We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guest house and location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lorimer Guest House
Ranked #25 of 73 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed with Mick and Chris for 5 nights in October. They are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. They were always happy to provide suggestions for things to do and places to eat. They helped me plan a day trip to Edinburgh that was a breeze to do. As well they are able to arrange a very reasonably priced laundry service which we happily took advantage of.

We had room 5. It is a lovely large room overlooking the street. In fact it is the room that is pictured above. If memory serves it was renovated last year. It has a really nice size bathroom with dual sinks and a spacious shower. The only challenge I had was the vessel sinks were on a tall vanity and being short it was a little awkward for me. The bathroom and room are kept absolutely spotless. The bed is comfortable. Our room was at the front of the building so there can be noise at night from people on the street so you may want a different room if you like to go to bed early or wake up late. It was so nice to have a room with plenty of space and storage to settle into during our stay. The other places we stayed during our extended trip to the UK were so small with little storage. This was fantastic.

They do a wonderful made to order breakfast that will give you a great start to your day. The guys had an early tee time one morning and they were very accommodating so the guys were able to get something for breakfast before they headed out.

The location is great, a very short walk to shopping, golf courses and restaurants.

I highly recommend this guest house to anyone visiting St Andrews especially golfers as they are both avid golfers and can provide great insights into golf in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed over at this guest house on our trip to Scotland last week and it was a fantastic night. Great room, superb service and an exceptional breakfast.
Michael and Christine who own the guest house were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them.
If you ever find yourself needing a golfing break this is the place for you as you can be on the famous golf course within a minute of leaving the guest house and if your a golf widow there's plenty to see and do while you wait including some nice shops!!!!
Even if you don't go for the golf there's lots of places to visit within easy driving distance including Edinburgh and Perth, Scone Palace near Perth is definitely worth a visit.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lesleyannevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was our first time at this lovely guest house. We would highly recommend it. The rooms were very modern and clean, with good choices for breakfast. Chris and Mick made us very welcome and even showed us around the town. Our stay very pleasant and we will certainly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is the 2nd time I have stayed here now and I can thoroughly recommend it to anyone thinking of going to St Andrews. The hosts are absolutely lovely and always have time for a chat (especially if it's about golf), the food is always good whatever you go for, and sets you up perfectly for the day. The rooms are spotless and the location is as good as you could hope for.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gt23434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was my fourth trip to St. Andrews, and the third time that I stayed at Lorimer House. Mick and Chris are excellent hosts. The breakfast choices are many (and great tasting), and the Scottish breakfast would hold me until dinner time. The rooms are very clean. It is less than 10 minutes to walk to the 1st tee of the Old Course, and if you want to go to the other Links courses, the shuttle bus passes right in front of Lorimer House. On my next trip to St. Andrews, I plan to again stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My family of 5 and I stayed here for 3 nights in July. The house is immaculately clean and charming. Mike and Chris were very accommodating helping us get laundry done after 10 days of travel, so appreciated.The food was excellent the best in our travels.I would recommend staying here for golfers and non-golfers a like very centrally located.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed for 5 nights, enjoyed very much. A hard working week that was made most enjoyable by the hospitality at Lorimer House. Nice people, great breakfast, lovely homely room. I hope to come back for a visit soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairways of St Andrews
Fairways of St Andrews
#7 of 73 in St Andrews
256 reviews
0.9 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast
No12 Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 73 in St Andrews
296 reviews
0 mi away
Montague Guest House
Montague Guest House
#9 of 73 in St Andrews
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
34 Argyle Street Guesthouse
34 Argyle Street Guesthouse
#1 of 73 in St Andrews
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kinnettles Hotel
Kinnettles Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorimer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorimer Guest House

Address: 19 Murray Park, St Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorimer Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorimer house is an immaculately maintained Victorian terraced town house, combining the original splendour with all the modern comforts. All bedrooms are individually decorated and are well equipped with shower, en-suite plus Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Free secure broadband internet is available throughout the guesthouse and a laptop is also available in the lounge for guests without their own personal laptop. We are within a 2 minute walk of the Old Course, the beaches and town centre. We pride ourselves on first class friendly service and delicious, wholesome breakfasts. Freshly prepared local farm produce is cooked to order from our varied menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lorimer Guest House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing