We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another satisfied client”
Review of Five Pilmour Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Five Pilmour Place
Ranked #17 of 73 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I can only endorse the positive reports of others. Spent two nights in this well appointed centrally located accommodation. After a friendly welcome we were allocated the Garden Room which was immaculate. The Tunnocks teacakes and fudge which were part of the Tea/ Coffee package in the room were a nice touch. The breakfast menu was extensive - with even the option of fruit loaf. There is no onsite parking, but we had no difficulty in finding nearby alternatives. If we return to St Andrews there is no doubt this would be our first choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugovert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you found our facilities to your satisfaction and hope we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for four nights as part of a golfing holiday. It is a beautiful B&B with helpful and gracious hosts.Our room was very large, clean and comfortable with a modern bathroom. Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, cereals, a la carte hot dishes, toast, jams etc. The Old Course is just around the corner as is the beach and aquarium. All the interesting sights are within easy walking distance and there are good pub and restaurant meals close by. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bolly27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is much appreciated. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us & hope that you may return in the future to enjoy our facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I recently travelled to Scotland to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Our stay began at Five Pilmour Place. We love St. Andrews and Five Pilmour Place was a great home base. Jackie and Norman showed us a fantastic time for four nights, helping with tee times, logistics and being terrific hosts. Our room had been recently remodeled and it was just outstanding. From the bedding and linens to the large, modern bathroom, it was quite luxurious. (Our adult daughter enjoyed a room across the hall and it was also very nice.) There was a breakfast menu but we could order specific items as well, all wonderfully prepared by Jackie and served by an excellent staff. Try the black pudding, seriously. We've travelled to Scotland several times, including St. Andrews previously, and this was by far and away the best accommodations that we have experienced. We hope to be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdcfam01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, it is much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us to celebrate your Anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed at Five Pilmour Place for two nights as we had a wedding at The Old Course. It is a great location only about a five minute walk from the Old Course Hotel. Our room was in great condition and seemed like they had been upgraded recently. The breakfast was fantastic with plenty choice (although we missed breakfast the second morning due to bad hangovers!) I read another review saying this is like a boutique hotel rather than a B & B and I would certainly echo that. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BryanK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We try to offer our guest(s) the best possible facilities, we are always striving to improve and appreciate when someone takes the time to give us feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have just spent one night at this excellent B & B. Five Pilmour Place is more like a small boutique hotel with its beautifully decorated guest rooms and bathrooms. In fact, the whole of this lovely Georgian house is immaculately maintained. The extra touches in our room (Room 4) included a selection of toiletries, sweets, and even a birthday card and bottle of fizz for my husband's 65th birthday. Jackie and Norman are superb hosts and helped to make our stay relaxed and enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious, beautifully presented and served, with butter, sugar, jams, etc in lovely little dishes - no annoying paper sachets! We also enjoyed relaxing with a glass of wine in the newly laid-out back garden! Finally, the location is within easy walking distance of all that St Andrew's has to offer. We will definitely return for a longer stay and have no hesitation in recommending this B & B to the discerning traveller. Many thanks!

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 on the top floor are beautiful king size doubles. The new garden rooms also look lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you both back again in the furture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This B&B has a great location, great hosts in Norman and Jacquie (sp?) and as is expected in B&B's lots of steps to the top rooms. Breakfast was worked out with early tee times, with packed breakfasts - very helpful for those who get 7:00 am tee times. Rooms 4 & 5 were very comfortable albeit a bit of a hike after a round of golf. New rooms are opening on the ground floor and one of those appears to be a nice double with out the hike. Rooms are lovely, well appointed, and have standard electric shower fixtures. Noise can sometimes run until midnight on the streets, but with double windows closed, it is abated greatly.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 & 5 are the nicest, but it is two long flights of stairs. New rooms on ground floor are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our facilities, it is much appreciated. We do have a number stairs to most of our rooms either on first or second floor, however we have just opened two ground floor rooms within our private rear garden with seating areas right outside for guests to enjoy those long summer evenings, both are suited to couples or can be split for twin share to suit golfers etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I booked this B&S for my daughter in May and she was over the moon with accommodation and the lovely breakfast. The owners were very pleasant and helpful and the overall standard was just superb. Would thoroughly recommend this B&B and would my daughter would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your stay and hope that you may return to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#9 of 17 in St Andrews
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Pilmour Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Pilmour Place

Address: 5 Pilmour Place, St Andrews KY16 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range: £96 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Pilmour Place 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Pilmour Place enjoys a unique location. The 18th green of the Old Course is a mere eight iron away, while a slow two minute walk will take you into the heart of the magnificent historic University town of St Andrews. The architecture and facilities of Five Pilmour Place are a fusion of tradition with contemporary and convenience. This luxurious boutique privately owned guesthouse comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms with spacious guest lounge and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Five Pilmour Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place Hotel St. Andrews
Five Pilmour Place St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing