was very good quality.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I've stayed at the St Andrews Bay many, many times of the last few years and can honestly say it is one of the best I have stayed in. I too travel a lot for business and have stayed in many supposed 5* hotels that are not a patch on this one. Don't get me wrong, nothing in life is perfect and there have been some minor issues, but these are always dealt with efficiently by the staff. On the subject of the staff, from Reception to back of house, they are friendly and always attentive. In particular the club house bar / restaurant staff are fantastic. As are the concierges....the comment re looking out for the big tippers is absolutely not true. I'm a fairly ordinary type of person and always receive a fabulous service. Though, having sometimes heard how some visitors talk to staff, I can understand perhaps why they don't get the same level of service. Some times, other guests and their uncontrollable children can be a nuisance, but the resort is so large you can usually find a quiet space. The food is first class, the rooms superb and the facilities second to none.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoollyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Had a great stay at this hotel, a very warm and friendly welcome. We went for one night and had a spa package. The spa treatments were fantastic, very professional staff, and the facilities were in top condition, and included a sauna, steam room and jaccuzi next to the pool. My husband played a game of golf on a very well maintained golf course.
Our room was very spacious and the bathroom had both a bath and shower. The whole experience was very luxurious and had a fantastic sleep on a very comfy bed!
Breakfast was great, and there were plenty of very friendly and helpful staff around to serve.
The hotel is a short journey away from the main town of st andrews. There was a shuttle bus service available however we just drove ourselves. This had a positive point as you are more into the country and allows for great scenery.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowGal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,154 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,299 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
681 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
412 reviews
9.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £135 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting, Fairmont St Andrews has something for everyone. From lavish rooms to a luxurious spa, championship golf to exquisite dining, our five star attention to detail is unsurpassed. Enjoy the views overlooking the medieval St Andrews and the North Sea. Play golf on The Torrance and The Kittocks or wind down in our Fairmont Spa with locally themed treatments using the finest Ishga Skin Care products. Indulge in delicate pastries and cakes in our Savoy Afternoon Tea experience served in the Atrium Lounge with a rich colour scheme and nautical elements that reflect the surrounding landscape including a lighting installation by renowned artist George Singer. We guarantee your stay will become a treasured memory! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing