We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home away from home”
Review of Five Pilmour Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Five Pilmour Place
Ranked #17 of 72 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful home away from home”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed here with our 9 month old daughter for a wedding weekend; the place is very well decorated but it's the communal areas that really made this for us. The lovely living room with soft carpet and comfy chairs; not only could the baby crawl away to her delight but it meant we could go downstairs and watch TV once she was in bed - heaven!

Jackie was amazing, going well above the call of duty and allowing me to use her kitchen to prepare the baby's food as well as helping me clean up! Overall it really felt as though we were staying with friends in a gorgeous house which is really well placed location wise too.

Breakfast was fabulous too of course :-)

Room Tip: Early sunrise this far north and not quite 100% coverage of curtains in the top room meant we were u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alasorous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We are delighted that you felt our establishment was a home away from home during your visit. We try and accommodate our guest needs & help out where we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
70
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I stayed here whilst visiting the uni with my son last year but have only just been able to right the review! I am a cleanliness freak and was delighted to find the cleanest room and en suite I have seen in a long time. Breakfast was amazing and nothing was too much trouble for Jackie. Friendly and with lots of useful information I never felt like anything was too much trouble. Right in the middle of town so everything is a short walk away. Fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAC162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your review. Delighted you enjoyed our facilities. Hope to see you back again when visiting your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Five Pilmour Place was a delightful B & B. The decor, staff and breakfast were without fault. A beautiful building in the heart of St Andrew's, superior to many others in the same price range. Our visit to St Andrew's is an annual event and we will most definitely return to Five Pilmour Place!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a lower ceiling height. The 6ft plus traveller should request the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelDaveGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for your review. Your tip for taller guests is welcome, we do try to accommodate guests where we can, unfortunately we find that our house does have some restrictions that we cannot overcome due to its build & set up. Hope to welcome you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here over the weekend to attend a wedding. It was fantastic because we had the entire house to ourselves with the wedding party. Jackie and Sid were incredible hosts. Knowing in advance that I was nearly 8 months pregnant, Jackie ensured I had a big enough room with a large bathroom so I could be comfortable. The accommodation is to notch - modern and fresh decoration, large comfortable beds, open and comfy sitting room where we were all able to enjoy the Olympic opening ceremony together vs. being cramped in a bedroom or out in the pub. The location is great and within easy walking distance to the center, but especially close to the golf course and beach. Breakfast is made fresh to order and Jackie was flexible if we arrived a few minutes late.

On check out, I was a bit shocked by the price, £140 per night. I'm used to staying in expensive hotels etc. but less familiar with B&Bs so I felt it was really expensive. But considering the accomodation really was top notch and it was high season in St. Andrews, and we had full breakfast included, I guess it would have been about right. In the end you do get what you pay for, so we were not at all disappointed.

Room Tip: There are several rooms with large bathrooms and tubs. If you are taller/larger, ask for one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We try to accommodate our guests as best we can and accommodate their specific requirements where & when we can. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and as a group made good use of the Exclusive Use basis that was booked for that weekend.

Our prices are relative to St Andrews for a Guest House with our standards and our location, however our rates are dependent on the season and rate was applicable for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Our first visit to St Andrews was very special and a lot had to do with the accommodations at 5 Plimour Place. A boutique hotel with a nice home feeling with nice finishes and no crowds. Norman and Jackie made everyone feel at home and accommodated every need. As a golfer, the close proximity to the Old Course made it very convenient. A definite consideration for revisit.

Room Tip: Location, location, location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your stay and pleased to hear that you felt at home and had everything you needed during your visit with us. Hope to see you back again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

A very warm and welcoming B & B, beautifully decorated throughout, we stayed during graduation week. Jackie the owner was very friendly and helpful, room immaculate with lots of nice touches, breakfast cooked to perfection. Should we visit St. Andrews in the near future would definitely love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADM120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We hope that all our guests enjoy their
visit to St Andrews and their stay with us whatever time of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Egg Harbor NJ USA
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Our first trip to St Andrews and one we'll always remember. The accommodations were lovely, the breakfasts delicious and the hosts remarkably friendly. If we ever return to the UK, we'll definitely consider Five Pilmour Place again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlkloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback it is much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you found your stay with as an unforgettable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
308 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Pilmour Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Pilmour Place

Property: Five Pilmour Place
Address: 5 Pilmour Place, St Andrews KY16 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Pilmour Place 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Pilmour Place enjoys a unique location. The 18th green of the Old Course is a mere eight iron away, while a slow two minute walk will take you into the heart of the magnificent historic University town of St Andrews. The architecture and facilities of Five Pilmour Place are a fusion of tradition with contemporary and convenience. This luxurious boutique privately owned guesthouse comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms with spacious guest lounge and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Five Pilmour Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Pilmour Place Hotel St. Andrews
5 Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing